Skip to content

Who is guilty?

November 13, 2008

       This night, snowfall is slightly on the higher side. As the clock was ticking past 11.45 P.M. Shiva, a 20-year old, was trembling, not just due to the snowfall, but, also this is the first day he is going to rob the money from a house. He is just checking various places within and around his T-shirt and pant where he can place the dagger and the duplicate keys. After trying for so many places, he placed the dagger at the back, with the pant providing the required grip and the non – inserted t-shirt hiding it and the keys at his pant pocket.

      He walked through a street, where there is little amount of light from the moon as the street lights are gone off. He has seen a big house and decided to rob some money from that house. He neared the back door of the house by jumping over the gate. He tried with the pins and the keys he brought to open the door. Fortunately, the door opened within first few tries. He went into the house and made his steps very quietly. He was searching for the locker where he can find the money. At last he found that and opened it. He has taken as much as he can fill his pockets and started to run out of the house. As he was in a hurry, he just slipped over a person, who was sleeping on the mat. This made him to wake up and he started to shouting, “Hey! Stop, stop!! Thief, thief.” After hearing his shouting, all the members of that house was awaken and lights are turned on. At this point, Shiva was just out of the back door. All the men in the house started to chase him.

       Eventually the policemen who are in the rounds there heard this and ran towards that house. With policemen entering through the gate, Shiva running towards the gate without knowing it gets caught. Now the members of that house also came out and they beaten him to black and blues. On the complaint filed by that the members of that house Shiva was arrested and he was now behind the bars.

          In his cell, he found an old man already there. As he has been beaten heavily and as he feeling guilty he didn’t spoke with him. He was not even able to walk properly. Old man came near to Shiva and asked what happened and why he was beaten. Even though he hesitated to speak at first, he started to speak because of the old man’s kindness and also he wanted to express all his feelings. “I lived with my parents till my age of 10. At that time my father had a severe heart attack and passed away. As my father was a daily wage worker we didn’t had any kind of savings at that time. Then my mother started to work in many houses to make money for my studies. But due to the over workload she can’t continue after 2 years. So I went to do any kind of work for the food for myself and my mother. As my mother was passed off by last month to forget it, I came to Chennai by 2 weeks back. But as I searched for a job nobody is ready to give as they kept questioning me like, who are you? How can we trust you? Then I bought a shoe polish brush and ready to polish the chapels or shoes. I am pleading to the people I will clean your chapels, please give something as I am hungry”, he started to weep heavily as he was saying this. “But everybody overlooked me. Out of my starvation, I decided to rob and I had been caught.” Now he wiped the tears running out of his eyes and said, “Now I am happy as I will get some food here.” The old man was staring at him, absolutely stunned and couldn’t say anything.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 12:35 am

    @ Kanagu : Nice story but I am surprised that it snows in Chennai! I thought they did not have any winters there 🙂 In any case I am cold tonight and in a nice thick blanket while I post on your blog so I can empathise with your protagonist in a dark cold jail cell.

  2. smallstar permalink
    November 13, 2008 4:18 am

    Great story… 😉

    *MANY MANY HUGS*

  3. November 13, 2008 7:21 am

    Great blog and equally great story…does it snow in Chenna????? ..i believe that no matter what our lot in life is we are responsible for our own actions..there are lots of folks that have it much worse and do not steal from others…..great story though…Zman sends

  4. November 13, 2008 9:48 am

    Hey, a very good one once more… 🙂

  5. November 13, 2008 7:00 pm

    nice one… though with one gaffe of snow in chennai…

  6. November 14, 2008 1:09 am

    @ Odzer and Sharad

    Thank you 🙂
    As this is fiction, is there any problem in enjoying snowfall in Chennai? 😉

    @smallstar and Sakhi

    Thank you 🙂

    @steve

    We are responsible for action But hunger may lead the people to all the wrong doings. Sometimes our society also responsible in making of theives and criminals.

  7. November 14, 2008 3:12 pm

    hmm so u have given ur imagination wings to see snowfall in Chennai…

    For the story……Its a good narration and definitely good question….who is guilty? Hm….its a full circle …… difficult question …..

    I would love to hear more about the old man in the jail…..what was his reply?? you could make a sequel to this one if u r interested and I would love to read that Kanagu 🙂

    Kudos!

  8. November 14, 2008 9:05 pm

    @Sahaja

    No problem in writing a sequel to that. But what makes me to consider it is it will become more darker and intense. I will try and write it.

    Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  9. November 15, 2008 7:55 am

    I would simply love to see snow in Chennai! 🙂

    It’s true . . . no one is born a criminal . . . criminals are usually victims of circumstances . . .

  10. November 17, 2008 6:22 pm

    hey no dude… i would have loved to njy a snowfall in chennai..a much needed respite from chennai heat 🙂

  11. November 17, 2008 11:34 pm

    @ Raj

    Me too longing for that.. thanks 🙂

    @ Sharad

    Surely we need some amount of chillness here

Leave a Reply

