Skip to content

Training Tales: Playing

September 3, 2009

If there is a particular period of time, when I played cricket continuously after the school days, its during the training. I can surely say for some 25% of the time, while I was awake, I have played. From cricket to table tennis we just played, played and played on. And the Bangalore climate is a big plus for us. It’s the perfect climate to play any kind of sport. If I say, I have made many friends while playing means; it won’t be a exaggerated statement. First one, I started to play is Basketball. But the point is, I don’t know ‘A’ of Basketball. My roommate Mr.BS had taught me how to shoot and all. And I am always a good learner at the starting stages. Few days went playing basketball.

Another group of friends started to play Volleyball nearby. By this time, we got introduced to few by our names. With manyplaying volleyball, my attention diverted towards that. It was a like a rivalry between 2 teams. Sometimes heated conversations were exchanged and also few were started to learn how to play. These are all happened in first 2 weeks only. After that we have got exams every now and then and all were decided that they won’t play while the exams are happening. But then there must be some way to get relaxed and playing is the best thing.

In a country where cricket is religion, how it will be nice if we don’t play cricket after playing all others. So some of them who went to their homes got the cricket bat and there started our evening cricket under lights. I will tell you, its bliss. We will march towards the court(For cricket, we combine both Basketball and Volleyball courts together) by evening 6:30 and play until 10:30. We will play cricket during Friday’s and the days we finish our exams. Thank god, we have enough exams to play regularly. Its just throw but we have enough space to play both sides. After finishing playing, we will go outside food shops to have our dinner. We will be super hungry and whatever comes first, we finish them in seconds 🙂

By one Friday, we had exams and I had slept very little due to exam(I failed in that is a different thing 🙂 ). So I thought, after the labs I must go to room and have a nice nap. But fate smiled in the name of cricket. When they said cricket, I thought lets play a game and then I can go to room. But I came straight from the lab and played till 10:30, had food outside and returned room by 12. After that had a lil chat and when I have checked the clock its morning 1:30. I am really, really tired and woke up by next afternoon 12:30.. phew… those days.. I love to have them back.

October 2, another important day in our cricket life. We all decided to go to the ground, which is just outside our campus, by that morning. I must say about that ground. It’s a real big one and had two grounds seprately where we can play. We played numerous times there and in the last few days of our training, when it was virtually completed, we visited and played daily. Coming to that particular day, I never ever woke up by 6 anyday in my training life but on that day I did and went to every other’s room to wake them up. By 7 we hit the ground and till 1:30 or 2 we played, played and played(Remember we didn’t had breakfast 🙂 ). After that we had heavy lunch together… there is a mess named ‘Pavithra Mess’ there, which provided unlimited meals. We just hunted down the food. On that day, match between India and Australia also went on, which we started to watch after reaching our rooms.

I have also played table tennis frequently there. Its the only game we can play anytime in the campus. There are days we went there by morning 3 to play for some 45 minutes or an hour. During Friday’s, if it is raining means this is the best option available for us. We play, then eat in the food court just above the leisure block(TT was there only) and then come again to play. It will go till 12 midnight and then the walk towards our rooms in the chill breeze of the night is always a thing to look forward. Even I have got chance to play tennis for a day and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

But the days are gone and I am not playing anything these days 😦 How much I wish the life will be like that. Work till eveing and playing after that.

PS: After reading this post, if you consider that I am good in playing the above mentioned sports, then God only can save you all 😛 😛 The reason I have played all them is, I love to play 🙂

40 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 2:49 pm

    er…Do we play ‘First’ here? Swaram? 😛

    kanagu: LOL Meira 😆

    • September 3, 2009 2:51 pm

      ha ha ha !! 🙂

      wtg meira !!!

    • September 3, 2009 2:55 pm

      Meira, let’s play hide-n-seek! 😉

      Lolll…
      Basketball, football, cricket, TT, never fascinated me…
      Used to play badminton

      kanagu: hide n seek is also a good game 😉
      a game everybody would have played 🙂

      and I love badminton also.. but we don’t have that facility there 😦

    • September 3, 2009 7:44 pm

      since Meira hasn’t claimed it – ME FIRST!! 😛 😛

      bhagoooooooooo

      • Meira permalink
        September 4, 2009 3:54 pm

        oyi Pixie…cheating 😛

    • September 3, 2009 11:27 pm

      Permission chahiye kya ahem 😛

      Guys, u ppl r really njoying that I cud nt login 2day na uff 😦

  2. September 3, 2009 2:51 pm

    I like playing too….Scrabble is a good game 🙂

  3. September 3, 2009 2:54 pm

    Amen 😛

  4. September 3, 2009 2:56 pm

    Yeah Scrabble, Monopoly, snakes and ladders, tic tac toe, x and zeroes 😛

    • September 3, 2009 7:44 pm

      oh yes! 😀
      me still plays Monopoly!! 😀 😀

      • September 3, 2009 11:31 pm

        Hee hee I still play snakes n ladders too n Brainvita also 🙂

        Dart game – wow 😛

        • September 5, 2009 11:41 am

          except snake and ladder, I don’t know anything… 😦
          a little intro about them pls 🙂 🙂

      • September 5, 2009 11:45 am

        I used to love monopoly,pixie now keep monopoly ready,when i meet u we will play monopoly and eat icecream

  5. September 3, 2009 2:56 pm

    Hey…

    I always call myself Jack of All Master of none…

    thats waht i am…

    kanagu: Me too the same…

    I can play lots of sports upto a certain decent level… but champ no where… !! 😀 😀

    and i dont mind that…

    kanagu: Same here Bhai… me too can play upto a certain level 🙂

    I have played… Cricket, volleyball, kho kho, snooker, kabaddi, tennis, table tennis, soccer, scrabble too i was an addict as meira spots…

    I still rue the fact i cant swim… i should have…

    kanagu: I tried to learn Swimming but couldn’t go continuously 😦 😦

    i have represented my school as captain in cricket..

    player in khokho teams, volley ball teams, sprints, and in relay races… !

    i should have pursued cricket… i was a stand by for gujarat under -19 but some politics and favouritism plus my patience ran out… and i moved on… !!!

    kanagu: Wow… you are a state player…. thats great bhai.. 🙂
    yes. politics here is too much 😡

    Sports has been an integral part of my life…

    kanagu: Mine also 🙂 🙂

  6. September 3, 2009 3:47 pm

    This post reminided me of my training i had in mumbai,there we used to have fun in the evenings,mostly it was indoor shuttle cock,tabel tennis and carroms,had a great time there.

    kanagu: Wow… superb akka… 🙂 just out of college and we will be carefree 🙂

  7. September 3, 2009 5:04 pm

    Well that’s the best reason to play 🙂

    To please yourself!!!

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    And yes as soon as you enter professional world life changes drastically…but am sure if you try you can still take out time to play (if you really love it), may be you won’t be spending that much time but something is better than nothing 🙂

    kanagu: True Smita… after seeing al your comments I am trying to find sometime to play now 😀 😀

  8. September 3, 2009 6:11 pm

    If you like sports, continue with it…I know people who work and play cricket/squash/tennis etc. …I’m sure you can too and you should…It’ll keep you relaxed…

    kanagu: Yes Bones… I am trying to find sometime now 🙂 🙂

  9. September 3, 2009 7:46 pm

    most s/w guys play TT !! :mrgreen:
    why is that?!!

    kanagu: Thats the one.. which is simple and also we won’t get tired that easily 😛 😛 😛

    me played in throwball team in highschool… and abit of carrom… that’s about it!
    used to watch the guys play basket ball at the university grounds though!

    good memories that! 😀 😉

    kanagu: he he he 😀 😀

    • September 3, 2009 10:50 pm

      I have wondered this myself.. 😀
      all software guys play TT! why???

      kanagu: reason given by Swaram 😀

      nice post 🙂 games are always fun. I ‘ve never been an outdoor games kinda person, so always prefer board games 🙂
      and of course UNO 😛

      kanagu: its fun 🙂 and whats that UNO 🙄

      • September 3, 2009 11:33 pm

        He he bcoz almost every company hs a TT table 😉 less space required na 😛 They can’t afford to hv other things nor can they let ppl go out to play during office hrs isliye 😛

        TT n Carrom I hv seen in almost all companies though our common workplace hs a lot more isn’t it Kanagu???

        kanagu: They have everything but no time to play 😛 😛 😛

        • September 4, 2009 12:23 pm

          hehe oh like that-aa

        • September 5, 2009 11:52 am

          Spot on Swaram.. 🙂 🙂

          less space and people won’t get tired soon 🙂 🙂

      • September 5, 2009 11:26 pm

        UNO is a card game Kanagu. Its fun, you should play it sometime 🙂

        kanagu: oh/… I will do play soon 🙂 thanks for the info Shruthi 🙂

  10. September 3, 2009 8:39 pm

    All work andno play makes Jack a dull boy…so keep playing!!!

    I’m pathetic at table tennis 😦

    kanagu: ha ha ha.. true Raj 🙂
    TT is easy Raj.. you can learn by playing daily 🙂

  11. September 3, 2009 9:03 pm

    This is a nice post, Kanagu. As you said, Bangalore is the correct place to play, day and night. Lots of playgrounds are there too.

    kanagu: Thank you.. thank you 🙂 🙂 we had a lot in workplace 🙂

    If you enjoy playing a game, continue with it, Kanagu, at least during the weekends. My son goes to a club (govt. one) which charges reasonably, plays badminton and snooker in the late evenings. Many people come there to play, it seems. It is a good exercise with enjoyment. Life will be boring if you don’t have any recreation. If you don’t do any sort of exercise, you will never know and you start putting on weight, sloooooowly. Play any kind of sports and enjoy, Kanagu.

    kanagu: True true… I am already putting on lot of weight 😦 😦 have to go…
    and govt club running this…. its great 😀 😀 have to check at my locality 🙂

  12. September 3, 2009 9:31 pm

    Playing is a good exercise. So if you enjoy that then continue, Kanagu. Pick one and go become an expert in it. 🙂

    kanagu: I have to continue Solilo and soon 🙂

  13. September 3, 2009 10:40 pm

    classic dude!!!!!

    I love playing all the above games you mentioned…… it also reminds me of my college. our college had an indoor stadium where we could play badminton, TT and basketball and it “officially” was open till 7:30 PM…..

    kanagu: Wow… 😀 😀 you had in your college… I never had them in college 😦

    what we used to do is bribe the caretaker with a “full bottle” and we took the keys from him…. and we used to spend all night there, playing and partying 😛 hehehe

    kanagu: Thats sweet memories 🙂 🙂 the days we ruled the world and cared about nobody….

  14. September 3, 2009 11:35 pm

    Carrom, TT, Volleyball and even Hockey- I hv tried my hands @ all of them 😉

    Carrom, TT n Badminton I still play; the others GoK if I even remember anything 😛

    kanagu: You have played a lot of games Swaram…. 🙂 🙂 hockey.. I liked to play that..
    but didn’t touched the bat yet 😦

  15. September 4, 2009 1:20 am

    From now on Oct 2, is going to be Kanagus cricket day. No more Gandhi jayanthi ! 😉

    kanagu: LOL 😆

    and except for cricket, I never played any of those !! I cant imagine a lilliput like me playing basketball !! 😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: You are a lilliput.. then what will you say about me.. 😛 😛
    I am really small 🙂

  16. September 4, 2009 10:32 am

    Ah.. I have played cricket (without bat, since we werent allowed to play cricket in school recess hours… we used our fists, and still managed to hit sixes 😉 ) and volley ball in school and then badminton and TT in college… regularly! How i miss that time!

    kanagu: aha… I played that way also.. in my home with my bro 🙂 🙂
    badminton and TT are superb games 🙂 🙂

  17. September 4, 2009 2:11 pm

    Kanagu nothing like a game to keep you fit. How good you are does not matter, you should enjoy it enough to keep playing.

    kanagu: True IHM.. it keeps us fit 🙂 and I have start play again 🙂

    I have played some badminton, attempted golf miserably, swimming equally miserably 🙂 And once won at rowing because the partner was really good at it, but I had fun, and it was good exercise 🙂 You should continue to play 🙂

    kanagu: You have played golf…. 😀 😀 I am yet to understand its rules 😦
    you won in rowing competiton.. YAY 😀 you have done wide variety of sports IHM 🙂

  18. September 4, 2009 9:31 pm

    ok! this was a sooper nice and cute kanagu! why cute??
    coz of this –

    By one Friday, we had exams and I had slept very little due to exam(I failed in that is a different thing

    😀

    kanagu: ha ha ha… failing is part of exams 😛 😛 😛

    u’ve played a good variety of games!!!!!

    i have only played badminton!!! in school sports day, i was always only in cheering!!! 😛

    kanagu: Wow… cool… you can play now also crafty… 🙂 🙂 it will be enjoyable 🙂

    once i had to be in the inter-class throwball competition… my serve did not even go over the net!!

    and basketball…. my height is a disgrace to be even thinking of playing basketball!!! 😥

    kanagu: don’t cry Crafty… I am also very avg. height only… maybe a little smaller..
    all it needs is perfect elevation to send the ball…. but I have played among with my friends only 🙂 🙂


    so kanagu!!! hats off!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    i will remember to wish u on Oct 2! 😀 it will be public holiday!!
    tee hee!

    kanagu: Thanks Crafty 🙂 🙂

    hope u keep playing kanagu!!!! 😀 and enjoy every game!!!

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: me too believe that crafty 🙂 🙂

    {{{{{{{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    😀 😀

  19. September 5, 2009 12:10 pm

    I think you need to be playing regularly… During our college, we were playing cricket regularly but after that stopped. After some four years, we went to a resort as a company trip and started to play volley ball. I could play the game, so I was taken in the team. There was one ball which came in front of me (in a certain distance), I dived and managed to take the ball, but it went out! But after I dived, I was not able to get up, my hips got a sprain!! So, it is better to keep in touch with outdoor games and do some exercising regularly! Some people like me learn it the hard way 😉

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Yes DI… I have to play regularly:) 🙂
    ha ha ha…. it happens as we don’t do warm ups before palying a game… I usually don’t dive.. I am really fat… 🙂 🙂

    r u playing now DI???

  20. September 5, 2009 3:40 pm

    aaha..intha bloga epdi ithana naala miss panen!!! nice writeup..apdiye intha goli killi pathilamum pata nallrukum

    kanagu: Atha neenga than sollanum anna 🙂
    killi goli ellam naan velayadala.. but ezhu kal velayadi irukken.. atha pathi post podanum 🙂

  21. September 6, 2009 1:12 pm

    Me too.
    How I miss doubles &caries &no-balls &long balls &all of that.
    Hide &go seek too.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  22. September 6, 2009 10:42 pm

    “I don’t know ‘A’ of Basketball” Why A? why not B of basketball? 🙂 I think u should join some club or something and keep playing. It helps to deal with stress and to keep the body fit.

    kanagu: LOL 😆
    yes I must do Reema and soon too 🙂

Leave a Reply

