Skip to content

History to be re-written

July 5, 2009

Pete Sampras – he is the man I love and consider as best from the day I have started to know about and watched tennis. First time I have heard about him on winning the US open in 1993, I think. In a news I have seen him holding the cup high over his head. From then onwards I never missed any grand slams that is telecasted in DD metro. They usually telecast the semi-finals and finals of every grand slam. I never missed the Wimbledon finals as all the time Sampras was there. In 1996, I went to my native village and heard that Sampras has been defeated by Krajicek. Not able to believe it as I know whenever Sampras plays in Wimbledon he wins the tournament. When he won the last of wimbeldon open and surpassed the Emerson’s 12 grand slam title I was really happy and thought that it will take many a years for someone to break that record.

In 2001, Sampras faced Federer, who at that time wouldn’t have guessed that he is his successor and will broke the record. Federer has beaten him in fiercely fought 5-setter. I thought about Sampras that his time is over. But he had his last punch on the U.S. open with a win over his rival Agassi by 2002 and by that he ended his career fairly. By not winning French open and also his bizarre record on clay made everybody to leave him aside when talking about greatest ever player to be played and rightly so. He never reacted much when winning a cup.. he always show up his arm up in triumph and thats it. The character of him not getting over-reacted made me to like Sampras more.

Watch the video of the match that foreseen the future:

I think Federer has waited just for the retirement of Sampras. He first own the Wimbedon open in 2003 and from there, there is no looking back for him until Nadal threatened to look good in every other surface. If Sampras’s game is depended on 1-2 game of huge first serve and volley, Federer is always content with playing a baseline tennis not that he is not good at net but he prefers to stay back to play his shots. He is really magical and the way he places some of the balls are really breathtaking. And that is the reason why many were still finding it difficult play against him. He has every shot at his armoury and it took the physical ability of Nadal to make everybody realise that he too can lose a match.

There is a unfair criticism on Federer that his opponents are not as tough as the ones whom Sampras has faced. But the truth is Federer’s versatality made everyone to surrender regardless of the surface. If Sampras has faced Agassi, Becker, Rafter, Ivanisevic… Federer has also faced the quality opponents like Roddick, Djokovic, Nadal, Hewitt… But his wonderful ability made them to look like easy opponents. Only Nadal was able to prevail over him and he was the only one who has a better head-to-head record against Federer in the current lot.

I never liked him taking away the record from Pete Sampras of winning the most grand slam in a life time. But still it’s better that he takes the record, arguably the best the tennis world has seen. In the current arena, Roddick has the best serve. Today Federer is facing him. But he never lost to him in a Grand Slam. Even though my heart says that Federer will lose the match, my mind says he will re-write the history today.

Even though I am now confessed that Federer was the best, I will remain as the fan of Sampras ever.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 4:09 pm

    I think Federer is the greatest ever. I don’t remember Sampras dominating the tennis arena for a few years! Federer did that, and did it with style, till Nadal came out of his clay courts! But I just wish Nadal was playing this wimbledon – there would have been good competition. He is one of the best players too…

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Yes DI, he is not as dominating as Federer… but he is the dominating player of his era πŸ™‚
    yes me too like him to play… but his body just started to worn out but I guess that he will not be as dominating as he was before:(

  2. July 5, 2009 4:44 pm

    It was Wimledon ’01 … 4th round … I was all support for Pistol Pete to equal Bjorn Borg … 5 Wimbledons in a row ….. But then came this wizard …. and shattered his hero’s dream in a classic five setter ….

    Since then I have been a die hard fan of the Swiss Symphony …. He is arguably the greatest player Lawn Tennis has ever seen …. and today he will stamp his authority on it …..

    Today is Federer’s date with the destiny … I don’t give Roddick any chance whatsoever … the best he can do is may be take a set , thats it !!!

    Federer :: 15 Grand Slams today !!!

    kanagu: In Lawn you can’t say Federer was the best…. Sampras is equally good on that πŸ™‚

    and then match seems to be a equal with each getting one set and equal in 3rd set πŸ™‚

    Let see what happens πŸ™‚

  3. July 5, 2009 5:42 pm

    May the best man win.. πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚

  4. July 5, 2009 6:21 pm

    Interesting!!!

    kanagu: Welcome here Ekta.. thank you πŸ™‚

  5. July 5, 2009 8:24 pm

    F FOR FEDERER; F FOR FIFTEEN

    kanagu: Hmmm.. lets see πŸ™‚

  6. July 6, 2009 1:55 am

    Federer should win πŸ™‚

    kanagu: He won the hard fought final Saritha.. hope you are happy now πŸ™‚

  7. July 6, 2009 7:43 am

    I used to be interested in tennis till Agassi and Graf retired…I don’t like the current crop of players except for Federer…I liked Sampras too but the best players were McEnroe, Edberg, Wilander, Borg and Connors…

    kanagu: Nadal is also good Bones… Many says that Borg and McEnroe are the best.. I never seen them playing.. so I reserve my judgement πŸ™‚

  8. July 6, 2009 9:07 am

    Glad for Federer’s win.

    kanagu: πŸ™‚

    When I was into Tennis, Sampras and Seles were my favs.

    kanagu: Mine too πŸ˜€

    • July 6, 2009 6:20 pm

      would go with Bones and Solilo here πŸ™‚ its been a long time since I followed Tennis religiously πŸ™‚

      used to be a HUGE fan of Martina Hingis and Seles, Navratilova, Sampras and all πŸ™‚

      kanagu: πŸ™‚

  9. July 6, 2009 11:59 am

    Federer is the most natural and the most gifted tennis player… !! he is the best that has ever lifted the racquet.. !!

    kanagu: Maybe.. we haven’t seen the players before Federer… but he is best in 20 years πŸ™‚

    Pete was probably the best before him… but Pete from the back of the court was no where as threatening as so many others… !!

    kanagu: True

    Then there is Nadal… I think he is the toughest player mentally.. and he is Federer’s bogeyman !! he has a psychological edge over Roger almost… .. !!

    But Federer inspires awe.. sometimes even from his opponents and they get wiped out… thats why it feels he doesnt have good opponents… !!

    kanagu: True again Dhirenbhai πŸ™‚

  10. July 6, 2009 1:11 pm

    I was happy that Federer won. He deserved it. But Roddick was a better player, yesterday, I feel. Federer’s experience paid him in the end.

    kanagu: Yes ji… both were calm and composed till the end.. it’s a kind of match πŸ™‚

  11. July 6, 2009 3:36 pm

    πŸ™‚ You are such a simple yet lovely soul Kanagu … Your posts have no artificiality,the way you write it tells the reader,how passionate you are,about the subject.May it be tamil issues,or cricket or tennis πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thats a great compliment Nimmy.. πŸ™‚ that too from one of the best writers I have met…
    I never thought myself good in English and able to write something…. but blogging driven me πŸ™‚
    thanks for those very nice words on me Nimmy πŸ™‚ hope I will be up to the words of yours πŸ™‚

  12. July 6, 2009 6:24 pm

    Will your mood be excited till you finish the HP series? πŸ˜€

    kanagu: Its changed now Indyeah.. πŸ˜€

  13. July 6, 2009 6:50 pm

    what a match!! i never thought roddick could play like this to federer.

    but, i’m so happy for federer. best ever.. most successful ever.. πŸ™‚

    it’s a great thing pete came and watched this man go past him.

    kanagu: hmmm.. true Karthik πŸ™‚ really close match

  14. craftyshines permalink
    July 6, 2009 9:23 pm

    yikes kanagu….i only know the spelling of tennis *double checks that*

    😐

    well, may the best sportsman win!

    what more to say? crafty is blissfully ignorant!
    😐 😐 😐

    kanagu: awww…. sports is such a stress reliever crafty..

    follow or play some… you will enjoy πŸ™‚

  15. July 6, 2009 11:55 pm

    So, did you watch Nadodigal??? Awesome movie machaa, you should !

    kanagu: No bro.. many were saying that its good..
    maybe I will go by this week πŸ™‚

  16. July 8, 2009 9:57 am

    I liked Ivan Lendl ‘Coz he stopped Jimmy Connors and McEnroe.
    I liked Becker ‘Coz he stopped Lendl
    I liked Sampras ‘Coz he stopped Becker
    I like Federer ‘Coz he stopped Sampras

    Yet to start liking Nadal πŸ™‚ though Federer has been outrun by Nadal πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ Anna… Nadal is a warrior so it will take some time to like him πŸ™‚

  17. July 9, 2009 8:35 pm

    I really like Federer πŸ™‚ And delighted that he won – very sad that I missed the match though 😦

    kanagu: You should have seen that Smitha.. Its a match of real high quality πŸ™‚

  18. July 11, 2009 5:24 pm

    Neat tribute, buddy… I share a similar sentiment. πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Kartz πŸ™‚

    This was what I wrote last year – http://kartzonline.blogspot.com/2008/10/dazzling-panoply-of-rivalry_13.html

    kanagu: Just now reading it dude πŸ™‚

    How are you doing, mate?

    Take care.

    kanagu: I am doing well dude… πŸ™‚
    u too take care πŸ™‚

    Peace. Be well.

  19. July 12, 2009 2:42 pm

    Fantastic post, Kanagu! πŸ™‚ Though it is pointless to compare great players of different eras, there can be some comparison between Sampras and Federer. If Sampras is one of the greatest, which he undoubtedly is, then Federer is perhaps THE greatest! πŸ™‚

    Sampras was indeed a fantastic player. But one can say that Roger is a more complete player than Pete. He fully deserves to win whatever he’s winning, Roger is an unbelievably gifted champion! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: True Raj.. Federer is the greatest.. and Sampras can’t match him for shot by shot πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

