Skip to content

Dada – I will miss you…

November 12, 2008

        It’s very difficult for me to see somebody I loved most for what he is doing, moving out of it and what is more difficult is to know that I will not see him again doing it at the big stage. Yeah.. I amretire1 talking about the retirement of Ganguly. I will not be able to see the gracious and elegant shots through off-side and the towering sixes which he hits after jumping down the ground again. Even though I like all the present day Indian cricketers, I always have a special and soft spot for him. I am a such a fan of Sourav that when Chennai SuperKings and Kolkatta Knightriders played against each other I am wishing Sourav’s team to win it.

          Don’t ask me why I started to like him. It will be better to ask me why I like him. After the 1996 world cup Indian team has been transformed as Ganguly and Dravid came into the side and they started to make runs. Ganguly made me and many others to think that there is another batsman who has the capability to win a match on his own other than Sachin. Even though he was a middle order batsman like Sachin in tests, he opened in One-dayers along with him and this pair become the nightmare for the bowlers.  But I didn’t thought that he scored runs at a frentic pace but he builded the innings. There’s is a time that he will atleast score a fifty in a match. Such was his form those days that no attack can contain him. If gets on to score the ton means you will be assured to see atleast two towering sixes in that innings.

        What I like much in my hero is his never-say-die attitude. He is made as captain of India when gang-off1the team is at its all time low. Until then if Sachin doesn’t plays the match means Indian captains will say that we are in a difficult position with Sachin not playing. But Sourav was the first captain to say that Sachin’s absence was a loss but my boys will improve their performance to face the challenge. As a captain he built a strong team comprising of the youngsters Yuvraj, Zaheer, Sehwag, Harbhajan and Kaif. He believed in them and these guys are still performing at the highest level. He was also gifted with a dedicated deputy Rahul Dravid under him and also having Laxman, Sachin and Kumble at their peak forms. He never feared of any opposition and has faith within him and his teammates. Some of his greatest achievements as captain are the series win over Australia in India, leading the team to the world cup final, levelling the series against Australia, wins over England, West Indies, Srilanka and the series win against Pakistan in their home. But then his captaincy shown signs of fading as his batting. As a fan, I can’t watch him struggling for runs and criticism which was raising even from someone doesn’t know how to hold a bat, I am just praying that he must be back to his form soon. But he was sacked from captaincy and dropped from the team I was shell shocked and I didn’t thought that he could regain a place in the team. I am not lying here. I also doubted even if he gets a place how will he perform?

        But the answer was provided by my hero within a year. “A hero is not the one who falls. He is the one who stands upon his toes again to show the world he was not down yet but went under to sharpen himself.”  He has made one of the glorious comebacks that too in a condition unfavourable to him. When I heard that Ganguly has got a place in test team for South Africa I was very happy but also feared that he may fail there due to the seaming and bouncing tracks. But he just played cricket like he never played and I was stunned by the shot where he pulled the Ntini’s express delivery to six. Then he played the last 2 years with composure and dedication.

        He was a natural stroke player who like to play his shots and not to just stay at the wicket. I had seen it the Kanpur test where nobody were able to play his shots he went on to make 87 off just 119 balls without giving any chance. I also loved his match winning innings of 86 for Kolkatta Knightriders against Punjab Kings XI. He won that match for his team from nowhere which has got momentum after some great hitting by Umar Gul.

       You can see some the famed shots of Sourav here:

     You can argue that there are many players who are great than him but you can’t deny the fact that

  • He changed the face of Indian cricket by injecting the aggressiveness.
  • He is the best left-handed batsman of India ever produced.
  • He was a fighter who can’t be write down at any time.
  • One of the modern one day greats.

       Here are some of the pictures on his remembrance:

1. Leads the team for one last time into the field

sourav1

2.  Carried off by his teammates on his farewell

3. Made a potent combination with Sachin as opening pair in One-dayers

4. After the famous win in the finals of Natwest series

5. Now passing his mantle to MS Dhoni

     Some of the quotes I loved on Ganguly:

  • In off-side first there is god; then there is Ganguly. – Dravid
  • Under him we learned to win matches(overseas). – Kumble
  • We are not disappointed with his last innings duck. As our Maharaj will be remebered alongside Bradman for that – A fan of Ganguly in Bengal.

      So I am eagerly waiting for my hero to once again padded up to hit the bowlers out of the park in IPL. And I am sure he will do that in style. Dada, you will be always my inspiration. I will miss you much as you are leaving this cricket arena.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 10:37 am

    no interest in cricket, so no comments!! 🙂

  2. November 12, 2008 1:29 pm

    I dont know abt Dada…..but I used tell Kumble is my fav to everyone when I was a kid coz he is engineer and handsome and still good in cricket 😛

  3. November 12, 2008 3:09 pm

    He’s really a great captain…………….but i feel like he took his retirement at the rite time…………….

  4. November 12, 2008 10:23 pm

    He contributed a lot to Indian cricket. Along with Dravid, Tendulkar and Laxman, he made up a solid Test middle order and formed a terrific opening pair along with Tendulkar in ODIs. Also, encouraged youngsters to give their best as a captain. I loved the way he led India to a series victory against a virtually unbeatable Australian team!

  5. November 12, 2008 10:25 pm

    @sakhi
    🙂

    @sahaja
    yeah.. Kumble was a great cricketer and I admire him. But he too retired last week 😐

    @Aravind
    He is the best captain of India. And as you said this is the right time 🙂

  6. November 13, 2008 11:05 pm

    Sourav Chandidas Ganguly ….. my favorite cricketer ever ….. the best captain India have ever produced …. Prince of Kolkata …….

    Though he missed the oppurtunity to score 100 both in his first and last test match ….. yet that does not deny the fact what a wonderful cricketer he was …… will miss his lofty hits …. will miss his aggression on the field ….. surely will miss his attitude …. long Live dada !!!!

  7. November 14, 2008 1:10 am

    @ Harsh

    Welcome to my blog 🙂

    agree with all the points you made. I am also a great fan of Sourav.. Cheers 🙂

  8. November 14, 2008 9:03 pm

    @Raj

    Yes raj. What he has done to Indian cricket is incomparable

  9. August 18, 2009 10:13 am

    Dada rules Kanagu !!!!

    his contribution to Indian cricket is immeasurable.. !!

    he is the sole reason why India is a cracker jack fighting unit these days… !! his eye for spotting talent is most superb… he must soon be a selector… !! he does amazing things to young talents.. !!

  10. December 7, 2009 10:53 pm

    OH! So you are a fan of Dada too… great. I really dont know why, I feel a weird kinda happiness when ever i meet a dada fan :P. Dada was the one the who started this whole process of winning matches, being aggressive and start aiming to be on Top. He made what Indian team is today. MS has carried it on. If we are the No.1 team in the world (I feel so happy to state this) its thanks to Dada too…. The journey on this path was started by him. I miss him so badly.

    kanagu: Yeah….. I am a great fan and also me too get really happy when I find a Dada fan.. 😀 😀 CHEERS…
    yes… under his leadership we learned to win consistently and also in overseas… me too missing him badly and I am eagerly waiting for IPL-3… 🙂

  11. March 29, 2010 12:01 am

    THIS IS YOUR BEST POST EVER!
    MAN I HAD GOOSEBUMPS READING THIS!

    kanagu: Thank you.. thank you 🙂 🙂

    u just said all wht i wanted to say

    i havent enjoyed cricket tht much since dada left the team!
    Theres something missing~~

    kanagu: really true.. I too miss him much.. but thanks to IPL.. we are able to watch him again 🙂 🙂

    If someone asked me to pick just 2 die-hard cricketers frm india

    I would say 2 names

    Mr Sourav Ganguly and Mr. Robin singh

    kanagu: e too like Robin much.. but not in top 2…

    We salute u dada u r GOD

    and guess wht i have just removed my shirt and started waving in the air as i post my comment over here ! hehe
    wooohooo

    kanagu: Woo hoo… 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

