Skip to content

Kumble – A legend

November 6, 2008

          I don’t know how many of you agree with my title but that is the height I kept him as far as cricket is concerned. I don’t want to bore you with some stats and all here. I am just going to share what makes me to respect him and keep him in that highest regard.

toss1         I am a cricket fan from my childhood. Cricket virus affected me severly when I was in my 5th standard. Still it’s not cured. At that time two prime bowlers for India are Kumble and Srinath. But Kumble was the one who will continously take wickets. So I liked him. Even at times I tried to immitate his bowling action(Still I am trying). I love the way he tosses the ball before delivering. And the incidents I could remember on him are follows:

1. There are many a times Azhar, the former captain, will throw the ball at Kumble before the 15 overs(powerplay) to bowl. But he will still bowl and get the breakthroughs. Even the greatest spinners like Warne or Murali will not bowl inside the 15 overs. Such committed he is, who always places the team’s interest ahead of his.

2. 1996 world cup, India Vs. Pakistan, Quarterfinal:                            There is a big partnership was going between Salim Malik and Miandad and he took the wicket of Miandad with an LBW. One of the interesting moment in that match.

3. 10 wickets:   How can I miss this one?  But unfortunately I didn’t watched it live. I didn’t had that interest in me to watch test cricket at that time. At lunch I have seen Pakistan was at 91/0 in 20 overs so I switched off the TV and went off. In the evening I heard that India won with Kumble claiming all the 10 wickets. Here is the video footage:

4. 1997, India Vs Australia, Titan Cup:  This time he shown his heroics with the bat. He along with Srinath won the match for India by chasing down the total of 214 successfully. Sachin was dismissed at the score of 170 and I thought that’s end of match but what I have seen after that was a thriller.

5. 2002, India Vs West Indies, test match: In this match he showed why he is regarded in such high regard. With his head injured, he came out to bowl and scalped the wicket of Brian Lara. India managed win that test.  This showed his courage, commitment, spirit and pride when playing cricket for our country.

6. After the 2003 world cup, were he played a role of mere spectator I thought that his carreer is ended. But he proved me wrong with both bat and ball. This is the period I started to watch test cricket and Kumble become more dangerous to his opponents with lots of varieties in his bowling. There are some matches(India Vs Srilanka, 2005 test series in India) where his every delivery is capable of getting a wicket. In the 2nd test, Attapattu played him very well by coming down the track. Kumble caught him in a trap by bowling a slower, shorter length delivery. Attapattu was out of crease and he couldn’t control the shot and the shot went right into the hands of Kumble.

7. His 100 against England last year was absolutely a unforgettable one. He always had that ability to bat for a long time with resolve and he deserves this hundred.

8. Captained India in the twilight of his carreer and led the team with pride and dignity in the crisis marred Australian tour. At the press conference, after the 2nd test he didn’t burst out at the reporters but he was composed and just used the right words to explain his disappointment on the loss and the Australian team behaviour.

His last test wicket: Running back some 30 yards, and taking the catch with the injured hand and shown his teammates on what is meant by commitment. After seeing India has got a leg spinner in Amit Mishra who has ability, he just retired with his head held high. Let his golden arms may have some rest now.

   Some pictures of his last match:

1.   Takes the field for one last time:

one-last-time

2. Dhoni showing he can not only shoulder the responsibility of Kumble but also Kumble:

dhoni

    This is the small thing I have done as a fan of Kumble.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. smallstar permalink
    November 6, 2008 4:03 am

    I guess he is a wonderful person… But I don’t know who he is, so I just have said my personal opinion… :p

  2. November 6, 2008 1:46 pm

    I cried… I cried when I saw him retire… Those last few overs… the victory lap… the sight of him standing with his family, listening to everyone praise him… Oh damn, I’m gonna miss him!

  3. Princess permalink
    November 6, 2008 1:57 pm

    so much of love and respect for him, good to hear it 😀

  4. November 6, 2008 8:44 pm

    Sure, he was one of the best players to wear the India cap. Apart from the fact that he was a gentleman cricketer who was fiercely competitive and who won plenty of matches for India, I can never forget these three games when he was at his best:

    1) The Hero Cup One-Day final against the West Indies in Kolkata when he took six wickets and bowled his team to a victory.

    2) The Titan Cup game against Australia in his home city, Bengaluru, when he won the game with the bat (and not the ball) along with his pal, Srinath, when they were under tremendous pressure from the Aussies.

    3) The 10-wicket haul against Pakistan in the video.

    Thanks for this post and the video! 🙂

  5. November 6, 2008 10:42 pm

    @smallstar

    Really he is a gentleman in the game of cricket

    @Nikhil

    Welcome to my blog 🙂
    I too miss him much. When my bro said he is going to retire with this test I was just stunned. I love him

    @Princess

    Thank you 🙂 Welcome here 🙂

    @Alien earthling

    I was a very small kid during that hero cup final. Though I have seen it I couldn’t remember it. But I seen the second match u mentioned fully. A great match.
    Thanks for your compliments 🙂

  6. smallstar permalink
    November 7, 2008 3:52 am

    Thanks 4 answering, buddy! 🙂

  7. November 7, 2008 10:15 pm

    There was a stage in the quarterfinal match between India and Pakistan in the World cup when the openers were lashing out the Indian Pace attack. Kumble was introduced immediately and I think he almost bowled a maiden over. Some one from the dressing room had to come in to say to the openers – Cool Down when Kumble is bowling! Such is the respect teams had to this great sportsman.

    When you see him bowl, it appears as if he is bowling straight! And his technique and calculations just cannot be copied… You are just left in awe about how this person managed to be so successful. And how everyone is categorizing him as a spinner! There was a point in a one day series where Kumble and Venkatesh Prasad were bowling and the speeds were almost similar!!! (Maybe they compared with the slow deliberate ball of V.Prasad!!!) 🙂

    Destination Infinity

  8. smallstar permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:01 pm

    I hope u have a great and lovely and happy day… 🙂 😀

    *KISSEZ/HUGZ*

  9. November 10, 2008 10:02 pm

    interesting stuff about the man…and i say this even tho i am not fond of cricket!!
    mandira

  10. November 11, 2008 10:25 pm

    @ smallstar

    It’s my pleasure my friend. Yeah.. now my days are going great. Thanks for your wishes 🙂

    @ Destination Infinity

    This info. I didn’t know about him… but it is sad that his one day form was dipped to low but still we are able to see his great bowling in test matches 🙂

    @churningthewordmill

    I am glad as you liked it 🙂
    Welcome to my blog 🙂

  11. smallstar permalink
    November 12, 2008 3:05 pm

    Awww I am really happy to know it is your pleasure… And to know your days are going great! ❤ ❤ *LOVE 4 YA*

  12. November 13, 2008 12:25 am

    @ smallstar
    🙂

  13. smallstar permalink
    November 13, 2008 4:20 am

    @kanagu: :-*

  14. November 21, 2008 8:57 pm

    Truly a match winner… your compilation is good 🙂

    Loved reading it.

    I am an avid cricket fan too…

  15. November 24, 2008 8:13 pm

    thanks Sharad 🙂 good see somebody like me 🙂

Leave a Reply

