Skip to content

Dan Brown – Part I

August 30, 2009

I wanted to finish all the books written by Dan Brown and then want post my thoughts. But I think it will take time to finish all of them. Today only I have bought Angels and Demons and I am in no mood to read it now. So here goes my thoughts on Da Vinci Code (already the reviews I am giving on Harry Potter are sooperaho sooper late by any standards and this one is read by everybody, except Vimmuuu Β πŸ˜› Β πŸ˜› ) and a little review on β€˜Digital Fortress’.

Da Vinci Code:


One of the intelligently written fiction books which glued me till the end. It raises lot of questions and provides lot of history details which we can’t disagree at a moment. That Priory of Sion, Knight Templars, the interpretation of the paintings of the Leandro Da Vinci, the pagan religion and the situations prevailed just after the crucifixion of Jesus Christ are al explained so well, in which I wondered whether I am reading a novel or some history book. And the twist he has given about the identity of teacher is too good and also the other branch story of the Albino and Teabing’s servant is also really interesting.

And those all the cryptography stuffs with which Robert Langdon and Sophie Neveu toys along and also the police team led by Fache and Collet. Everybody has enough importance and I always waited for the part of Langdon, Sophie and Teabing unveiling the mystery while the story goes on about Bishop Aringarosa.

With everybody has read that, no recommendations.

Digital Fortress:

After reading Da Vinci Code I have took this. With high expectations I have opened as many of my friends said it’s interesting and really good.

Plot:

The NSA’s invincible code breaking machine TRANSLTR founds a code β€˜Digital Fortress’ which can’t be broken. Commander Strathmore calls the NSA’s top cryptographer Susan Fletcher to handle the situation along with him. Meanwhile, David Becker, boy friend of Fletcher was sent to Spain to find out the ring which contains the code to break this β€˜Digital Fortress’. A wire-rimmed glass wearied man chases him all along to find the ring. When all the puzzles are solved some shocking things comes to light but in a more positive way.

My views:

I shouldn’t have read it just after Da Vinci Code. It’s a way superior book than Digital Fortress and it seems to be guessed the things a little earlier every time which reduced the thrilling experience. There are many a places David Becker misses, misses and misses. It won’t happen any day in real life. And also the things happening inside the cryto comes under that category. If you don’t think much it will be a real nice read else you will get little bored of too many twists.

Rating: 2.5/5

PS: I have started reading ‘Kite Runner’ now. In between I have finished ‘First Part’ of a tamil novel ‘Pirivom Sandhipom’ by Mr.Sujatha. A very nice one.

Edited to Add:

IMPORTANT!!!!

Friends, As you all have known from OG and Vimmuuu’s post, somebody has created a mail id identical with mine and Vimmuuu’s name. And I could say that the only mail id I use to comunicate with you all anyday is this one: kanagarajpandian@gmail.com and the other one which is linked to my blog kanagu.pete@gmail.com. I won’t use that for any communication purpose and I am not checking it often. So please be sure that the mail is not from me, if it comes from any of the ids other than

kanagarajpandian@gmail.com.

Thank you!!! πŸ™‚

54 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 2:07 am

    Haven’t read these yet…
    Oh and I happened to post reviews on few books as well πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 9:56 am

      Read Da Vinci Code EC.. you will love it for sure.. πŸ™‚

      and I will read ur reviews soon πŸ™‚

  2. August 30, 2009 4:15 am

    2nd! πŸ™‚

  3. August 30, 2009 11:16 am

    nice reviews πŸ™‚ havent read Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress yet.

    • August 31, 2009 9:57 am

      If you like too many twists in a book, you can read it Reema…. else you can skip it πŸ™‚

  4. kaddhu permalink
    August 30, 2009 12:46 pm

    Kite Runner is awesome!! So is A Thousand Splendid Suns. I think you’ll find that Khaled Hosseini’s books are far superior to Dan Brown’s. But then, they are different genres, so I dont think they can be compared. Anyway, happy reading! πŸ™‚

    • August 31, 2009 9:58 am

      Just now finished 1st chapter… hopefully finish it by this week πŸ™‚

      yes they are different genre writers and they are good on their own πŸ™‚

      thanks Kaddhu πŸ™‚

  5. August 30, 2009 11:29 pm

    Have you read “Angels and Demons” … According to me , its the best of Dan Brown’s . Awesome Book . A must read .

    • August 31, 2009 9:59 am

      I have just now bought that book… I will read it soon πŸ™‚

      • September 1, 2009 12:47 pm

        do read it kanagu..
        even i feel that Angels and demons is THE best among all the 4

        • kanagu permalink*
          September 1, 2009 6:04 pm

          sure sure…. I will read it soon mystery πŸ™‚

  6. August 31, 2009 9:19 am

    Da Vinci Code is one book which I am yet to crack. I tried reading it 4 times but couldn’t last beyond pg 12. πŸ˜€ guess it is too slow & intelligent for me…

    Have Digital Fortress but wasn’t impressed enough to read more from Brown!!!

    Nice review πŸ˜€

    • August 31, 2009 10:01 am

      hmmm…. it will be slow at first Smita… it picks up pace from 50 or 60 page.. after that its not put down able… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ pls read it πŸ™‚

      and digital fortress… its very average…

      thanks Smita πŸ™‚

  7. August 31, 2009 10:56 am

    I liked Da Vinci Code and Angels & Demons.
    Digital Firtress – not so much.

    Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns – loved them! πŸ™‚

    Your review – I quite liked it and agree with it!

    • kanagu permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:15 pm

      Kite Runner is moving smoothly now…. just went through few chapters.. I am loving it Pixie πŸ™‚

      thanks Pixie πŸ™‚

  8. Swaram permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:34 am

    Ws waiting for ur review πŸ™‚ I hv to pick up Digital Fortress!

    Kite runner – I loved that book πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:22 pm

      Swaram, it looks like If I say its not so good, you are ready to pick up the book πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

      I have started to love the book ‘Kite Runner’… its moving nicely πŸ™‚

      • April 27, 2010 1:36 pm

        LOL Kanagu .. I hd heard some gud reviews and ws waiting for ur review too is what I meant πŸ˜›

        Between all the gud books that I hv been reading, I hv stil nt completed Digital Fortress though πŸ˜‰

        • April 27, 2010 10:37 pm

          LOL… πŸ˜† I know πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

          /*Between all the gud books that I hv been reading, I hv stil nt completed Digital Fortress though*/

          becos its not so good book πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  9. August 31, 2009 1:17 pm

    I read Da vinci code long back.Was waiting for ur review on the digital fortress,now i have second thought on that.

    btw i am not getting kite runner here,read thousand splendid suns by the same writer.Now reading The colour purple by Alice walker.

    • kanagu permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:25 pm

      In my opinion, its an average book sister πŸ™‚

      and you can order the kite runner thru online right??
      and how is thousand splendid suns… tell me your opinion on that.. I may pick it up next πŸ™‚

      and I have heard both the film and book ‘The color purple’ is really good πŸ™‚

      • August 31, 2009 7:10 pm

        I became very emotional after reading the thousand splendid suns,the author holds you for long even after finishing the book.Very wonderful narration do try to get that book.I heard about same thing about kite runner,i have to check if i can order online as i never did that before.From that came to know more about Afghanistan and the male domination there.And i think that is the best book i ever read.

        • kanagu permalink*
          September 1, 2009 5:58 pm

          oh oh…. then I will pick that up next for sure akka… πŸ˜€

          thanks for the views πŸ™‚

          I have read only 3 chapters in Kite runner.. its amazing..
          I am loving it… not like the techno stuffs..

          its different and brilliant.. πŸ™‚

          try to buy the book thru online.. I am sure it will be there πŸ™‚

  10. August 31, 2009 2:51 pm

    Nice reviews, Kanagu!

    I enjoyed both books, especially The Da Vinci Code. πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:25 pm

      thanka Manju πŸ™‚

      Da vinci code is really an exciting book πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 5:58 pm

      thanks manju πŸ™‚

      yes, its really good πŸ™‚

  11. smallstar permalink
    August 31, 2009 2:55 pm

    mmh

    I would want read ‘ the Da Vinci Code’…
    it seems so interesting!!!

    πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      August 31, 2009 3:27 pm

      Do read it friend… you will find it interesting for sure πŸ™‚

  12. smallstar permalink
    August 31, 2009 4:08 pm

    @kanagu:
    thanks for your advice friend!!

    πŸ™‚

  13. anishthomas permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:33 pm

    I read da vinchi code sometime back…was pretty good.But didn’t like angels and daemons….In between did you read chetan bhagat’s books.If not try it out…superb….will write review abt that in my space after sometime

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:02 pm

      yes Da Vinci Code is good… and I am going to read A & D for sure.. many were saying its good.. πŸ™‚

      and I have read 2 books of chetan bhagat and I liked it..

      one I have to read is ‘One night @ the call center’… and I will read it soon πŸ™‚

      • anishthomas permalink
        September 3, 2009 9:49 am

        Unless u have seen HELLO,go 4 it,the book is too good

  14. August 31, 2009 7:09 pm

    Digital Fortress: did not like much
    Da vi ci cole : OK
    Angels and Demons: BEST!

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:03 pm

      ha ha ha…

      I will read A & D soon πŸ™‚

  15. August 31, 2009 7:56 pm

    Thanks for the mention in the beginning !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Btw, wheres the review of Angels and Demons ??

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:04 pm

      once I read it, I will post bro πŸ™‚

  16. August 31, 2009 9:42 pm

    I’ve lost the impulse to read now-a-days; blame it on the net but writers like Dan Brown still interests me. Never read his books thought I’ve seen the movie.

    Howz Angels and Demons?

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:06 pm

      Welcome here Scorpiogenius πŸ™‚

      I am yet to read Angels and Demons.. will let you know once I finish it πŸ™‚

  17. September 1, 2009 2:13 am

    Hey nice review.. I like Angels & Demons more than Da Vinci.. dont miss that book.. it’s more suspenseful πŸ™‚ and even I dint like Digital Fortress much..

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:13 pm

      I will read it soon AK πŸ™‚

      and DF falls short in many places 😦

  18. September 1, 2009 9:43 am

    Though there are some technical flaws in both the books, they are worth reading. The amount of information, Dan Brown puts in both of his books is just amazing. Finished reading Digital Fortress overnight.
    But ending of Da Vinci Code is something, which didn’t convince me. Also the some of the portions like Langdon and Sophie escaping from the Airport etc are all too much πŸ™‚

    Similarly in Digital Fortress, I could solve the puzzle easily πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:16 pm

      Its amazing na… he researches a lot before writing about them… but still I didn’t liked DF much..

      it’s after reading about ur views and of another blogger I picked up that book πŸ™‚

      logic and Dan Brown books are way apart πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  19. September 1, 2009 11:06 am

    i had started reading Da vinci code (i had actually flicked the book from a friend!!)

    yet to complete it, i think i will have to start reading it afresh!! πŸ™‚

    • kanagu permalink*
      September 1, 2009 6:17 pm

      ha ha ha.. πŸ™‚

      thats happened to me also Sakhi.. I have finished 300 pages but didn’t read for 2 years,,, so I started reading from first πŸ™‚

  20. September 1, 2009 12:49 pm

    Kite runner! yet to read it.. i have heard that it is a good book..

  21. kanagu permalink*
    September 1, 2009 6:17 pm

    yes mystery… its good. pick it up soon πŸ™‚

  22. September 1, 2009 7:29 pm

    Da Vinci Code was a complete gripper from the beginning till the very end! I enjoyed it thoroughly, though some of the “facts” in it aren’t proven and may never be 😐

    I haven’t read any of the other Dan Brown books 😦

    • September 5, 2009 12:54 am

      yes.. whether its proven or not… we enjoyed the books… πŸ™‚

      that matters my friend.. after all its fiction πŸ™‚

  23. September 6, 2009 5:26 pm

    hey… u said all of Dan Brown’s books…
    i was waiting for reviews of ‘Angels & Demons’ plus ‘Deception Point’…
    but without a doubt, Da Vinci Code is his masterpiece.
    now waiting for the release of The Lost Symbol…

    • September 7, 2009 12:13 am

      Sorry Ash… 😦
      my reading speed is reduced now and also have some exams in my company..
      so have to read for it πŸ˜₯

      will do soon πŸ™‚ maybe in a month πŸ™‚
      me too waiting for lost symbol eagerly.. πŸ™‚

      Da Vinci Code is brilliant πŸ™‚

  24. April 27, 2010 1:38 pm

    sooperaho sooper… gud one πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

