Skip to content

Repost: Year before it’s party time in Johannesberg and Bangalore

June 6, 2009

This is a repost of, what I have posted on the day of first anniversary of India’s T20 world cup win with minor changes. It was like a dream till now and I am hoping for the dream to come again and sweep me off.

This is the day India won the inaugral T-20 world cup last year. Nobody expected India will win the worldcup, including me, but what happened was absolutely stunning and I am very much happy to see that live.
I have to call it as an experience, because I always wanted it to happen on some day in my life. I have been on training during this event, and I thought India will be knocked out in Super 8 so there will be less disturbance to my studies.
First match :  India Vs. Scotland
There is no expectations for me, they said match is going to start by 9.P.M but I am in no hurry to watch the match, came leisurely just to know that match was abanded due to rain.
Second match: India Vs. Pakistan
It was friday. During this match I am travelling from Bangalore to Chennai to my home with friends, as ganesh Chathurthi was on next day. I enquired about the score while travelling in the bus and they said India scored 140. After seeing the first match of the tournament where WestIndies scored 208, I just can’t ignore the thought ‘How this team going to fare without the seniors?’. And in the morning, I reached home and when I asked my brother he said ‘India won the match’. oh… thats good – I thought. I don’t know about the bowl out at that time.
Third match: India Vs. New Zealand
It was Sunday. And this time I am returning from Chennai to Bangalore, once again I missed the match but I am not disappointed to miss it. As expected, India lost the match by 10 runs. No worries for me and I went to class as usual. But I have seen highlights of that game by next day…. where India came close to victory. So I decided to watch the next match.
Fourth Match: India Vs England
This match started by 9 P.M. and after finishing my dinner I went to my friends room(No. 495) in the hostel. Its all started well with Sehwag and Gambhir blazing away. Yuvraj was doing warm-ups at the boundary line and the cameras focussed him often. Without knowing whats going to come in next few minutes, we just started to talk like ‘What this guy showing off more.. over-reacting like that. He came after Dhoni, but what happened in that stuart Broad over was something extraordinary. When he hit the 3rd six, I am calling to my room and asking my roommate(who is studying) to see that over. And during the break we were very happy as India posted 218. England chased well but they are short of Indian total and they are happy nights.
Fifth match: India Vs. South Africa
This match too started by 9.P.M. Its a must win match for India to qualify for semis. I don’t have much memories about this match. Two things I remember are 1) it is the same room I watched the England match. 2) Before the match it was said that South Africa qualified for semis. But they didn’t reached the semis as they can’t get the enough runs to maintain the net runrate.
Sixth match: India Vs. Australia
If I correctly remember, this match was played on Saturday(leave for us, and we are in hostel) started by 6.30.P.M. India first batted and they are just scoring at 6 runs/over, I thought its going to over here for India. Yuvraj came in by 9.1 over where the score was 54, he started off with a six, from that onwards ball was just flying, so as the runrate. One shot I will not forget, he just scooped a delivery from Symonds over the square boundary line with ease. Thats scintillating and great one(70 off 30 balls) than that six sixes. Indians scored 188. A great total.
When Australia started their Innings, I was in my cousin’s room. At first, their innings were quiet but a over from Sehwag changed everything. Hayden has hit 3 sixes just like that. I just ran out that room and went to my auspicious room no.495 to watch the rest of the match. India won the match. Oh.. only one match… final …… with Pakistan. Great!!!!!!!
Seventh match: India Vs. Pakistan
The final is on Monday. We informed all our friends just watch the match in the room where you watched the semifinals. And We had planned to get out of our labs by 5 as the match is going to start by 5.30. And we informed all our friends just watch the match in the room where you watched the semifinals. But as usual, I am late for these one too(What man, when will you be punctual?). I just seen the six of Yusuf Pathan, when I entered my room.  After placing the books in my room, I ran to the room no.495 , where already 10 of my friends cheering up the Indians . India posted a modest score of 156.
Pakistan started their innings, and I could remember the direct hit from Uthappa to sent back Imran Nazir(played well in that game) who looked like a enemy at that time. Suddenly, they were tottering at 76/6. I told to my friends that let’s enjoy the match in amphi-theatre with many people as India surely going to win, but as usual they didn’t respected my idea. But Misbah lead a great fightback and in last over they need only 13 runs with 1 wicket and most importantly, Misbah was on strike. Now there was a six and a wide in that over which makes only 6 runs to win the match. And Misbah, scooped a ball over the fine leg and cameraman showed it, as the ball was soaring over the boundary for a six but when the camera was moved down Sreesanth was there at short fine leg running behind to catch the ball. My heart-stopped for a moment—- whether he will take that catch?
But when he took that catch, the whole hostel was jubiliant. Wishes were flying everywhere…… everybody coming out of the rooms with big laughs.
INDIA WON THE WORLD CUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is the day India won the inaugral T-20 world cup last year. Nobody expected India will win the worldcup, including me, but what happened was absolutely stunning and I am very much happy to see that live.I have to call it as an experience, because I always wanted it to happen on some day in my life. I have been on training during this event, and I thought India will be knocked out in Super 8 so there will be less disturbance to my studies.
First match :  India Vs. Scotland
There is no expectations for me, they said match is going to start by 9.P.M but I am in no hurry to watch the match, came leisurely just to know that match was abandoned due to rain.

Second match: India Vs. Pakistan
It was friday. During this match I am travelling from Bangalore to Chennai to my home with friends, as ganesh Chathurthi was on next day. I enquired about the score while travelling in the bus and they said India scored 140. After seeing the first match of the tournament where WestIndies scored 208, I just can’t ignore the thought ‘How this team going to fare without the seniors?’. And in the morning, I reached home and when I asked my brother he said ‘India won the match’. oh… thats good – I thought. I don’t know about the bowl out at that time.
Third match: India Vs. New Zealand
It was Sunday. And this time I am returning from Chennai to Bangalore, once again I missed the match but I am not disappointed to miss it. As expected, India lost the match but only by 10 runs. No worries for me and I went to class as usual. But I have seen highlights of that game by next day…. where India came close to victory. So I decided to watch the next match.
Fourth Match: India Vs England
This match started by 9 P.M. and after finishing my dinner I went to my friends room(No. 495) in the hostel. Its all started well with Sehwag and Gambhir blazing away. Yuvraj was doing warm-ups at the boundary line and the cameras focussed him often. Without knowing whats going to come in next few minutes, we just started to talk like ‘What this guy showing off more.. over-reacting like that. If he fails thats it.’ He came after Dhoni, but what happened in that stuart Broad over was something extraordinary. When he hit the 3rd six, I am calling to my room and asking my roommate(who is studying) to see that over and he said I am already watching it 🙂 And during the break we were very happy as India posted 218. England chased well but they are short of Indian total and they are happy nights.
Fifth match: India Vs. South Africa

This match too started by 9.P.M. Its a must win match for India to qualify for semis. I don’t have much memories about this match. Two things I remember are 1) it is the same room I watched the England match. 2) Before the match it was said that South Africa qualified for semis. But they didn’t reached the semis as they can’t get the enough runs to maintain the net runrate. And the biggest comedy is, they have lost only this match but knocked out of Super 8(both luck and cup jointly eludes them :D) . 126 is the target runs to get into semis. But Indian bowlers played over-enthusiastically and beaten the already dead snake. RP Singh has captured 4 wickets with some good swing bowling and Rohit sharma has made a wonderful run-out to get rid of Justin Kemp.
Sixth match: India Vs. Australia
If I correctly remember, this match was played on Saturday(leave for us, and we are in hostel) started by 6.30.P.M. India first batted and they are just scoring at 6 runs/over, I thought its going to over here for India. Yuvraj came in, and by 9.1 over where the score was 54, he started off with a six, from that onwards ball was just flying, so as the runrate. One shot I will not forget, he just scooped a delivery from Symonds over the square boundary line with ease. Thats a scintillating and great innings (70 off 30 balls) than that six sixes. I will rate this as Yuvraj’s finest innings under pressure. No Indian batsmen were able to play their shots but Yuvraj tore them apart. Indians scored 188. A great total.
When Australia started their Innings, I was in my cousin’s room. At first, their innings were quiet but a over from Sehwag changed everything. Hayden has hit 3 sixes just like that. I just ran out that room and went to my auspicious room no.495 to watch the rest of the match. India won the match. Oh.. only one match… final …… to lift the cup… and we can be proud that we are champions…. with Pakistan. Great!!!!!!!
Seventh match: India Vs. Pakistan
The final is on Monday. We informed all our friends just watch the match in the room where you watched the semifinals. And We had planned to get out of our labs by 5 as the match is going to start by 5.30. And we informed all our friends just watch the match in the room where you watched the semifinals. But as usual, I am late for this one too(What man, when will you be punctual?). I just seen the six of Yusuf Pathan, when I entered my room.  After placing the books in my room, I ran to the room no.495 , where already 10 of my friends cheering up the Indians . India posted a modest score of 156.
Pakistan started their innings, and I could remember the direct hit from Uthappa to sent back Imran Nazir(played well in that game) who looked like a enemy at that time. Suddenly, they were tottering at 76/6. I told to my friends that let’s enjoy the match in amphi-theatre with many people as India surely going to win, but as usual they didn’t respected my idea. But Misbah led a great fightback and in last over they need only 13 runs with 1 wicket and most importantly, Misbah was on strike. Now there was a six and a wide in that over which makes only 6 runs from 4 balls to win the match. And Misbah, scooped a ball over the fine leg and cameraman showed it, as the ball was soaring over the boundary for a six but when the camera was moved down Sreesanth was there at short fine leg running behind to catch the ball. My heart-stopped for a moment—- whether he will take that catch?
But when he took that catch, the whole hostel was jubiliant. Wishes (Whistles too) were flying everywhere…… everybody coming out of the rooms with big laughs and some shared sweets to celebrate this.
Indians are the world champions and  INDIA WON THE WORLD CUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Please find my analysis on Indian team for this world cup here.
PS: Friends, don’t be angry on me for not replying to your comments promptly. I am not with my PC during week days. And when I post a reply to a comment in my blog thru my mobile it gets stored as the last comment. Don’t know what to do 😦 Hope I will find the solution soon.
23 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2009 5:23 am

    Ok, Zero knowledge on sports ! So how are you otherwise ??? 😀

  2. June 6, 2009 6:06 am

    LoL! I remember watching these matches. My dad took me to watch the final at the pub with his friends (a little strange being the only girl 😕 ) So i could watch it on a 56″ screen (maybe bigger than that). And I wqas SOO HAPPY when india won.

    This year HOPING to go watch the finals live as it’s in London. 😛 Just me and my dad and anyone else that wants to come and can afford the tickets. 😉 I’m HOPING India get through. 😀

    • June 6, 2009 1:28 pm

      Welcome here Badz 🙂
      he he he 🙂 56″ screen… its really cool…. 🙂 me too happy when India won 🙂 its a thriller 🙂

      oh.. cool 🙂 If India qualifies go and watch it Badz 🙂
      India will be the champs again 🙂

  3. Saritha permalink
    June 6, 2009 9:27 am

    I loved the second match with pakistan the scores were tied and match went to a bowl out and india won it.

    Also liked yuvraj’s sixes and the seventh match,that catch by sreesanth:)

    Nice post kanagu,and wish to see the same this year.

    • June 6, 2009 1:30 pm

      hmmm…. I missed it but seen the highlights saritha 🙂

      thanks Saritha …. hope we will be champs again 🙂

  4. June 6, 2009 12:47 pm

    kannai katti kaathil vittar pol…. 😛

  5. June 6, 2009 1:39 pm

    heyy…how come u remmeber in so much detail??? u r absolutely crazy cricket fan da….proud of u, kanagu!!

    n yes, like Vimmuu, i too have zero knowledge n am not so embarassed to say that after seeing his comment..lols!!

    • June 6, 2009 2:18 pm

      thanks Vinnie 🙂 I am a crazy cricket fan 🙂

      LOL 😆

  6. June 6, 2009 5:23 pm

    WE will GET THE CUP!!! 😀
    Lets keep praying day in and day out and it WILL come true! 😀
    India will win! 😀

    I like the idea of a repost because that is going to be lucky for us 😀

    • June 6, 2009 8:23 pm

      Yes Indyeah.. me too hoping for the Indian win 🙂 we will attain the glory again 🙂

      • Saritha permalink
        June 7, 2009 10:38 am

        With so much of IPL it is difficult for them to play again,let see if they can win inspite of triedness 🙂

        • Mystery permalink
          June 7, 2009 11:49 am

          Me too hoping india will retain it’s cup.
          Have been busy with work.. read the other psot of urs about ur best friend.. College days are the best.. loads of memeories na?

          • June 7, 2009 8:24 pm

            yes Mystery… they always have loads to remember 🙂

        • June 7, 2009 8:21 pm

          have you seen yesterday’s match… clinical performance 🙂

          only worry is, we are playing against South Africa and New Zealand in Super 8.. hope we will win against them.. then the championship is ours 🙂

          • June 16, 2009 1:10 pm

            It’s really sad that we lost 😦

            • June 18, 2009 12:43 am

              yes.. we lost saritha 😦 I am also sad..
              but its a parcel of a game to win or lose.. we have lot more to win 🙂

  7. June 7, 2009 11:55 am

    what about this time ??? …. India won convincingly against Bangladesh …. and are the favorites for lifting the trophy this time around !!! 😀

  8. June 7, 2009 1:20 pm

    It was a surprise victory for sure! Let’s see what they are capable of this time around.

    • June 7, 2009 8:25 pm

      they have champion stuff… they will unleash it 🙂

  9. August 25, 2010 3:27 am

    Pakistan Zindabad “may this heaven always stay infront of our eyes”
    Pakistani girls mobile number

Leave a Reply

