Skip to content

Days are gone??????

March 12, 2009

        When I thought that every good thing was ended with my college and there is nothing like that will happen again, suddenly last Friday something happened which has brought some cheer to me. It’s a very simple thing but the happiness while doing that will bring an immense pleasure for me. A cricket series is going on in my office and I played a match on Friday. I always loved to play cricket or for that matter any game and I will never get tired or bored of playing it. Even if there is only one person is accompanying me, I wouldn’t mind keep on bowling to him all the day.

         The format of the series is such that we have been divided into 3 teams, according to our accounts and every team has to face-off other teams 3 times and a best of three match finals. Sounds exciting, right? It started by last Thursday and I have got my chance to play by Friday. The ground has got something called pitch, no-no, we have chosen a small rectangle from that big uneven ground as pitch and started to set our own boundaries. And I have played cricket 18 months back, so first I practiced how to hold the bat. I have also tried my hand at bowling too for 2 balls; I am bang on target at the batsmen face with my beamers (ball thrown straight at the batsmen’s face) than at the stump. So to avoid some blood shed (we have played in tennis ball 😀 ), I refrained from bowling (It’s a different matter, My teammates didn’t asked me to bowl).

         The match has contained all the aspects of a street cricket. Umpire was from the team which is batting. So, even the full-tosses which were going under the hip called as no-ball and the balls going under the bat called as wide. Long arguments for the way the other side has done the umpiring and tit-for-toe, everything reminded of my school days, where we just fight like this. I am just laughing at them still everybody loves to win the game at any cost. Thankfully, we have got stumps. In school, we used to draw the stumps at the walls and there will be arguments for whether the ball has hit the stumps. If the boy standing as umpire wants to bat, he will give out even though the ball didn’t the stump (lines drawn).

              Coming to the match, our opposition team batted first and got 70 runs in 8 overs. As many of us were playing after a long time, we couldn’t bowl well and with a run for a wide didn’t help our cause. Anyway the opposite team players also didn’t have match practice, but they did bowl well with very much less no. of wides. So obviously, we had to get runs out of our bat 😦 But we managed to win the match with 2 balls to spare in the dying light. With some friends coming over to the ground just to encourage us is a great thing. And the way we screamed for every sixes and fours took me to the old, happy school and college days.

             And while returning from the ground we went to a push-cart in which the Pani puri was sold. We keep on eating the puri’s till our stomach was filled and has a nice chat among us, with everybody kidding and pulling others legs. This is the same kind of thing we used to do after the day long cricket at my friends home. After the cricket, we will go to a fast food and with the small amount we have. We will order the items, keeping the amount required for our travel back to home safe. But the only difference is, we don’t have to worry about money now. Even though with that limited money, unlimited joy is guaranteed. If at all we had this much money on that time means, we would have ransacked the whole shop with our food hunting talent 🙂 Anyway days are not gone that much far from playing cricket. We have to organise something like this one day and enjoy.

        cartoon_cricket Oh!!! I didn’t said about my contribution to the match right. When I batted, poor bowler bowled 3 balls in the leg-side (only area I will hit the balls) for me and I have hit them to 14 runs and got out. I am happy with that. We will not have a struggle to go to the finals as we have won 2 matches we have played. And with 4 matches to go, we have to win only 2 matches to move to finals. And the tournament is going to end by April 10 only. So till then, its going to be a great fun for me and many of my friends in my account and hope I will have more stories like this to share with you all.

 

60 Comments leave one →
  1. viji permalink
    March 12, 2009 9:27 pm

    good luck dear… u can get the first prize…

    etho epadiyo, ennoda share maranthudatinga..:D

    enaku criket pathi onum teriyathu, aana durai english laap type panneringa.. nalla iruntucu padika.. athan padichen.. 😛

    hahaha, anyway, its nice to see u shared ur experience in a nice way. =) interesting!

  2. March 12, 2009 9:49 pm

    🙂 LOL…. box cricket is always fun….

  3. March 13, 2009 1:09 am

    lemme stop drooling at the paanipuri first! 😀 yummy!
    we also call it gol gappa or in bengal Phuchkas(I think …before any Bengali comes after me 😀 )

    what?cricket?
    oh yes that ! err..sorry got distracted 😀

    ‘I refrained from bowling (It’s a different matter, My teammates didn’t asked me to bowl).’ LOL! 😀

    I used to draw the stumps on the tree with chalk 😀
    while playing with my brothers
    and each shot would go out of the garden 😀
    *looks damn proud*
    😀

    loved this post for its simplicity and sheer joy 🙂
    *sigh*
    I miss those days of carefree abandon

    • March 17, 2009 11:44 am

      LOL Indyeah 😆

      yeah.. the childhood times are really good..
      and the good thing about cricket we can set our own
      boundaries 🙂
      And thanks for enjoying it Indyeah 🙂

  4. March 13, 2009 2:53 am

    I have forgotten Cricket now. Have no clue about it. I loved those golgappas. Yum! 🙂

  5. March 13, 2009 7:10 am

    Machi tuccar postuda….

    naan July Chennai vanthavuden – un friends kartik friends ellam sernthu beach la cricket villayadalam… ore the peelings coming – cricket matches are pretty awesome ones…i miss India – sniff sniff boooooooooooohooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    • March 17, 2009 11:45 am

      Thanks lancelot.. 🙂
      Waiting for your return here.. 🙂
      kandipa velayadalam.. let’s rock

  6. March 13, 2009 11:09 am

    Kanagu, dunno the feel of cricket…but i just love the nostalgia here! i could breathe some of mine too :):)

  7. March 13, 2009 11:30 am

    😆 😆 I too got nostalgic and remembered when a teacher had scolded me for hitting a six and breaking class room window glass and you know what!! we were not playing using bat… we played using fist… 😆 It was fun!!!

    And i still love gol gappa… i take one plate at least once or twice a week… yummmmmmmmmmmmmyyy.. drool, drool!!! 🙂

    • March 17, 2009 11:47 am

      Cricket using fist.. thats great..
      we used play tennis using our palms and also
      scales as bat.. sheer enjyment..

      great to know you too love gol gappa… 🙂

  8. March 13, 2009 1:52 pm

    After reading ur post i m craving for golgappa now 🙂

  9. March 13, 2009 2:05 pm

    Please Check my blog – u have been awarded :0

    http://lancelot-oneofakind.blogspot.com/2009/03/friends-interview.html

  10. March 13, 2009 3:37 pm

    Ohh hope you guys the win the finals too 🙂 ..

    And that pani puri image is making me very hungry now 🙂 !

    • March 17, 2009 11:49 am

      Welcome here Charmed one!!!!
      thanks for your wishes 🙂

  11. March 13, 2009 9:44 pm

    Backyard cricket and street cricket are great fun! 🙂

  12. March 14, 2009 12:56 am

    When we played cricket after about two years of joining jobs, I was surprised to find out that I could bowl spin! I never tried this earlier but I was able to bowl leg and off spin with a similar bowling action for both! I never seriously tried this for all the years that we were playing cricket!! So, you never know what’ll happen. So, keep playing.

    Destination Infinity

    • March 17, 2009 12:04 pm

      Sure DI!!! thats nice to hear!!!
      both off and leg spin.. great 🙂

  13. March 14, 2009 5:39 pm

    Pete..hows it..cricket looks like a whole lot of fun never played…would like to play…i like the rules they seem really interesting…i like the part of the story when you talk about eating the pan-puri dont know what that it is but sounded like a fun experience all around…..great post very uplifting…Zman sends

    • March 17, 2009 12:14 pm

      thanks Steve 🙂

      it’s a small oval thing with space into it.. we will
      fill that with some spicy thing and water and eat that..
      superb snack to munch..
      play crickey.. it’s fun!!!

  14. March 14, 2009 8:06 pm

    Youngistan Kartik & One of a Kind Lancelot anbudan alaikirom…

    http://lancelot-kartik.blogspot.com/

  15. March 14, 2009 10:40 pm

    My colleagues still conduct cricket matches in our college for staff and they seem to enjoy so much!

  16. March 15, 2009 7:38 pm

    How nostalgic …. Even I used to play cricket with my cousins..but one day i got a sixer hit on my stomach and with that i stopped my innings 🙂

    • March 17, 2009 12:16 pm

      oh god.. a bright career has been ended.. 😀
      anyway now you can play with your child, right 🙂

  17. March 15, 2009 7:43 pm

    you know what even we are having matches in my office. .and we had a practice match this weekend /..and after 2 years i played. .
    every inch of my body pains rite now 😦

    • March 17, 2009 12:18 pm

      that’s great, it will pain… but it’s good also..
      play often man.. with our work culture we have to play 🙂

  18. March 15, 2009 9:51 pm

    I too just love to play cricket … Infact , most of us do … This is a game which binds whole of India together … No matter whether its gully cricket or an international match , the intensity and the will to play and win is all the same … 😀

    Best of luck for the tournament

    P.S. I love panipuri …

  19. March 16, 2009 5:23 am

    I have hit a six only once in my life. I am terribly bad at it! 😦

    • March 17, 2009 12:19 pm

      is it so??? no problem man.. it’s palaying that gives joy 🙂

  20. March 17, 2009 1:21 am

    I hate sports, but whenever I tried my hands (or legs) at it, I have been successful. But I just hate sports ! 😀

    • March 17, 2009 12:21 pm

      oh… why vimal??? so much hate for sports…
      I love them

  21. March 17, 2009 8:43 pm

    I played cricket at ma school days.. i was the keeper and ma bad luck i played only one match… they took me to a match where i was send at No 5 with 36 req frm 42 balls… I played a DRAVID innings and remianed 14 N/O frm 25 balls… 😀

    And in our area when i play cricket, the team wil scare to take my name… remember this vaanam boomi un peyar en peyar and they keep on telling the name fr their name.. i’ll be called last and the captain will select me without any interest!!

    • March 17, 2009 9:01 pm

      they will consider for tests.. don’t worry.. age is by your side..

      they don’t know the value of a classic player 😛
      let them scratch their heads when you go to Indian team
      as a replacement for Dravid 😛 😛
      LOL 😆

  22. March 17, 2009 8:44 pm

    Hw many in a team?? 11 or even tat too minimised?? Is thr use of subs, powerplay, free hit for a no-ball, sledging???

    • March 17, 2009 8:53 pm

      No no 11 only… no free-hit.. avanuga correct aana ball ye
      free hit maari than adikeeranunga 😐
      no sledging.. then I will have some physical damages for that 😛

  23. March 17, 2009 8:47 pm

    Loved ur post as much as i love the street pani puris!! We cn have it one day bt don call me fr cricket match in return!! 😀

    • March 17, 2009 8:55 pm

      thank you.. thank you 🙂
      I won’t call you, if you buy the pani puris 😛

  24. March 17, 2009 8:48 pm

    Wishing u fr the next matches??

    //We will not have a struggle to go to the finals as we have won 2 matches we have played.//

    wat abt the other match dude?? hw much u scored??? Dint mention abt it??

    Ba t way watz ur team name??

    KANAGU DEVILS

    KANAGU SUPER KINGS

    KANAGU ROYAL CHALLENGERS

    But i suggest u a good name

    ADENGAPPA 11 PERU!!! 😀 😉

    • March 17, 2009 8:57 pm

      I didn’t played the other match..
      but played the next match.. but a duck, miserable match for me..
      Main reason for our loss 😦

      name epdi koduthen na seruppala adippanga..
      becos team la saethathe perusu 😀

  25. March 17, 2009 8:50 pm

    Win and prove tat u r ma trained one!!! This match s not just fr fun.. its fr fame and latchiyam!! Plz succeed in it (like tamil Cinema, u walk now and background music… DHADAM JUDUM DADAM JDUM)

  26. March 18, 2009 7:00 am

    //I played cricket at ma school days.. i was the keeper and ma bad luck i played only one match… they took me to a match where i was send at No 5 with 36 req frm 42 balls… I played a DRAVID innings and remianed 14 N/O frm 25 balls… 😀

    And in our area when i play cricket, the team wil scare to take my name… remember this vaanam boomi un peyar en peyar and they keep on telling the name fr their name.. i’ll be called last and the captain will select me without any interest!!

    Comment by Karthik//

    Dai bandhu porikki potutu sceneaa???

  27. March 18, 2009 7:01 am

    //Hw many in a team?? 11 or even tat too minimised?? Is thr use of subs, powerplay, free hit for a no-ball, sledging???

    Comment by Karthik//

    AAmanda one pitch catch, Granted 2 , ellamae irukkum

  28. March 18, 2009 7:02 am

    //Wishing u fr the next matches??

    //We will not have a struggle to go to the finals as we have won 2 matches we have played.//

    wat abt the other match dude?? hw much u scored??? Dint mention abt it??

    Ba t way watz ur team name??

    KANAGU DEVILS

    KANAGU SUPER KINGS

    KANAGU ROYAL CHALLENGERS

    But i suggest u a good name

    ADENGAPPA 11 PERU!!! 😀 😉

    Comment by Karthik//

    How about the name ITHUTHANDA TEAMU?

    • March 20, 2009 10:34 pm

      /*AAmanda one pitch catch, Granted 2 , ellamae irukkum*/

      /*How about the name ITHUTHANDA TEAMU?*/

      LOL..

  29. March 18, 2009 7:04 am

    //Win and prove tat u r ma trained one!!! This match s not just fr fun.. its fr fame and latchiyam!! Plz succeed in it (like tamil Cinema, u walk now and background music… DHADAM JUDUM DADAM JDUM)

    Comment by Karthik//

    Konja nanjam nalla villayanda kanaguvayum naasamakkurathunu mudivu pannitaa…

  30. March 18, 2009 10:24 pm

    Ah… Nostalgia… 🙂 Took me down memory lane. Thanks!

    Peace.

Trackbacks

  1. Reminiscences of Childhood Cricket « Kridaya

Leave a Reply

