Skip to content

Best day of my life

July 21, 2009

I will consider today as one of the best days in my life and why not. This is the day I have got my job before 3 years. When I have joined in the college I never had a slightest dream of getting a job and also don’t know which are companies in the market will recruit us. My knowledge level is, not able to differentiate TVS and TCS… as I have mentioned in one of my previous post. We are the 3rd set of students of our college, so not even a not single batch of students went out to tell how the placements are and also the outside world of college. We also didn’t expected any campus interviews with none of companies came to our campuses in the 2 years we have seen.

funny-dog-pictures-best-day-ever

But out of nothing, I have heard the news of the company in which comes to recruit and it’s happening in other college. So kind of off-campus for us. College opened by July 10th. From that time, all the talk was about this only. In all the classes we started to practice for the interview. And the day came on July 20th.  We all went there just to see 1300 others competing with us. We believed even if they pick 1 out of 3 or4 us, they will select 300 to 400 members. We 4 people (Me, Mr.SN, Mr.RS and Mr.PR) all planned to go there by bike. Mr.SN and Mr.PR brought the bikes. It’s a travel of about 40 to 50 kms in the way of our college. Even though the college bus goes in that way, considering the time we have to return if the interview goes longer we went by bike.

I didn’t said about the interview in my home fearing what my parents will say if I fail in the interview and their advices before the interview. So I have taken shirt to change and shaving set along with me, if at all one-to-one interview on that day itself. We reached the place by 8’o clock itself. We have checked all our certificates and also looked into some of the questions. By 11, we are all seated to take the examinations. By 12, they have issued the question papers and we started to write the answers. By 1:30 exam is finished and they have said result will be announced by 4 or 5. Now I started to think, if I fail means I have to tell a suitable lie to escape. We had the lunch and reached the suditorium by 4 waiting for the results. By 5:30, some people from the company has came and shown a PPT about the company. The campus, the facilities they have and also the company revenues.

Then by 6:30 they have announced the heart-breaking news of, they have selected only 179 out of 1300+. We thought it’s better to leave at that point. They slowly started to announce the names of the person who are selected by college wise. The number is already passed 100, still there is no sign of calling of names from our college. By 120 or 130, they called my name. I couldn’t believe that. Out of the 12 names announced from my college, mine also one. And all of my friends congratulated me and surely one of the best moments in life. It’s pouring down heavily outside and we started to home. I can’t forget that rainy evening in bike with Mr.SN. I came to my home by 10:30 PM, only to know that my parents know I have went to interview from one of the lecturer, who is a daughter of my father’s friend. They all happy about my clearing of my first round and didn’t given a single bit of advice for next day. And this is the day, they started to keep faith in me that I can manage myself without much advices.

Next day went smoothly and I have been selected as one of the 145 persons selected to give an offer letter. And the first person, I have said this, is to Mr.SN. There are many helped me for my first interview. I don’t know how to thank them all. Of them, Mr.SN has given the aptitude book to me as he said that he was finished, given money to take photo as I couldn’t ask in my home, went together for to that interview and also lot of things.. if I start to say I fear I may miss something. And a thanks would be a very simple thing to say… I have no words with me.

Then there is Mr.HB who has made a Resume for me in a single night, Mr.VK who has given it in the morning of interview, Mr.RS who got the photo for me the day before of interview, Mr.GT from whom I have took a pen forcibly for the interview…. I like to thank them all. Without them I am nothing. They are the reason for whatever I have got now after college…

Thanks Friends!!!!!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 6:29 pm

    hey congrats.. 😀

    well what can i say.. u know my history already.. LOL…!!!! 😉

    • kanagu permalink*
      July 21, 2009 7:24 pm

      Thanks Oorja 🙂

      Yes.. I know it and you have worked in wide range of jobs 🙂

  2. Swaram permalink
    July 21, 2009 6:38 pm

    🙂

  3. July 21, 2009 6:41 pm

    Congrats Kanagu… !!

    shouldnt you be throwing a party to us ??

    • Swaram permalink
      July 21, 2009 6:45 pm

      Oh yeah .. hw did I forget abt that 😛
      Calls for a treat Kanagu 😉

      • kanagu permalink*
        July 21, 2009 7:25 pm

        Thats for sure.. 🙂
        I am ready to give a treat whenever we meet.. 😀 I promise that 🙂

        • July 22, 2009 10:34 am

          Wow! That too with so much money in ur wallet err pocket always 😛

          kanagu: Oh Swaram.. on that day I went to buy a gift for my friend’s marriage.. so that only..
          anyway.. I will have some in reserve for treat 😀

      • July 22, 2009 1:23 pm

        oh yes! treat!! 😀

        CONGRATULATIONS!! 🙂 🙂

        The story is fascinating! 🙂

        kanagu: Thanks Pixie 🙂

  4. Swaram permalink
    July 21, 2009 6:44 pm

    What a heartfelt post Kanagu .. congrats on completing 3 yrs 🙂

    U reminded me of that day 5 yrs bk when I attended a campus interview n got my job! What a day that was .. midnight when I returned home after hvng gone there early mrng n still high in spirits n not one-bit tired. That happiness of hvng our first job offer in hand – wonderful isn’t it 🙂

    And Yay to such lovely friends! May u stay this way forever 🙂

    • July 21, 2009 7:34 pm

      Thanks for the wishes Swaram 🙂
      first job offer is always a special moment and my friends made it really unforgettable… 🙂 and as you have said me too didnt felt a single bit of tiredness in the next morning… great moment… 😀
      I hope I will be like this forever 🙂

  5. July 21, 2009 9:11 pm

    Congrats Dude. It is a great feeling to have got a first job. I never experienced that. So it is 3 years in Corporate life?? All the very best for soaring career.

    kanagu: Thanks na.. why you didn’t experienced it??
    and its my 2nd year not 3rd year na..
    after 1 year only we joined in company 🙂

  6. July 21, 2009 11:18 pm

    congrats!! party!!

    kanagu: thanks Reema.. party for sure 🙂

  7. July 22, 2009 3:23 am

    Everyones asking you party here, but I am sure none of them are near you to give them one. Well I am !! so why not give a party to me and I will accept the invitation on behalf of all these guys here ??? 😀 😀 😀

    • July 22, 2009 8:54 am

      As if people will trust you with the responsibilty!!!! huh!!!

      Have ur share and be happy otherwise that tummy will keep bloating 😀

    • July 22, 2009 10:36 am

      R n’t u busy with 😉

      kanagu: ha ha ha 😀 ROFL Swaram..
      Where is Vimal bro???????
      I think he is busy 😆

    • July 25, 2009 2:46 pm

      We will meet bro… and have treat a mutual one..
      you got engaged na.. 😀

      but for the others part.. I can’t decide.. 😛 😛
      see what Smita has said???

  8. July 22, 2009 8:53 am

    God springs surprises on us when we expect them the least 😉

    Days like yours always remain etched in our memory na??

    kanagu: True Smitha.. and thats what makes our life interesting and keeps us going:)

    • July 22, 2009 9:08 pm

      and you are one of those surprises (disapoointing one that is) !!!! 😀 😀 😀

  9. July 22, 2009 9:06 am

    Congrats!!! I hope you do well…

    kanagu: Thanks Bones 🙂

  10. July 22, 2009 9:40 am

    Congrats on the anniversary!!! Found those sequences very similar to what I had as well… Guess some things do repeat 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks MB… yeah its always a special memory for everyone.. 🙂

  11. July 22, 2009 12:06 pm

    Congrats kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Saritha 🙂

  12. July 22, 2009 1:15 pm

    Congratulations, Kanagu. I liked the way you remembered about the people who had helped you in your life. This nature of yours will always take you to the higher and higher levels. Be happy, Kanagu.

    kanagu: Thanks ji 🙂
    How can I forget them.. they are reason for all many a things in my life now.. and I will remember them till my life 🙂
    thanks for those wishes ji 🙂

  13. July 22, 2009 1:24 pm

    The post is simply heart warming Kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Pixie 🙂

    I got my first job in 2003 and the job market up yet because of 9/11.
    And the feeling of getting into a decent job was priceless… though my salary was very very less, it was enough to keep me happy! 🙂 🙂

    kanagu: Cool Pixie.. as always the first job is a great one and its memories will be with us forever.. and I hardly known about the jobs that time as I just finished the school..
    Salary at times never matters to us.. that too in first job in crunch situation…all we need is to work well..

  14. July 22, 2009 1:25 pm

    Sorry, it should have been – “Job market wasn’t up yet”
    Ate the word – “Wasn’t”
    I think, I should go and have lunch now!!! 😀

    kanagu: Did you had a nice lunch Pixie.. hope you had it 😀

  15. Mystery permalink
    July 22, 2009 3:45 pm

    You reminded about my interview Day.. One memorable day it was! all the waitings for the results to be announced and the happiness when we learn that our name was shortlisted.. sharing the news with family and friends…every bit of it was wonderful..

    kanagu: Its truly a wonderful moment Mystery.. 😀 and its a moment worth remembering all the time 😀

  16. July 22, 2009 8:50 pm

    Congratulationsss …. and celebrationssss …. 😀

    kanagu: Thanks Harsh 🙂

  17. July 22, 2009 8:56 pm

    Congratulations Kanagu! 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Grand ma 😀

    the first job is always special na?:) and *touchwood* because you have amazing friends too:)

    kanagu: Yeah.. I am lucky that I have find them 🙂

    What did you do with your first salary? 🙂

    kanagu: Nothing.. just bought dresses for my mom, dad and bro and then took some money for my expenses and handed over remaining to my mom 🙂

    • July 25, 2009 3:51 pm

      awww that is so sweet Kanagu 🙂
      god bless!:)

      kanagu: Thanks Indyeah 😀

  18. July 23, 2009 1:12 am

    Hey congratulations!!!
    I will be completing 4 years this October! 🙂

    kanagu: Cool Amit and thank you 🙂

  19. July 23, 2009 4:08 pm

    Wah wah… Congratulations!

    kanagu: Thanks Sakhi 🙂

  20. July 23, 2009 4:57 pm

    Congratulations :))
    And all the best!

    kanagu: Thanks Saranya 🙂

  21. July 24, 2009 5:56 am

    Congratulations!

    kanagu: Welcome here Sunny and thanks 🙂

    Its a season, as after college many freshers join in around same time. Recently i have been busy with all my juniors asking them for treats. 2yrs, 3yrs plenty for next 2 months.
    3 years means you are getting old in industry. when are looking to change 😀

    kanagu: Wow.. but don’t force them much dude.. 🙂
    and I am 2 years old in industry.. I got job while studying dude.. anyway by next year I am looking out for a change 🙂

  22. July 24, 2009 1:53 pm

    Congratulations! It must have been wonderful!

    kanagu: Thanks Smitha 🙂

    It reminded me that it has been 11 years since I got my first (and only) job 😦

    kanagu: Why are sad about that Smitha.. is it not good to be in one company???
    it creates a relationship between ourselves and the company 🙂

    You know, friends like these are the ones you can always count on!! Here’s to your wonderful friends!

    kanagu: True Smitha.. they are always ready to help me whenever I am in trouble.. grateful to them, I am

  23. August 9, 2009 10:50 am

    Felt nice to read this! Friends are always wonderful to have around. Good luck in all your endeavours!

    kanagu: Thanks Raj 🙂

Leave a Reply

