Skip to content

Seven Samurai

September 22, 2008

            This is a very short weekend for me as I have got only one day leave, but, I made the most of it by watching a film- Seven Samurai- which I wanted to watch for a long time. What made me to awestruck is the fact that I decided to see only half of the movie. But it made me to sit through the whole movie and in the end I am very happy to see the movie completely by yesterday itself.

               The story is very simple, a group of farmers in a village hiring the samurai’s to safeguard themselves and their grains from the bandits.  It was taking place in 16th century. The director has made a very neat screenplay and delivered it without any confusion. This film is 3 hours and 25 minutes long but I didn’t felt like that because at no time this film dragged.

              The film had three parts: 1) Hiring the samurai’s 2)  training the villagers and Forming the plan to defeat the bundits 3) Fighting with the bandits and saving the village. The location at which the village located is nice with mountains surrounding it. There are 6 to 7 characters in the film who are important, among which I loved the character of kikichiyo. A great characterization by the director, he was the one who brought some laughter into this film. He is like an animal, a scene at which he potrays the pain about a farmer is absolutely moving.

           Considering the film was made in 1954, cinematography is top-notch, the way they captured the battle scenes it’s quite superb. I also enjoyed the background score of this film which suited  the mood of the film. In climax there is a enjoyable song, being sung by the farmers which I liked much.

           Overall, this is a must-see film for the movie buffs. I heard a lot about Akira Kurosawa, but after seeing this film only I able to understand why he was held in such high esteem. Planning to watch Rashomon, next week. Hope Kurosawa, surely don’t let me down.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 4:35 pm

    ethana hoursnga dartla poda poreenga ithuku? 🙂

    I’m yet to see it, having it for last 7 months, dont know when I will get that 3 hours! Lucky you!!

  2. kanagarajonline permalink
    September 25, 2008 12:38 pm

    neenga approve panratha sonnenga na oru 2 hours podalam 🙂
    See it even if you find 1 hour, this film has the capability to make you to sit through next 2 1/2 hours. You will surely agree this, when you see the film.

Leave a Reply

