Skip to content

A different perspective!!!

October 29, 2008

           Last Saturday I went to T.nagar(Chennai) to purchase some clothes for me on the eve of Diwali. But I liked that experience don’t know why…. maybe I made up mind to stay there till 10.P.M. to see what’s happening out there. Here I am go to attach some pictures too. An article on T.nagar without picture will be a boring thing.

           I am along with so many people started to enter into Ranganathan street by 7.30. You may call it as a people ocean as it can’t be categorized as a crowd.        

            I liked to purchase in Pothys(a bad idea) so I have to go(crawl) through this whole street. When I reached the Usman road I am able to see the newly inaugrated bridge to make the traffic easier. With the bridge was constructed the number of roadside vendors were increased with many of them taking the space under the bridge. And with this bridge some amount of parking problem also solved.

 

        When I entered into Pothy’s it has been 8.P.M( did I walked that much slow?). After going through many, got something of my liking and when I started to come out the time is 10.15. But to give shock to me some people are entering into the shop at that time only. So Now I was hungry. Surely got to eat something. By luck, I found a roadside eatery(this is what I wanted) which was being run on a cart came to my rescue. It has been many,many days I had eaten in that kinda shop. So without wasting much time by recollecting golden memories, ordered some parathas and omlettes and finished a satisfied dinner.

     Now I started to walk to railway station through Ranganathan street where I was happened to see many of the workers were packing the waste papers thrown down in the shops.

 

 

 And within that small street some vans equal to the width of that street came with the stocks for next day business.

       And I finished of my small trip to T.nagar with the below snap before getting to the staircase of the railway station.

          I hope this will be a different kind of experience about T.Nagar for you all. I enjoyed it much.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2008 11:19 pm

    Seems like a fun festival, is this India!?? I saw the happy Diwali on the yahoo page but did not know what it was …great site Zman sends

  2. October 30, 2008 11:22 pm

    seems very similar to laad bazaar in old city near charminar!! Its crowdy, dirty, noisy, narrower everything but still You’ll love it!! 🙂

  3. October 31, 2008 12:35 am

    @zman
    Thanks for coming by.. keep visiting.
    Yeah its one of the major festival in India. Festival of lights is what we call it as. Lot of crackers will be burned and lot of sweets to eat..a true festival of joy indeed.

    @Sahaja
    Not everytime I love the crowd.. some rare ocassions like this one.. I made my mind to enjoy it. Laad bazaar.. I will visit it when I get a chance to go to hydrebad 🙂

  4. smallstar permalink
    October 31, 2008 1:12 am

    Great pictures! Mmmh… I’d like being in India and seeing this Festival called Diwali… It could be very cool and funny! 😀

  5. October 31, 2008 1:48 pm

    adding you to m y blog roll! 🙂

  6. October 31, 2008 9:13 pm

    @smallstar

    Surely you must come to India in those festive times. Its really fun 🙂 But I don’t think that pictures are great.. I must have done better while capturing those pictures.

    @Sakhi

    Thanks Sakhi 🙂

  7. November 1, 2008 12:16 am

    You were in Ranganathan Street on the eve of Deepavali? 😯 There would have been very little space to even breathe 🙂

    Yes, the two new flyovers are a real boon! You can now go to Loyola College from T. Nagar Bus Stand in about five minutes! It used to take about twenty-five minutes earlier during peak-hours. The two flyovers are a contrast. The new one (in your picture) is long and has a gentle gradient while the other one is short and quite steep.

    Ah, food from a kayyendhi bhavan (Chennai slang for a push-cart eatery) 🙂 You bring back old memories, man. Reminds me of the days when we used to literally take over the kayyendhi bhavan outside our office. Food in the air-conditioned cafeteria became so boring and repetitive but the piping hot parottas, dosais and omelettes served under the moon and the stars never failed to disappoint!

  8. smallstar permalink
    November 1, 2008 5:27 am

    @kanagu: ohh yeahh… I really would want come in India, jaaneman! 😉 (as do you see, I know something in Hindi language…)

    about the pics, I think they are great, ’cause the important thing is that they shows the Festival!

  9. November 3, 2008 5:11 pm

    @alien earthling

    Thanks for the flyover information as I didn’t know much about that. I am happy to see that festive crowd 🙂
    I am happy that as I reminded you of your sweet memories.

    @smallstar

    It’s great to see you know some hindi. but Can you please tell me the meaning of jaaneman? Idon’t know 🙂
    Thanks for your compliments on pictures 🙂

  10. smallstar permalink
    November 3, 2008 8:30 pm

    Jaaneman should mean: darling. ^.^

    *eheh*

  11. November 5, 2008 1:16 am

    that’s great 🙂 you know a lot

  12. November 9, 2008 10:08 pm

    tht was some festive mood! try doing the same thing at Avenue road in Bangalore… u’ll see hell before yo are born 😛

    @smallstar: u do good with hindi too! 😉 and jaaneman does mean darling 🙂

  13. November 11, 2008 10:30 pm

    @Harsha

    It’s not only festive mood. That’s the case with that street at all days of the year. Avenue road.. now only came to know about it.. will check it out surely when I visit bangalore again 🙂

  14. smallstar permalink
    November 12, 2008 3:02 pm

    @harsha: eheh Rj has helped me to learn a little of hindi language, and I have looked for others Hindi words on the web… ^.^

  15. November 13, 2008 3:23 am

    thanks for the pictures. it only just crossed my mind that i read many indian blogs but they hardly have pictures of india, except those holiday shots in holiday posts. so definitely a different perspective! 🙂

  16. November 14, 2008 1:12 am

    @sulz

    Thank you 🙂

  17. Ragu permalink
    November 28, 2008 12:00 am

    Really i expected a lot in this post… Its too simple and really disappointing expect some photos…

    kanagu: Even I am not much satisfied with the post but I thought the things that I mentioned which were happening after the shops are closed will be new.

Leave a Reply

