Skip to content

Life series: Payment for honesty

June 13, 2009

Well.. let me introduce myself to you all.. I am Anand working as Inspector of police in one of the western districts of Tamil Nadu. I love to be a cop true to the tag of my department ‘Police is a friend of you’. No.. I won’t lend bikes to you all.. after all it has to be used only for official purposes. I am a honest cop once, trying to swim against the tide. Anyway I didn’t realized it at that time. The fresh thoughts inside me made me to think about a clean society which I dreamt off, do my job with passion and most importantly setting an example for my junior collegues. And I stuck to that and never taken any kind of bribe provided. So it’s only natural that I looked like a odd man out of the bunch. I never felt about that. Because getting salary is the money I have to get as a part of my job and not the bribes from some thugs. So everything went well until I took that case. A life-taker, a mind changer and for the corrupted man I am being now.

That is a case on the shops which are being run by their owners on the platforms as it gives very less space for the pedestrians to walk on that. And also corporation has built lane of shops for them and can be taken on lease but slightly inside from the market. So they hestitated to go there and happy to give bribes, as they were illegal and happy to stay there. But as this has become more and more unacceptable, I asked them move to the building given by the corporation to them. But they hesitated due to the reason stated above. So I arrested some of teh important persons who were behind all these but due to the money and muscle power they had, they came out of the jail very soon and everything I have tried to re-locate those shops to that building has failed.

Few days after that, one day I started to my home from the station and I am accompanied by the constable, who was working with me. I felt that he was so nervous on that day but didn’t asked him or known about that at that time. After he left to his home, I was on my bike to my home through street devoid of any street lights. Suddenly some big stones came out from somewhere and hit me on various parts of my body. So I get down from my bike to get a glimpse of whats happening. Let me tell that, I am 6’5″ tall and have a well built body. But when you are attacked by a group of 9-10 emmbers with arms it really hard to stop them. And those guys just started to hit me the way wanted and after 15 minutes I am on the ground with no hopes on chances of living. A rod has went through my spine so I couldn’t stand. I don’t know what happened then, I have been admitted to the hospital wth several injuries and it took more than 3 months for me to recover completely.

Then I decided it’s waste of time to think about people and being noble to the profession I am working. I have 2 children to look after and it didn’t seemed to be a sensible thing to be honest. To the top of all, my circle inspector has said that I must give Rs.2 lakhs from area. Where can I go?? If I went oppose him, there is no guarantee to my life. So I started to get bribes satisfying myself and my higher officials. I have got a home now and living happily…. So that’s it friends…

– Anand.

Friends, this is a real life story I have heard from a friend and made some changes in it… Anyway the core part is right… This is an uninspiring story but a true one. Truth never fails… but to make it triumph you have to fail… honesty pays… but now the question is how??

PS: I have thought to write such true stories happening in life which may be funny, inspiring and uninspiring like this. Hope you will like it πŸ™‚

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 4:48 am

    so true dude……. so many cops are like this because they see that the system cannot be changed and they must survive……

    When reading this, I got reminded of the last lines of the film, “kaaka Kaaka”….. where the narrator (after anbuselvan kills pandiya) tells us that policemen are also human beings……..

    kanagu: It’s also because that the higher positions are with wrong personnels.. 😦 and Kakha Kakha film is a true depiction of what a policemen were going through for being upright…
    It needs a hell lot of change machi

  2. June 13, 2009 4:48 am

    me first, I forgot to add πŸ˜›

    kanagu: πŸ™‚

  3. June 13, 2009 10:26 am

    This story is similar to stories I’ve heard from other government officials…According to them, they cannot survive without taking bribes because the ones who do, make life hell for them…They are in a conundrum – Damn them if they do, damn them if they don’t…

    kanagu: Yes bones.. righyly said.. they are in a very pitiful situation… hope scenario changes in such a way that one who loves honest can be scted individually πŸ™‚

    • June 13, 2009 1:10 pm

      I echo Bones. It is clear case of ‘Damn them if they do, damn them if they don’t…’. Sad! isn’t it?

      kanagu: It’s really sad Solilo 😦

  4. June 13, 2009 1:34 pm

    sad but true…

    kanagu: 😦

  5. June 13, 2009 5:01 pm

    There is a saying, ” If you cant beat them, join them ” which is true in such instances.

    kanagu: Yes Vimal.. after all they can’t fight continuously… their life is important for everybody

  6. June 13, 2009 6:47 pm

    πŸ™‚ society makes criminals…great story, Kanagu
    am wondering what more ‘real’ stories u have with u..pls share them soon πŸ˜›

    kanagu: Thanks Vinnie πŸ™‚

    Will share them one by one πŸ™‚

  7. June 14, 2009 12:40 am

    Am somehow not an advocate of “join them to survive” but then circumstances are such that…

    But if this is the way things keep on going then there is no future for us…

    kanagu: This is the way things are happening Smita…
    the one at the higher position dictates the terms… and that is passed on to the
    juniors like heredity 😦

  8. June 14, 2009 11:22 am

    “can’t beat them, join them” policy

    i used to have alot of judgement against ppl who gae in to peer pressure n did not stand their ground…
    but not anymore.
    standing in somebody elses shoes is very tough, and sometimes its not just a personal choice or “easy way out”, its a choice ppl make due to what they have suffered, family history and current family circumstances.

    its disheartening. 😦

    Kanagu: Yes crafty.. when your life in stake and there are people whom you need to support are there,
    you have to hear what your mind says than your heart… Things are really complicated there crafty.. if
    you hear about them more, the more we get disheartened about our system 😦

    u know kanagu, i’ve been having something on my mind about the kind of job i do and the “immoral side” of it. u post inspires me to write about that! πŸ™‚ lovely post kanagu, as usual. i can see how well u have earned ur award for versatile blogger!

    kanagu: Please do crafty… but make sure you are safe.. at the end of the day nobody will save us.. we have to stand by ourselves.. And thanks for those nice words on me Crafty… I am really happy πŸ˜€

    πŸ˜€ hugs

    kanagu: (HUGS) πŸ˜€

  9. June 14, 2009 12:56 pm

    Great Kanagu.. this is very unfortunate yet true.. u have more of these.. do share. i like the idea of ‘Life Series’.. fact hurts but who knows whom it might awaken one day…

    kanagu: Thanks Oorja.. I will share them soon πŸ™‚
    yes it has to.. πŸ™‚

  10. June 14, 2009 4:28 pm

    This is so true! depresses me.. such stories do 😦

    kanagu: Yes Winnie.. but we have know that too 😐

  11. June 14, 2009 5:16 pm

    I appreciate the anand for telling the truth that he is taking bribes,and i am sure not many will do that.

    My uncle seniors were forcing him to take bribes so he left his job and joined a pvt co,but we wont get such people now 😦

    kanagu: His name is not Anand Saritha.. I just changed it πŸ™‚
    yes.. its a rare one and thumps up to them πŸ™‚
    but the question is those who taking bribes must go out but instead… 😦 sad 😦

  12. June 14, 2009 5:17 pm

    ops mr.anand

  13. June 14, 2009 6:41 pm

    I love your inspired stories. This one is sad, though, like one straight out of a Tamil movie. I can only hope that it ends the way most such movies end!

    kanagu: Yes raj.. its sad… but that’s how the system is.. 😦
    /*I can only hope that it ends the way most such movies end!*/
    πŸ™‚

  14. June 14, 2009 9:52 pm

    Such stories make me really sad and I feel like picking up the gun like “Rambo” and go tha!tha!tha! πŸ™‚
    Seriously, the only way to get rid of the scum is to kill them.

    kanagu: Yes Amit.. that’s right.. if that’s only way right now to get rid of them πŸ™‚

  15. June 15, 2009 4:36 pm

    😦
    What do I say Kanagu?
    This is so sad…and so true.. 😦

    kanagu: 😦

  16. June 18, 2009 2:09 am

    That is so sad to read, Kanagu… I am quite a strong believer in not giving into corruption.. but I guess its easy to say when your life and livelihood is not threatened by it.. Am sure this is the true story of so many people.. who have no option but to surrender to corruption..

    How I wish it were a pure piece of fiction bearing no resemblance to anything real…

    kanagu: Yes Smitha… your last line is everybody’s wish but what can we do… real is more dangerous than fiction and you will have your escapades in fiction and not in real 😦

  17. June 21, 2009 12:11 am

    very interesting initiative by posting such true stories.

    kanagu: Thanks Reema πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

