Skip to content

Quotes, HP, Noticed

July 19, 2009

Everyone of you would have thought what happened to the hyperactive Harry Potter fan inside me, no updates in the previous post on what happened to the Deathly Hallows I have started to chase last week.. I have decided to write a part of post on Harry Potter experience of me(I am finished with the books.. yay πŸ˜€ :D)… its after the quotes below.. πŸ˜€

I am not a quoty person. But there are some which always makes me to think, whether I act or not is another matter πŸ™‚ Here are some when I digged by company mailbox after a long time.

This is the one I found impressive and I hope I will see this everyday in the morning:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade windsΒ  in your sails. Explore. Dream.” —Β Mark Twain. American

This one from the genius, and he is right also:

“If you can’t explain it to a six year old, you don’t understand it yourself.” Albert Einstein

Here are some from Colin and caught me right away:

β€œBeware of people who work for their bosses and not for the team”

β€œPeople who throw up the names of the bosses in every sentence, they are the most dangerous kind of people to work with more dangerous than your enemies”

Here is the one from the philosopher Plato,

“Wise people talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”

There are few quotes from the anonymous also:

“The easiest thing to find is fault.”

β€œ Beware of people who believe in only finding fault is their best way of demonstrating their intelligence”

And we can’t disagree with anything said above and they explain truth in few lines, sorry, words.

Harry Potter:


Hurray, I have completed the Harry Potter Series within the time I have set for myself. I wanted to finish them before the release of Half Blood Prince in India and I completed one day before itself πŸ˜€ I always doubted whether I have time and capability to read a book at present. I have bought lot of books of various titles and genre(The White tiger, India 2020, Discovery of India) previously but didn’t read a page of any of them. But by the month of May, I have read a book tag in the Tamil blog of Divyapriya. For every question thrown(One book that changed my life, The book you have read more than once, One book you would want on dessert island, One book that made you laugh, One book that made me cry)Β the answer of her is Harry Potter. If it makes such an effect on one person means then something must be there, I thought.

So when I went for the book store first time and I bought first 2 parts. I always kept the next book in reserve fearing I may finish the book anytime :)(confidence friends, confidence, ha ha ha :D) When I took the first book there was 7 weeks for the HP 6 movie to release, so I thought a book a week will do. But it took me 10 days to finish the first book. Its only 200+ pages and I feared whether I will finish. But the 2nd book caught my Imagination and that is the book which made to read through the other books in a jiffy. It took only 3 days finsh the 2nd book. From then onwards I finished every book within 6 days πŸ™‚ I am amazed by the way J.K.Rowling has imagined many of the things. Hats off to her. She has created a magical world and those Quidditch, 9 3/4 platform, Floo network, Horcruxes, leglimens, Occulumency, Pensieve, dementors, Potions, Parseltongue, Β Deathly hallows, those 4 houses and the explanations given.. everything was awesome. It doesn’t seemed to be every book was written separately. It seemed to be like all the 7 books were written already and released one by one. Such is the continuity shown by her. Wonderful.

You can’t stop yourself feel excited whenever Harry, Ron and Hermione defeats Voldemort or feel sorry when a close memeber to them dies. I loved the characters of Fred and George Weasley and also had a great liking for Nevile Longbottom towards the end. He proved himself as a true Gryffindor. Luna Lovegood was also an another likeable character. And who can forget the Severus Snape. He is the masterstroke character of J.K.Rowling.

I have seen the movies by rushing in my PC and I didn’t think I will love them as I am loving the books. But for sure I am going to watch the HP6 by next week. I love to read the books again and again. There are many heart pounding moments and I always loved the talking episode of Dumbledore and Harry. I will review the books(in 3 parts… 1-3, then 4 and 5, and then 6 and 7) in the coming week πŸ™‚

Lesser Posts:

I don’t know what happened over the last week, there were only fewer posts posted by the friends. I think everybody were suffering from writer’s block. Before I came back to my home yesterday I have read most of the posts in my mobile. And today also there are not many posts and my dashboard shows that the last post is before 10 hours. What happened to you all???

PS: Till 2 days before, I didn’t have anything to write. But suddenly I am finding lot of things to write about. Hope you will find it interesting πŸ™‚

PS 2: The next book I am reading is The Da Vinci Code. I thought of reading Lord of the Rings next, but postponed it till September just to avoid the crossover thoughts that may come from HP.Β Smita’s book reviews and Amit’s post on the books he finds best helping me a lot in choosing the books. And also I have made a note of all the books mentioned by you all. Thanks all!!!!!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 5:57 pm

    Me first πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Yay πŸ˜€ great πŸ˜€

  2. July 19, 2009 6:01 pm

    Liked all the quotes,the best one is “If you can’t explain it to a six year old, you don’t understand it yourself.” – Albert Einstein”

    kanagu: Thanks Saritha.. πŸ™‚ Genius has proved himself again, here also πŸ™‚

    Not a fan of harry potter πŸ˜€

    kanagu: If you find sometime read it Saritha πŸ™‚ I am sure you will love it πŸ™‚

    The Da Vinci Code— I liked this a lot.I just finished The thousand splendid suns and i am now reading Daughters of Arabia

    kanagu: Just started it Saritha.. only 30 pages moved.. hope I will like it πŸ™‚
    /*Daughters of Arabia*/
    this is the one mentioned by IHM, right?? I remember.. will read it πŸ™‚

  3. July 19, 2009 6:07 pm

    great.. your speed and interest.. congrats…

    kanagu: Thanks Oorja πŸ™‚

    i haven’t read any of the HP books but i haven’t missed any movie yet.. can’t wait to watch the 6th one… i am not sure if am a big fan but i do follow and love all the charecters.. maybe i do believe in the fantacy world… πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Do it watch it Oorja… as you haven’t read book.. you will love it more..
    I will miss many a things from the book in screen 😦

    i loved the Mark Twain’s and Plato’s quotes… so true…

    kanagu: Really true πŸ™‚

    glad more posts are coming…. πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚

  4. July 19, 2009 7:04 pm

    your blog is very interesting.I like to add you in my blog roll
    I welcome you to my blog,leave your valuable comments and your link back is welcomed……….

    kanagu: Welcome here Rajkumar πŸ™‚
    Thanks for those nice words πŸ™‚
    I will visit there soon πŸ™‚

  5. July 19, 2009 7:20 pm

    Nice blog. Loved all the quotes.

    kanagu: Welcome here SG πŸ™‚
    thank you πŸ™‚

  6. July 19, 2009 9:10 pm

    Yeyyy!! welcome to the HP fan club. And exactly my thoughts about Rowling and her work.

    kanagu: Thanks Reema πŸ™‚

  7. July 19, 2009 9:21 pm

    I echo your thoughts completely since I’m a Pottermaniac and a HUGE fan of J.K. Rowling! She is an incredible writer!!! I feel very sad that the HP series has ended 😦

    kanagu: Yes she is, Raj.. πŸ™‚ Glad I read that books πŸ™‚ I am really happy on coming in terms with the books after a long time πŸ™‚
    Me too was very sad about that… 😦 😦 if she can write the 8th book on Harry’s 7th year education in Hogwarts I will be glad to read that πŸ™‚ but the question who will be after him.. πŸ˜• Death eaters are gone πŸ˜€

  8. July 19, 2009 9:41 pm

    β€œIf you can’t explain it to a six year old, you don’t understand it yourself.” – Albert Einstein”

    β€œWise people talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”

    β€œThe easiest thing to find is fault.”

    β€œ Beware of people who believe in only finding fault is their best way of demonstrating their intelligence”

    I loved all the above quotes, Kanagu. I liked ‘Da vin ci code’ too. ‘Angels and Demons’ by the same author also, is good.

    Not a HP fan!

    kanagu: Thanks ji… Please read HP.. if you read you will become
    Its really good πŸ™‚

  9. July 20, 2009 1:17 am

    See, that’s why I haven’t read the books yet. I will finish the movies first. Then I’ll read the books! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Good thing Amit.. but I couldn’t stop reading them πŸ™‚ and also its better in books πŸ™‚

  10. Pixie permalink
    July 20, 2009 9:23 am

    hehe!! πŸ™‚

    I enjoyed the books more. Watched the movie yesterday and was kind of bored! πŸ˜€
    The last half hour is very ncie though!

    kanagu: Yes Pixie.. they can never satisfy the book fans..
    I have seen the second part yesterday and it’s quite good and faithful to the book.. I loved it πŸ™‚

    Da Vinci Code – another good book, which was turned into a pretty bad movie!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    kanagu: Yet to see the movie Pixie… let me finish the book πŸ™‚

    Angels & Demons as well. Book is much better.
    But, then it’s difficult to get into as much detailing a book allows in a movie, I guess.

    kanagu: True Pixie.. Its really difficult to make a film with complete detail…
    but there are lot of deviation from the book, which is unacceptable

  11. Swaram permalink
    July 20, 2009 11:23 am

    ‘Beware of people who work for their bosses and not for the team’ – Thanks for that πŸ˜› Much appreciated πŸ˜‰

    I liked the collection of quotes here. If u have too many topics to write on, plsssss do; we r waiting to read πŸ™‚

    • July 21, 2009 7:37 pm

      Wonderful quote rightly said na…
      and thanks for the encouragement Swaram… πŸ™‚ I will type down them soon πŸ™‚

  12. July 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    Cool Quotes! πŸ™‚

    Not a fan of HP or rowling girl… so the less i say the better! πŸ™‚

    No writer’s block for me, but there are other issues due to which i am unable to update the blog! πŸ™‚

    kanagu:Thanks Sakhi… πŸ™‚
    have you read the books.? they are really good πŸ™‚
    hope you will write more stories soon πŸ™‚

  13. July 20, 2009 2:34 pm

    You haven’t read Da Vinci Code yet? Bad bad bad….where have you been? πŸ˜‰

    Angels and Demons is good too. Take up that next.

    kanagu: What to do Masood.. I am just now started reading books πŸ™‚
    will do Masood πŸ™‚

  14. July 20, 2009 9:10 pm

    ‘I have completed the Harry Potter Series within the time I have set for myself.’ – Meeting deadlines very well indeed πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Smitha πŸ™‚

    Great Quotes!

    kanagu: πŸ™‚

    And now on to HP! There is something about J K Rowling’s writing isn’t there? I love it!! I was so sad when I completed the last book – nothing more to look forward to 😦

    kanagu: Me too Smitha.. I felt like something I am missing 😦

    Da Vinci Code is great! I remember I had read it earlier but my husband read it just before we went to Paris and had a wonderful time tracing every place we visited back to the book πŸ™‚ Happy Reading πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Wow.. thats really cool Smitha.. to see the place originally which we have imagined that too with our love… πŸ™‚

  15. Vimmuuu permalink
    July 20, 2009 9:17 pm

    Oh, I love quotes like crazy !!! If you check my orkut profile itself, you can understand !!! I liked the ones you mentioned there, especially the wise and fool one by Plato !!! So relevant in my case. hehehehe

    I am allergic to books and vice versa πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    kanagu: Cool bro.. πŸ™‚
    Plato.. revealing you… hope its in best part πŸ™‚

    and books.. start reading them bro.. you will find a good company for sure πŸ™‚

  16. Mystery permalink
    July 21, 2009 12:26 pm

    Nice quotes..
    And Congrats on the completion of HP series..

    kanagu: Thanks Mystery πŸ™‚

    now that you finished the whole series.which book did you like the most? i liked the 5th one the most.. the Dumbledore army and the kids fighting as a team. that was very very nice..

    kanagu: Thats a tough question mystery.. I really loved the 2nd part, 3rd part, 5th and 7th.. but don’t know how to order them.. 5th is quite good if we exclude the dragging ministry thoughts of Harry.. and the best part of 5th book was Fred and George’s mayhem in Hogwarts πŸ™‚ I always find pleasure in reading them πŸ™‚

    Well movies.. to be frank i dint like them in the beginning as they miss out on several points mentioned in the book also sometime they dont turn out to be as good as we imagined..but then if we see the movies after a while, we will enjoy them..

    kanagu: Many points are missed Mystery.. they are seting a time limits for themselves which makes the film inferior.. they can take some freedon in that.. I have watched the 2nd one and I liked it πŸ™‚

    Da vinci code is a nice book. But of all the 4 books of Dan brown i liked the Angels and Demons the most. It was more of violence but then with all the twists, i enjoyed it the most..

    kanagu: Yet to finish the code Mystery.. then planning to read digital fortress and then I will take A & D

  17. July 22, 2009 8:57 pm

    People say HP is for kids … but I don’t agree … Its a book for all ages and I can bet , it will really get one involved if he start reading it …

    Btw … Half Blood Prince movie was not very impressive 😦

    kanagu: True Harsh… its for all.. that too 3rd part everybody can read it.. πŸ™‚

    and I have seen the movie just now.. it’s not so good 😐

Leave a Reply

