Skip to content

‘Chennai’ Sangamam and Bookfair

January 21, 2009

         Last week has been a happening week in Chennai as lots of things were being organized and took place. I went to Chennai Sangamam and Book fair. Both the events were colourful and eventful. I have missed the trade fair willingly as its going to stay here till March.

Chennai Sangamam:

          I think it has been happening in Chennai for past 3 years and this is the first time I have attended it. It is a week long event spanning nearly 6 days and taking place in various parts of the city but I decided to go to Eliotts beach on 16th (Besant Nagar) as the grand finale was happened there. The main aspect of this event is to showcase the traditional arts and food of Tamilnadu to the people in Chennai as they have forgotten what is their tradition is. After finishing the film Padikkathavan, we went there by 7.45.P.M and the event was nearing the end. We have seen some artists giving music using some kind of small tom-tom and dance.

           And then came the big moment of the day. Performance of Indian Sensation ‘Drummer’ Sivamani. It is non-stop music from him for more than 45 minutes which kept the audiences mesmerized and they were just roaring and dancing to the beats from his drums. And I am really lucky to watch that performance live. His music has made my day. I thought that I must leave from there after watching few minutes of his performance. But from the start to stop he is extraordinary who has maintained great energy levels. He also performed with other artists which become a treat to watch. At the end of the event fireworks has been arranged which is really beautiful and also food stalls has been arranged alongside. But the price of the foods are way too high.

       Here are some photos I took there:

Perfect couple:

       Very cutely made mask which is witty and nice.

dsc00370 

Father’s love:

     Here this father shouldering her daughter so that she can watch the Sivamani concert. This one reminded me of my childhood days where my father shoulder me to see the god in temple.

dsc

Sivamani:

        Man of the day. I loved his music to core.

dsc00567

dsc005682

Performed artists:

dsc00560 dsc00573

Colours of the night sky:

dsc00588 dsc00600 dsc005901 dsc00592

Book fair:

          I have heard that this book fair was happening in Chennai for 32 years. But only in the past 10 years people were flocking there and making this event a great success. Each and every year the no. of people coming and amount of book being sold is increasing, which is an encouraging sign. I am visiting this fair for past 6 years. The major change happened to this event is the change of place, which took some 3 years ago. At first, I didn’t like it. But this year I have clearly seen the differences and recognized this as a good move. This place is more spacious and they have put up stalls upto 600 in addition to that there is no problem for parking and they have arranged for quality food, which they can’t do in previous place which is very congested one. This time the stalls are arranged in such a way that the people can walk across length and breadth and this is a really time consuming move. Even a day is not enough to go to all stalls and I went there for 2 days, of which one day I have stayed only for a shorter period.

Some Pictures:

     Pirated version of the books outside the bookfair. They too attracted good crowd, as always 😉

dsc00602

dsc00603

      The long way to move into the book fair.

dsc00360

dsc00604

Into the bookfair. Stalls are very nicely arranged.

dsc003611

dsc00607

      Food stalls arranged beside of the fair. Truly they are high in quality and low in price.

dsc00610

dsc00611

The stage in front of the fair where some competitions and literary meetings are went on. I am not much interested in these. So I captured only the stage and not some happenings on that 🙂

dsc00609

 PS: I have took a video of Sivamani concert and I will post it once I upload them in some public video forums.

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 10:30 pm

    Chennai Sangamam looks like a wonderful event specially in times when we are very easily n quickly forgetting our traditions n values. Glad u could make it there…

    Book Fair, hmmm though I love books I usually don’t like these fairs as they are boring, they hardly keep fiction….

    kanagu: Yeah truly a marvellous festival.. but still there are some political plays.. anyway we have to leave them…
    and I am not a fan of fiction, so I found Bookfair interesting 🙂

  2. January 22, 2009 1:51 am

    Oh this is a very nice post. I enjoyed it immensely. I get to see a bit of Madras without being there. I nearly made it to South India this week because some of my friends have gone to visit a Bikers festival in Ooty all the way from here on their motorcycles. I was planning to fly down for a few days to give them ‘company’. Well may be sometime soon.

    kanagu: I know Odzer, you will surely enjoy this one.. as you already mentioned to see some soutn India.. Thanks 🙂
    And welcome here.. Hope you enjoy.. Ooty is one of the best place to visit here.. chennai is no so far in that regard 😀

  3. January 22, 2009 4:55 am

    Wish I was in Chennai now: P my native place…
    Great post…..
    and I still have not had the opportunity to watch Sivamani’s live performance till date…

    kanagu: Thanks Ajit.. Come here soon…
    Sivamani’s performance is truly great.. Don’t miss if you get a chance 🙂

  4. January 22, 2009 11:25 am

    Wow Chennai Sangamam and Book Fair I was there last year and miss it this year sniff sniff…and that thaarai thapattai is from en oor (Thanjavur)…btw antha husband and wife mask isn’t that thalai aati bommmai?? that has been made as a geographical indication of our country…

    kanagu: Oh.. thats great hear.. someone form Thanjavur.. When are you coming back here>
    And that is not thalaiaati bommai.. it’s just a mask.. 🙂

  5. Nandhu permalink
    January 22, 2009 12:14 pm

    Hi Guys,

    I want ‘Drummer’ Sivamani’s chennai sangamam function in MP3 or video.

    Thanks in advance
    Nandhu

  6. Nandhu permalink
    January 22, 2009 12:15 pm

    Hi Guys,

    I want ‘Drummer’ Sivamani’s chennai sangamam function in MP3 or video.Ping me lns79@hotmail.com.

    Thanks in advance
    Nandhu

    kanagu: Welcome here Nandhu 🙂
    I will send them.. but they are BIT LOW in quality.

    • Nandhu permalink
      July 9, 2009 5:59 pm

      That’s not a problem kanagu, send me 🙂

  7. Chirag permalink
    January 22, 2009 12:18 pm

    I have done my Engineering in Chennai. I just love Chennai, specially Beer, Besant nagar Beech. Besant Fast food.

    I miss Sangam is great place to get hold of some real great text at optimum price 🙂 I was interested in the Pirated versions also 🙂

    kanagu: Wow…Its great to hear that you studied in Chennai.. Besant nagar is a great place.. But I love Marina much.. 🙂

  8. January 22, 2009 6:56 pm

    Kanagu – Have something for you in my blog – Please pick it up – http://smitha-randomthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/01/goodbyeawards-and-no-criminals-campaign.html

    kanagu: Thanks a ton Smitha 🙂 I am really happy to receive them 🙂

  9. January 22, 2009 10:25 pm

    We went to one of the Sangamam events but went away after a glimpse because of the huge crowd 😦 I didn’t attend the book fair this year 😦 St. George school is a much better place for the fair than Qaid-e-Milleth college, for sure. One can happily browse for hours and pick up books from the wide variety available and the food stalls match the variety of the book stalls 😛

    kanagu: Oh…Raj why u missed it? It is the kind of event you must enjoy with the crowd.. 🙂

  10. January 25, 2009 12:48 pm

    I visit the Chennai book fair every year, and even this year I did. This year, I went through the books published by the Publications Division (GOI) and was mighty impressed with the titles. I was also impressed by one more publication called ‘Roli Publications’ and I even bought a book called – ‘I too had a dream’ by Verghese Kurien. This is about the Amul milk and milk products revolution which he brought about. The only issue is, I have less and less time to read these books and I am a slow reader – I hope to allocate more time for reading books in future at least. I will be there every year, where ever I am.

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: I am also a very slow reader.. but now a days I am reading books of various topics.. not confining myself to something.. and I didn’t read the book you have said..
    I bought some tamil books, one on religion, a short story and a Poem.. so that I may not get bored 🙂

  11. vin permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:09 am

    Kanagu, nice post…reminded me of Chennai so much!! n i love books too…i really miss the ‘rava dosai with different types of chutney” 🙂

    kanagu: thats nice… and no restrictions.. you can come to chennai now also to have rava dosa 😉

  12. January 27, 2009 9:53 pm

    Why the hell was I not aware of this when I was in Chennai!!! 😦 And I had so many friends and project mates there and no one ever told me about this. And Besant Nagar was 10 minutes from my place!! 😦

    kanagu: Oh.. that really a nice event.. It would have been better if you seen it.. 😦
    No worries Amit, next year also it willl haappen here.. and you can be here to watch it 🙂

Leave a Reply

