Skip to content

Where is the party?

April 4, 2009

       Last week(March 21) we went to MGM amusement park as a part of our project party. Amusements parks never forgets to amuse me as the moment I enter into it, I will plan how to enjoy and how to use the time in a more efficient way.I usually go to amusement parks in a gap of very long time only. Last time I went to Veega land in Cochin, 2 years ago, which is the best one and it will remain as the best, as it’s a part of my college tour. So it will be unfair to compare these 2 trips. I have already visited MGM 12 years ago when I was 11 year old. So you could know excitement levels on that age which is again incomparable with this one.

           This time totally 28 members were went there. As a team I know everybody on a level somewhat ok and have a great relationship with few people. We have started by morning 10, a correct time, as organizers have planned to start by 9. Without that 1 hour delay we can’t it say it as a correct time, as going according to the plan in any group event is a dream. In bus some dumb sharad’s were went which is quite enjoyable with everybody pulling other legs and the sounds produced reaching beyond the 20K dB. By 11.15 we reached MGM and nothing was changed in MGM except some rustiness on all the buildings. I think they may have thought that it will be very hard for the old visitors to find it. With the tickets priced at 350 rupees it’s awful to look at them. We had some photo shots at the entrance to symbolize we have arrived and to keep in memory that we have went there. 12 years back, to be precise it is 5th or 6th March we don’t have camera to capture those magic moments and happiness. It’s always good to have camera with you that too in happy moments which will make us to live those moments even after long time.

             By 12, we have entered into it and our first ride was giant wheel. To its name prefix ‘Giant’ it is huge and moved very slowly. A very boring ride, except for the scenery we have got from the top of it. It very hard to believe that we have been on the ride such was the speed of it. After going to 10 rides, only one ride has somewhat amazed me. It is spider spin. A nice ride which will make everybody that they have been into something. Then we went to ship ride which is really superb one and some of us went for second time. And the last one we went was Ranger. Many will say that ‘Ranger is Danger’ and on that day I found that it’s not without a reason. I am feared when it stood upside down, not even uttered a word, all I wanted was to jump out of the danger, sorry ranger and many were screaming like ‘what’s the sin I have done to you (operator)’ and ‘I am able to see all the gods now’ to keep the fear off. I tightly held the protective belts for the first time and there is no smile in my face. So that’s enough to have lunch. It’s very costly and even the water has to be bought by us.

              12 years before, these are same rides they had and as I was very little, I am not allowed in many of the rides. And the price of the ticket at that time is 75 rupees. And 50 rupees has to be paid extra to go to swimming pool. There is a video game section in which we have to buy a coin for 5 rupees to play. The craziness I had in them on that time was not present now. Actually I played it for 2 times and both the times couldn’t last for 5 minutes. Now with all kind of games available in PC itself (I am not fond of games), it’s a reason enough that I am not even went into it.

           After the lunch we went to swimming pool and had a good time out there. But the maintenance on the whole and particularly in pool is very poor with everything resembling that they are old and needs some caretaker. With the price is at the very higher side, they should provide that. It’s really good during 1997 and I am really excited by the pool on that time. But this time it’s not even ordinary. It’s really worst.

             Actually I got remembered this one after I came back from MGM. When I went last time, there was a dance competition for children and me too danced in that. I got 3rd prize in that. Don’t ask me how is it possible? Even I am LOL at that moment. No, no, I didn’t bribed the  judges!!! Actually a lil Michael Jackson has woke up on that day. But my parents has made him to sleep in deep by always keeping the study ghost alive 😀

PS: Don’t go to MGM. It’s a worst theme park you can ever see. Not worth for our time and money.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2009 2:56 am

    well i will never go their then,,,but i hope you enjoyed yourself as much as you could…Zman sends …i like the new layout..zman sends

    • April 6, 2009 12:59 am

      Yeah.. enjoyed a lot Steve.. I think you have got nice theme parks in America to thrill you 🙂
      Thank you 🙂

  2. April 4, 2009 3:34 am

    I have gone there atleast four or five times. First time I went there in ’96. I was thrilled back then. Back then the giant wheel was quite fast as I was afraid of it! Ranger and the little rolla coaster are the best. There was also a underground maze back then. It took half an hour for us to find our way outside! That was fun. Of coursr, as years went by it became less interesting. I think you ought to blame that on the age!!

    Destination Infinity

    • April 6, 2009 1:01 am

      afraid of giant wheel.. LOL.. just go now.. you will wonder whether it moving or not..
      Oouch.. I missed the maze 😦
      No I am in the mood enjoy only but they don’t have much to have fun 😦

  3. hitchwriter permalink
    April 4, 2009 4:11 am

    lol….

    you reminded me of those days…. I have not been to an amusement park since ages now…

    the local mela’s a couple of times… but maybe its time to go to essel world…

    I m sure my son would love it !

    • April 6, 2009 1:03 am

      Just go with ur son Dhiren…. that will be the greatest experience in the world.. seeing our child enjoying infront of our eyes..

      He will love it for sure.. 🙂 Every child will love to be in ride 🙂

  4. Ordinary Guy permalink
    April 4, 2009 8:27 am

    Machi, I also have fond memories of that place as well as Veega land as I have lived in Cochin as well….. 🙂
    nice article dude…. brought back memories of “Madras”… not chennai…. 🙂
    the fact that they have not improved anything over so many years is hard to believe…… it is financial or mere detachment…. 🙂 I dont know

    • April 6, 2009 1:05 am

      Hmmm.. that’s great.. Veega land is the best one I can say..
      I think its like detachment.. actualy they don’t have much space to improve and attract crowds and they can’t withstand the pressure of maintaining it well 😦

  5. Ordinary Guy permalink
    April 4, 2009 8:28 am

    🙂 good that the party was not in “naadu roadella”…. 🙂

    • April 6, 2009 1:06 am

      Your DP is cool machi 🙂

      And thats pure rhyming… in Superstar style.. ‘Cool’ 😀

  6. Princess permalink
    April 4, 2009 1:06 pm

    You have the knack of writing things wittily 😀
    a nice read

  7. April 4, 2009 1:09 pm

    Reading this post brought back memories of one of the earliest theme park Kishkinta in Madras. Is it still there or closed down?

    • April 6, 2009 1:08 am

      Yeah it’s there for no takers.. 😦
      due to poor maintainence 😦

  8. April 4, 2009 1:20 pm

    Michael Jackson has woke up on that day. But my parents has made him to sleep in deep by always keeping the study ghost alive

    –> i knw u good writer, now ony know u r good dancer. Y dont u try ‘ungalil adutha prabu deva yaar?’ 😛

    PS: Don’t go to MGM. It’s a worst theme park you can ever see. Not worth for our time and money.

    –> come sunway pramid, MALAYSIA. really superb place. u will amaze~!

    • April 6, 2009 1:09 am

      I don’t want to prove myself thru that program after knowing I am better than anybody dancing there 😛

      For Sure.. if sponsor my trip to Malaysia (both up and down) 😀

  9. April 4, 2009 3:00 pm

    I had the chance to go to one of these in Vizag. But due to lack of time I couldnt go.

    • April 6, 2009 1:10 am

      ohhhhhhhhhhhh….. give a visit.. you may like it 🙂

  10. April 4, 2009 4:14 pm

    it is always fun to go to theme parks. But I feel that the ones in India need to improve a lot with regard to safety standards. I too have heard that the Cochin Veega land is really good, but had never been there.

    • April 6, 2009 1:15 am

      That is the feeling everybody were having bro.. 🙂
      But Veega land is superb.. 🙂 do visit 🙂

  11. April 4, 2009 6:24 pm

    hey dizee world is still there :O

    Whoa!! We went there when I was 4 foot tall 🙂
    and how much is entry fee now?
    then it was like 150 if you are less than 5 foot and 250 if you are taller….and i rem so well coz my mom is 4.11 and she got along with us 😀 😛

    nice post, enjoy…made me dig thru my memory lane….. and thanks soo much for your wishes!!

    • April 6, 2009 1:21 am

      yeah… it’s here. but degrading day by day 😦
      it’s 350 now 😦
      That’s nice to hear…. 🙂

      and thanks Sahaja.. and you are always welcome 🙂

  12. Indyeah permalink
    April 4, 2009 6:29 pm

    😀 loved the post and the warning err..advice at the end 😀
    brought back memories of Appu ghar in Delhi for me.. yeah like another commentor says. it has more to do with age than naything else…as we grow up we start getting more cynical maybe …:(

    but this was such a refreshing read…:)

    • April 6, 2009 1:23 am

      Thanks Indyeah 🙂

      no no…. I am still fond of theme parks.. let me in… I will go thru every ride like a child.. 🙂
      I love it 🙂

  13. indianhomemaker permalink
    April 4, 2009 9:40 pm

    Interesting post:)
    I have been to Veega land and this post brought back many memories.

    • April 6, 2009 1:23 am

      Welcome here IHM and thank you 🙂

      How is Veega land?? I liked it much 🙂

  14. April 5, 2009 5:11 pm

    hehehe…my colleagues too warned the same abt MGM but i’d rather be a kid n enjoy the rather big waste of time:):)
    nice post as usual, Kanagu!

    • April 6, 2009 1:25 am

      So.. I am right in giving sugesstions.. 🙂
      (Telling to myself) ‘You are always great da’ 😛

      Thanks Vinnie 🙂
      and welcome back 🙂

  15. April 5, 2009 5:12 pm

    the kitten in ur header is cute..with the line – go..go..
    u dont like cricket anymore ah? !!

    • April 6, 2009 1:27 am

      thanks Vinnie 🙂
      What are you talking?? I am not liking cricket,…. oh.. that will never happen…
      In my dictionary disliking cricket is equal to punishable crime 🙂
      Win and loss are part of game.. how can hate the game for my loss 🙂

  16. April 5, 2009 6:20 pm

    ah amusement park……well i have got a very bad experience with it 😛
    i feel nauseous and sick when i sit in rides………so i guess its not meant for me 😦

  17. April 5, 2009 8:26 pm

    Did you try Queensland? That one is much better!

    • April 6, 2009 1:29 am

      yeah… I have to.. thats is the plan in which my friends ditched me 😦

  18. April 5, 2009 9:52 pm

    375?? man they just rob our pockets!! When i went as a kid (5th std), it was around 75-100 i remember… U danced??

    KANAGU CAN DANCE SAALA!!! [:D]

    Thidikida thaana Thidikida thaana Thidikida thaana Thidikida thaana DANCE DANCE!!

    I loved the PS!!

    • April 6, 2009 1:30 am

      yeah they rob our pocket and with our acknowledgement 🙂

      I am now danced.. did you seen it?? 😛

  19. April 6, 2009 11:46 am

    I haven’t visited MGM and Dash ‘n’ Splash. Looks like I’ve missed nothing! 🙂

  20. April 6, 2009 7:21 pm

    Someone’s been having a ball… 😉

    That said though, I am certain that ur escapade was well-earned. At least u got to enjoy as a group, irrespective of tht PS. 😉

    Tc, mate.

    Peace.

  21. Meharunnisha permalink
    April 7, 2009 1:55 pm

    Hello Friend, Hope everything is fine.
    I am a researcher from psychology department. Interested in bloggers and their behavior. My research topic is “Improving self concept through blogging”. In connection with my research I need your help. If you spare your mail Id, I will be sending the research questionnaire to your mail Id. You can give your responses to the questionnaire. It will take only ten minutes to complete the questionnaire. My mail Id is meharun@gmail.com. Kindly cooperate in this survey. Your response will be used only for research purpose. To end with friendly note, I am always ready to help you if you have any queries or doubts related to psychology. Thank you.

    Regards
    Meharunnisha
    Doctoral Candidate
    Dept of Psychology
    Bharathiar University
    Coimbatore – 641046
    Tamil Nadu, India
    meharun@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

