Skip to content

Ends brings meaning

November 4, 2008

            I finished writing my second story. I made some improvements over my first one. I thought the concept of this story and l didn’t imagined to make it as this big. Its really bigger that I now I can’t call this as a short story. Here it goes:

           “Sir, paper”, shouted the paperboy and dropped the today’s newspaper inside of the gate. Paraman got up from the chair, which was placed in front of the home and moved slowly towards the gate to take the paper. Slowly, yes slowly as you can’t expect a swift and fast walk from a 66 – year old. A retired English professor, he was a father of a son, who lives in Bangalore and a daughter, who lives with her family in Chennai, resides in his native village near Madurai. He went back to his chair and started to go through the yesterday’s important events in the paper.

        His wife, Kamatchi, a typical Indian wife, came out of the kitchen with coffee in her hand to him. After giving coffee to him, she asked him, “What you are achieving in going through the paper daily? Are you thinking you can change the function of the world?” He politely replied, “Its not about changing the world. Its about knowing what is happening around us.” “If that’s the reason just know that two tube lights were fused in our home a week back, change them soon” replied her and went back to kitchen. This is the 4th time she tells about this to him so he decided to go to the shop today and get them. He had his breakfast and took his shirt from the hanger to go to the shop. As he has walked some 10 steps out of his home, his mobile began to ring. He attended the call and shocked to hear the news.

          He rushed back into his home. “Kamatchi, Kamatchi” he called. “What happened? Why are you so restless?” asked his wife. “My friend Udhay has died today morning. Now only his son has called me. I am going to attend his funeral”, said Paraman and continued, “Please get me the call taxi number”. As she provided it he called them to come to his home. Omni van came to his home. “I am leaving to Coimbatore. I will be back within tomorrow”, he said to his wife and left to the funeral.

             As he was traveling, he remembered the days and friendship he shared with his friend. It was dated back some 40 odd years where they both were undergraduate students studied in Chennai. From then they are kept their contacts intact through letters first, then telephone, and then through their mobile. They shared the same room in hostel. He came to know and understood a lot of things by being with him. 

        He written about his last day of college  in the dairy as follows:

As I tried to sleep, I couldn’t. Not because due to the fear of exam. This is the day which is going to be the end of a phase of my life. Yes, the last day of my college life. But in the morning, I didn’t spoke anything to my best pal in the college, my roommate Udhay. I finished writing the exam and came out of the hall. Everybody greeted everyone and asked them to stay in touch. I am also no different. I visited some of my favorite professors and got blessings from them. When I returned to my room, Udhay is sitting there packing his dresses to vacate the hostel. I am also started to pack. Meanwhile I asked him, “Shall we go to beach today evening?” He said “fine.” In the evening we went to Marina beach. A perfect place for peaceful long walk. Waves were continuously hit the shore and went back just like my thoughts. “Udhay, we must be like this and our friendship must continue till the end of our life” I said. He laughed at me and said “Our friendship will continue till the end. There’s no problem. But we can’t be like this till the end of our life. Now we are sharing everything. Even if we are in contact in the coming years, I will surely miss out something’s knowingly or unknowingly to tell to you. So what will be possible is we can share our important moments of our life.” “Ok. Then I expect you will call me for your pleasures” I replied. “Yes, I do. Except for one thing” he said. I asked “What it is?” He replied, “My death.” I asked, “Why are you talking like this?” He replied, “It’s also a pleasure my friend. It completes our life. Think of a life which never ends like a sentence without a full stop. It will be boring. But don’t worry. I will make sure that someone informs you about my last pleasure too.” It was a reply I never expected. But true. Then we chatted about our future plans and had a nice dinner in Ratna café in Mylapore. We returned to our room, chatted for some hours of some of the funniest moments happened in our college and slept.

         Now he reached Udhay’s home. He was in grief. He went to the cemetery and stayed there still his friend’s body is buried. As he was returning back to his home he could remember his friend’s words that day and said to himself, “There is no need for grief or cry. Now his life is completed. Another but last important moment. A story that had its end.”

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 2:17 am

    @ kanagu : We often suffer a lot when we try to stick to things or people. Sometimes the real pleasure is in having known someone and letting them go when the time has come. May be the pleasure returns in the form of getting to meet them again or perhaps in the form of their reminiscences.

  2. November 5, 2008 2:24 am

    Its a nice line of narration but if I can say a few grammatical mistakes……

    Ya true Death completes Life….you have nice thoughts Kanagu……expressed in a single sentence 🙂 shud learn that from u 😀

  3. smallstar permalink
    November 5, 2008 4:06 am

    Oh, lovely and sad story… I like it, it is so true… When we lose someone important in our life we are so sad, and often we cry. But reality can’t change, so we have to be strong, to accept reality and to go ahead in our life, ’cause things can not change.

  4. November 5, 2008 10:02 am

    Good concept… !! 🙂 but as sahaja meintions, a few gramatical msitakes!!

    Good nontheless!!

  5. November 5, 2008 10:54 pm

    @odzer

    I agree with you. But at times the pain of loss of our loved ones is unbearable.

    @Sahaja & Sakhi

    Thank you 🙂
    Please mention my mistakes. So that I can rectify them.

    @smallstar

    You are correct my friend 🙂 Lifes goes on and we must move on.

  6. November 6, 2008 12:17 am

    Let’s try to look at it this way . . . joy has no meaning without sorrow . . . light has no meaning without darkness . . . life has no meaning without death . . .

  7. smallstar permalink
    November 6, 2008 3:55 am

    @kanagu: yeah… In this way tragedies hurt us less…

  8. November 6, 2008 10:44 pm

    @smallstar
    😐

  9. November 7, 2008 1:45 am

    @scietech

    yes, you are right 🙂

  10. smallstar permalink
    November 7, 2008 3:49 am

    @kanagu: why are u having this face? 😐

  11. November 13, 2008 12:27 am

    @smallstar

    its because we have to move on, but knowing that one our beloved soul not with us is hard to take.

  12. smallstar permalink
    November 13, 2008 4:22 am

    I know it… I swear I didn’t want seem too rude… 😦 sorry

    kanagu: No need for sorry my friend.. it was just your view to take everything in a positive way.

  13. November 17, 2008 6:26 pm

    hmmm very impressive 🙂

    end brings meaning…hmmmm it does…so true..

  14. November 17, 2008 11:38 pm

    @sharad

    Thank you 🙂

  15. smallstar permalink
    November 18, 2008 1:17 pm

    @kanagu: 🙂 I just hope my way to face bad things is right…

    kanagu: Surely, it’s right.

  16. smallstar permalink
    November 19, 2008 4:28 am

    Thanks… 🙂 *HUGS*

    🙂

Leave a Reply

