Skip to content

Nolan – A magician – Part I

December 11, 2008

                I never thought about a director who can  give some flawless movies contionously and which is equally enjoyable by the viewer. I have seen 3 of his movies over these weekends and I found each one is compelling, engaging, brilliant and more over satisfied me as a viewer. I am keep on watching them again and again. No film director has made me wonder like him. His screenplays are near perfect which makes you to sit through the movie and enjoy the happenings of the movie completely. Let’s go by order:

 Memento:

          I first heard about this movie when Ghajini was released in Tamil which they said it is based on Memento. In addition, what they said was Memento mementois not that good, which is confusing but A.R.Murugadoss(Director of Ghajini) presentes it in a clear way. But when I seen Memento the above statement seemed absolutely ridiculous as I can’t even imagine Ghajini nearer to the quality and presentation of Memento. 

         The screenplay of this movie is not only brilliant but also innovative. It starts with a scene, which will be a climax if any other director directed this film. From there, the film is shown as 3 to 8 minutes segments but in backwards. Even though it moves backwards we will not be confused and there lies the success of Nolan. Guy Pearce in the lead role given a solid performance as a man who was suffering from short term memory loss and all the actors in this movie has given a solid performance.

      When I finished watching this movie, I forgotten the order in which the sequences were happened and even after watching it fully some 2 times, but I couldn’t remember the seuences. This film will remain fresh whenever I watch it. A rare cinematic experience.

Batman Begins:

            Many of them said that this film doesn’t have much action sequences to keep the audience interested but when I watched this movie I felt that it has right combination of action and drama and it is straight forward. I always love a movie which has heroism with a dose of reality. And this one delivered what I have expected. A perfect blend of (Super)heroism and reality. There are lots of things in this film which I can relate with India. Here too there is a city which is so corrupted and the hero takes on thugs and brings them before the justice without killing them. And I loved Christian Bale as both Bruce Wayne and Batman. Because if he looks stylish as Bruce Wayne, then his looks are imposing as Batman. I couldn’t imagine any other actor in that role and for that reason I decided not to watch the previous Batman films J So in the third installment of the film, if someone plays the Batman character other than Christian Bale means I think, I will avoid the film.

 batman-begins

I love many dialogues in this film starting of with:

Michael Caine (Alfred) who says ‘Why do we fall sir?’, ‘So that we could learn to pick ourselves up’.

When the villain to justify his intention to destroy the Gotham City due to corruption saying, “When a forest goes wild the purging fire is inevitable.”

And the Batman in the climax says that “Its not important who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me”.

        And I loved the stunts and stances of batman. And also that powerful bat machine is absoltely perfect. Especially the last half an hour action sequences are perfectly choreographed which kept me hooked to the screens.

The Dark Knight:

       Enough has been said about this film, with each and every reviewers kept this film at a height which no film has achieved in recent times. It is because we will not see a superhero movie as dark as this. Here the Batman takes a powerful villain Joker, a psycopath and the cape crusader was very vulnerable and didn’t want continue his practice. But in the end, he has to turn himself in to save the Gotham city from Joker and has to take the name of a killer to keep the faith of the people alive.

In this film, Heath ledger as Joker scored points over everybody in this movie with his legendary performance. With his face covered with full thedarkknightposter5makeup he has to give a performance that must overcome it and his screen presence must make the audiences thrilled. And he does that in style. In how many films do we like the dialogues comes from the villain. But he has got the best of the dialogues like: “Why so serious?” and when batman asks him why he wanted to kill him, he says, “I don’t want to kill you. What I am going to do without you. You complete me.” Very powerful dialogues. I thoroughly his performance.

      Surely batman has took the back seat in this movie but in the last 15 mins his role gains importance. In this second installment too I enjoyed Bale very much. And the last piece of dialogue given by the Gordon is absolutely unforgettable.

… he is the hero that Gotham deserves but not the one it needs right now.  Because he is not a hero. He is a silent guardian, a watchful protector, the dark knight.

         When it comes to technical aspects, this one is superior to its predecessor but still I like the first one much and the high point of both these movies is the haunting background score. I love the batman theme and I am hearing it over and over again with the help of my mobile. Stunts is absolutely good in this movie too and I loved the batpod and batmobile.

             Now I have to watch the other three films of Nolan The following, Insomnia and The Prestige and has to see, whether they live up to the expectations. And the film which I am eagerly expecting from Nolan is without doubt is the third part of Batman series. Hope he will deliver his best in it.

P.S.: One thing I have to mention here is, I have watched the movies in the reverse order 😀

  

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 2:46 am

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

    kanagu: Welcome to my blog Rick 🙂 Keep coming

  2. December 11, 2008 12:23 pm

    @ Kanagu : I have not seen Memento but since you recommend it, I shall proceed to do that sometime. I think we shall all miss Heath Ledger.He was a fine actor and made one of the best Jokers in the Batman series. I also liked his role in Brokeback mountain. Such a versatile actor.

    kanagu: Of the 3 films I have seen of Nolan, Memento is the best. You must see it for its uniqueness in screenplay odzer. I didn’t seen Heath ledger in any other films. But joker can’t be played by anybody like this. Brokeback mountain is in my must watch list. And I like to watch it soon.

  3. December 11, 2008 1:03 pm

    Kanagu.. Al three are my favorite films!!! And bad to lose an actor like Heath Ledger… I like his other film- 10 things I hate about you.. The role he played, Patrick Verona, I felt it couldn’t be matchd.. But joker Scaled the heights!!

    Bt of course, none of this is possible without the genius that is the other Nolan, director Christopher. As per Memento, he knows how to direct a film. The dramatic scenes are engaging and the action sequences are crisp, thrilling, and will blow you out of your seat. Nolan’s direction is tense, whip-smart, kinetic and smart. All of the action sequences are realistic, “boombastic”, and CGI is used only when necessary (Steve Spielberg and George Lucas, take note).

    kanagu: As you said Heath ledger’s death was a huge for film industry and for fans like us. His performance is unmatched. And for CGI, I think steven speilberg has no other option but go for CGI when he was directing a film on Dinosaurs right. Steven spielberg has directed some wonderful films like Schindler’s list without the help of CGI.

  4. December 12, 2008 2:55 am

    Of the three, I’ve watched only Batman Begins. And it was a fabulous movie! 🙂

    kanagu: I recommend other movies too to watch, of them don’t miss memento.. a rare film to see.. even if a director wants to remake it.. he will not be able to do that..

  5. December 14, 2008 11:55 am

    I wanted to see this Memento, but not able to! Your review of all the three movies was good. The batman movies remind me of the serial whe we watched in Star plus…..

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: See it soon DI!! It was a very good movie.. but I didn’t seen any serials in star plus and how for past 3 years left the prectice of watching serials.. good one right 🙂

Leave a Reply

