Skip to content

Then a fan and now

September 14, 2009

This week one of my friend asked which mobile he can buy in the range of 13 to 15K. Even though I am a mobile freak once I am able to say any suggestions to him. Lets rewind back a 6 years before.

I am one of a crazy mobile lover once upon a time. It always fascinated me and I still now consider this as a major invention which changed the lives of many. People connected from everywhere, businesses improved, distances extinct and what more… boon of lovers. Forgot to say… sparrows has been thrown away.. but still it’s one of the wonderful invention.

Nokia 3310:

The first mobile I have seen was my cousin’s and I always interested in playing games than asking the mobile model or how to operate it which was way back by 2000 at that time mobile is too costly and call rates are costlier than that. So at that point of time I had no love for that. The next mobile I have seen was Nokia 3310 in college, which was used by my senior; literally we can call it as brick. That’s how it looked and nothing would happen even it falls down any no. of times. It weighed so heavy and also had very less storage for messages. I think only 14 messages it can have at a time and also its ringtone is so loud. I didn’t like that phone much. But my senior always praise that mobile much even though he changed to others later.

Nokia 1100:

The next mobile which I have seen was the one which revolutionized the whole India, the small and compact, Nokia 1100. It was priced Rs.4500 then. One of my seniors got that at that time, maybe by later part of 2003, I guess. It has a vast storage for messages and ringtones which was a huge hit in Chennai. It’s easy to use features still makes one to search for this mobile. At this point only mobile rates started to reduce and charge for incoming calls were completely taken off. So the no. of mobile buyers started to increase and their first choice was Nokia 1100. I have thought that when I buy a first mobile it must be 1100.

FMs and Colour Mobiles:

Then many a models came but none was attractive as Nokia. They have released colour mobiles and also FM ones and everything was success. Of the colour mobiles I liked Nokia 3120 which one of my friends used for almost 3 years. It’s compact and looked great. It also had a good amount of space for messages and ringtones. And I also had that Bounce game which I liked.

The next advanced feature is the FM. The senior who first had the 3310 has bought this one(forgot the model name L ) and there will be a huge fight between us for whom can hear with it as we have to travel for about 5 hours a day(up and down). At that there are only 2 private FM channels and me and Mr.SN will be fighting to get the channels properly. We both will be having each bud to one of our ears.

Then came the high end mobile Nokia 6600. I am really excited to watch a video in mobile and it was a huge hit. But somehow I felt that its another brick in the mould of Nokia 3310 and also didn’t liked it much. And the one which caught the imagination was the high end models of sony ericsson. I can’t remember the model name correctly but it is the one which came with no memory card support.. only 40MB internal memory. I am amazed by the clarity in sound but then its joystick also one of the drawbacks.

Sony Ericssonand My choices:

From this point, I loved only the sony ericsson mobiles only and my friends also loved that only. Sony’s K750 is a huge hit and I made it a point to buy it(but I bought W810i only). Then came the walkman series again the emphasis on sound which I loved. The camera was better and everything looked good in sony. And I always waited eagerly for the release next mobiles and also dreamt about what are the features it may have.

After seeing all this, the first mobile I have bought was Sony ericsson J230i, which is the only low end mobile available at that time in Sony. Its FM clarity is on par with other high end sony ericsson mobile and that is the only mobile which has given stereo effect for that price. At first, I hated the W810i model as I didn’t liked the combination of black and orange. But as the days went I am attracted towards it. And that is the second mobile I have bought which I am using till now.

And now:

Now a days I am not finding any models amusing and they have become run-of-the-mill. No new features, designs and nothing. The differences now are big screens and some graphic changes. Nokia has considerably improved their high end mobiles with their Music Xpress series rocked. But they too were stagnating again. Only mobile which I am finding  amusing is Apple iPhone which is not at an affordable price. But I am decided that if at all there is a change in mobile, I will buy that one.

35 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 6:23 am

    iPhone is cool – my next mobile will be that…

    I first saw a mobile in 1996 in New York – my father had a NYNEX Motorola (he was posted there) and it was like a concrete brick…The battery had to be taken off the phone and charged…Things have changed since the…I got my first mobile in 1998 (Motorola) and that too was heavy (although not as heavy or big as the NYNEX one)…I think the batteries were different…

    I like mobiles but I never got into the ringtone craze…

    kanagu: I have heard about charging the batteries by removing it… phew.. if thats teh case I would have never bought a mobile… 🙂
    I love those ringtones.. hear them over and over 🙂

  2. September 14, 2009 6:23 am

    Oh, I forgot to write – I’m first!

    kanagu: Yes bones 🙂

  3. September 14, 2009 8:27 am

    lolz!!

    Me second!! :mrgreen:

    kanagu: Yes, you are Pixie 🙂

    Me have standard mobile phone – basic model – Nokia! 😀

    next will be an iPhone or HTC or Blackberry!! 😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: Cool 🙂 🙂

  4. September 14, 2009 10:59 am

    First of all i’m not a mobile freak :)I always prefer nokia to Sony coz of ease of operation and battery reliability.My dad recently brought a nokia xpress music,Set rocks

    kanagu: hmmm… its typical that many like Nokia…. due to its durability and longevity of battery…but I always prefer Sony and music Xpress is a good one 🙂 I liked it 🙂

    • September 14, 2009 3:18 pm

      I was a Nokia fan till I bought a Nokia 6110 Navigator – the battery started giving me problems from the 2nd. day onwards and even though it was under warranty, the company refused to check or replace the battery…Now I have an E71 which is working fine (thank god!)…

      kanagu: Why they didn’t replaced it Bones… we have nothing to do with the battery problem, right?? did you asked them?? E71.. its a qwerty keypad one right???

  5. September 14, 2009 11:33 am

    My first mobile was a Motorola. My husband’s was a panasonic. It is heavy and is still at home, though he doesn’t use it now. Now all of us have got Nokia and happy with that.

    So, you have opened the world of cell phones here!

    kanagu: Hmm…. Panasonic is an interesting choice 🙂 All are Nokia…. 🙂 typical… 🙂

  6. September 14, 2009 11:50 am

    Frankly Kanagu when it comes to mobiles I am just not crazy. I have a Blackberry and I am fine as long as it works. 😀

    I have all my old mobiles with me.

    kanagu: Not many were crazy on them Solilo… I am interested in them… 🙂
    I didn’t worked on blackberry and also didn’t had a thought of buying it…

    Me too have my old mobile with me 🙂

    • September 14, 2009 5:48 pm

      A blackberry ?:P
      and you’re not crazy about phones? :P:P

      • September 15, 2009 5:34 pm

        Me and Sol’s think alike…

        I had an N-80 but I exchanged it for a simple lighter phone… I hate using the phone… frankly !!

      • September 19, 2009 4:28 pm

        LOL Meira 😆

        @Dhiren bhai,

        Hating phone… me too do that.. but can’t live without it… 😀

  7. September 14, 2009 12:05 pm

    I am too very crazy abt mobile phones! So crazy that though all I use is call feature and sometimes the SMS one 😛 I buy a phone having too many features 😉

    kanagu: he he he 😀 whats the reason swaram???

    I hope this craze ends soon 😉 One of my phones stopped working when it played in the Chennai beach along with me and I ws screaming that I get to buy another one 😛
    That ws the heights of my craze!

    kanagu: OMG!!!! at no time my mobile plays along with me 😛 😛

    I even spent so much on my V600 bk then! It ws arnd some 20K n since my uncle worked for Motorola, got it for 10ish on some employee offer! Wonder y I buy all the phones so over-priced 😦 but I really can’t help when I actually go to the shop n start staring @ them 😦 Gotta buy a simple one next time err I hope to stick on to the present one for long 😛

    kanagu: One of my friend is also like this Swaram… he will say he was going to buy a mobile @ 3000 range and will get a 6000 one.. another time went to buy some mobile in 10K range.. got a 16K range… 😛 😛

  8. September 14, 2009 5:47 pm

    I phone, me too,the day I can afford it 😀

    kanagu: 🙂

    But even I have used both Nokia( my current’s 6233) n Sony Eric ( z 550i) and my criteria for a phone is FM, good camera and thats it 😀

    kanagu: Oh!!! you don’t need a Songs player ah???

  9. vinnie permalink
    September 14, 2009 7:18 pm

    hey Kanagu!!

    i had a Sony Ericsson W810i….its the BEST !!

    kanagu: Cheers Vinnie… me too have that… one of the best 🙂

  10. September 14, 2009 7:29 pm

    Nice nostalgic post 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Smita 🙂

    Nokia 3310 was my first mobile and since then I have been a Nokia Loyalist. The only Time I have used LG was when I was with CDMA.

    Now I can not think beyond Nokia 🙂

    kanagu: Another Nokia loyalist.. typical 🙂

    Hope you get the I phone soon 🙂

    kanagu: Thank you 🙂

  11. September 14, 2009 8:22 pm

    I like Nokia N97… I never used mobiles for anything except as a place to store some contact information and some messages, and rarely if I don’t have a camera, then to use as a camera. After reading from bloggers how easily they comment from and read blogs from their mobiles, I thought maybe it’s not such a bad idea… just for email, blogs, and facebook, and as a phone, this one seems good. Or Black Berry… still unsure and… My sister I Phone is better!

    kanagu: I am yet to see the Nokia N97 IHM… me too use my mobile to comment when I am out and can check the mails.. 🙂
    I phone is cool 🙂

  12. September 14, 2009 9:33 pm

    not so much interested in mobiles..
    Even though there are many features in the mobiles all i do is talk,talk and talk so any phone is ok for me 🙂

    kanagu: YEah.. then any phone is ok for you 😛 😛 LOL

  13. September 14, 2009 9:43 pm

    different post 🙂
    I have always considered cellphone as a necessity. have never liked those fancy ones. But am a big fan of sony ericsson. W810i is one of the best ones i think. love those kutti speakers you get with it 😀

    kanagu: W810i is one of the best Shruti 🙂 and I never use those Kutti speakers but still have it 🙂

    I have been using w700i since 4 years 🙂 don’t wanna change, though my family thinks its about time; poor thing is plastered and one can hardly see its keypad 😛

    kanagu: 4 years is a pretty long time…. if its working fine then OK… but plastered.. take care 🙂

  14. September 15, 2009 12:23 am

    Im another S.E. fan like you !!! I cant imagine having any of those sturdy phones, I always prefer my flimsy S.E phone that gives me amazing sound quality !

    kanagu: True bro.. they are amazing 🙂 me too love it 🙂

  15. September 15, 2009 1:11 am

    Nokia 3310 was my first mobile though I cannot use it. My younger bro took it even before i opened the seal and rest is history. I then bought another NOkia, forgot the model which came in a very fance pink-lavender-white color but i bought black and grey one…Guess it was 1st FM based model!

    kanagu: he he he!!!! you should have used it.. its a good one… strong as brick LOL….
    Wow.. you bought a first FM model.. nice 🙂


    Ideal phone could be blackberry! Hope to buy it soon…Iphone is a disaster in India.

    kanagu: I don’t llike blackberry.. I love iPhone 🙂 why its a disaster??? I think its due to high pricing 🙂

  16. September 15, 2009 5:08 am

    Iphone Rocks!!! Iphone Rocks!!! Iphone Rocks!!! it’s tooooooooo good.. hehe.. I am a mobile freak too.. Have tried all and nokia is the second best (to apple 😛 ) My first phone was 3315. It was also like a brick.. Hated it.. but then now phones are sooo cool right?

    kanagu: true Iphone is cool and so as the others AK 🙂

  17. September 15, 2009 10:38 am

    ROFL dude………

    I just have had a single phone in my life for the past 4 years…………….

    kanagu: Aha…. 4 years is a long time machi…. how is the mobile now???

    bought the cheapest samsung phone for 1900 rs with my first salary and I still have the same thing………… 😛

    the only things that I can use it for is: making calls, sending messages and using it as paper weight……………. 😛

    kanagu: cool machi… but I love to hear music.. so bought the Sony one… 🙂

    • September 15, 2009 4:06 pm

      the only things that I can use it for is: making calls, sending messages and using it as paper weight

      ditto EOG! and mine is Sony Erricson W550i – it’s a perfect paper weight 😛

      it also doubles up as a weapon… one throw at someones head and KAPOW!!!! he’ll be unconscious for a fortnight…

      😀

      kanagu: Thats W550i… its a perfect weapon… 😛 😛
      *its time keeps up some distance while talking with crafty else I must have brilliant reflexes* 😛 😛

  18. September 15, 2009 10:50 am

    i have used all the mobiles in that posts and very interesting posts…….. i have added you in my blog roll and can u please give me a link back too……

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  19. September 15, 2009 4:19 pm

    that first noka phone, i totally agree with u kanagu! that was BF’s first phone, and he’s still kept it as back up. it works fine!! 😀
    i have dropped it so many times and looked pertified!!! and he just laughs and puts it back together and it works fine! PHEW!!!!!
    😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: Its a legendary phone Crafty… will work for any number of years… 🙂 no drops can affect it 😛 😛

    am not a phone freak at all! i took hand-me-down phones from dad. got my first when i was in TY of grad!! i was the last kid left around to get a cell! 😛

    kanagu: Me too among last ones got a mobile from my years.. got it by my last sem 🙂

    that was a motorola, i’ve forgotten the make… it was white-silver ovalish, i liked it. dad gave it coz the keypad was toooo tiny for him! 😛 but the battery wasn’t long lasting enuff to endure the looooooooooooong converstions with bf :mrgreen:

    kanagu: Motorola.. complex phone.. 😛 😛 LOL @ not able to endure loooooooooooooooooong conversations 😆

    then i took dad’s nokia 3130 when he shifted to Nokia Communicator. used that for quite some time.

    then one day in office my friend gets her new cell – amd i fell in love!!!!!!!!!Walkman series W550i

    kanagu: Its the first walkman phone… me too loved it but no extendable memory in that 😦 😦

    when it was time to change, (coz i lost the nokia), dad tried to persuade me with many other new options!!!! but my mind was set!!! it was even pulled out of market, i was buying it well after one year of its launch! 😛 😛 outdated!!!

    kanagu: Me too bought W810i after its out of production for about 9 months.. searched for it and got that 😛 😛

    but crafty was hopelessly in love with a gadget for the first time!! 😆
    for the music…. music output is the ONLY reason i bought that phone..

    my friends tease me coz its so bulky, they call in paper weight!

    kanagu: Its too heavy and that basket kinda look.. he he he 😀 😀

    but for last few yrs, i have unfailingly woken up, half sleepy, felt around the pillow for my phone, played a kishore kumar song, and only then got up from bed after listening to him !!!!!

    😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: 😀 😀 😀

    so u in love with Apple iPod? nice!! my wishes!!! hope u get it soon enough kanagu!!! ((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))

    kanagu: I am in love with iPhone… 🙂 thankoo thankoo 🙂
    {{{{{{HUGS}}}}}}}}}

  20. September 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    BTW!!!

    is it a co-incidence???

    u met up with Vimmuuu and the very next post is very like vimmuuu’s post on all his cell phones!!!

    😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: We have talked about this uin the meet.. so made the post crafty 😀 😀

    that means shud we expect a Furious dance numbers post from vimmuuu????
    ( i know he will never do book review like u, coz he first has to read a book for that 😈 )

    kanagu: FAst dance numbers.. he will do for sure… 🙂
    Crafty… he also read books long ago.. these days he was not doing it 😦 😦

  21. September 15, 2009 9:06 pm

    My first phone was a small and light (at that time, that is) Motorola but I forgot the model number. It didn’t have too many features, not even predictive input for SMS. It was a real pain to type an SMS that was more than one line, especially considering the fact that making calls and sending messages were about the only things one could do with that phone. I had it for more than two years 😐

    kanagu: 2 years with a phone.. in which you can’t type SMS… hmmm… real pain 😐

    I’ve seen an ancient Ericsson (just Ericsson, not SE) which could well have been the size of a brick (with a protruding antenna) and weighing almost as much! 😯 But one could make and receive calls perfectly well with that bronze age phone 😆

    kanagu: LOL @ the bronze age phone 😆

    Nokia will always remain my favourite 🙂 unless they do something stupid and lose the plot completely.

    kanagu: Nokia is user friendly but I didn’t liked them much 😦

  22. September 15, 2009 9:46 pm

    I have used Nokia and SE but nothing beats nokia’s voice clarity. I own a Nokia 6303 now.

    kanagu: Hmmmm…. my vote is for SE… to me music and camera are important 🙂

  23. September 18, 2009 12:50 am

    iphone cool,do buy it

    kanagu: I have to, akka 🙂

    I am brand loyal to nokia,till now changed quite a few mobiles but always brought nokia,i feel they are user friendly.I had 6300 few years back and now i am using 6600,its almost 2 years now.Only thing i want in my mobile is camera with high megapixel and for storing my fav songs.

    kanagu: Nokia is user friendly… now using 6600 😯 its like a brick…. it has VGA camera right?? but somehow… I didn’t liked it.. another reason I don’t like Nokia is they are prone to viruses 😦

    I don’t use much of mobile phone as i never have balance in my mobile,the day i charge it i call home and my balance gets over

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    Today hubby brought sony G700,it is charging now, have to explore it.

    kanagu: G700.. just now seen it in Google… interesting one 🙂 🙂 let me know how it is.. and how much it costs 🙂 🙂

  24. September 18, 2009 4:19 pm

    Nokia 3315 is the best phone made till now, and will always be the best phone ever made.

    kanagu: True DI./… its too good 🙂

    There is another interesting Nokia phone that I liked – Nokia NGage. My, what a phone it was for gaming. It looks like a video game and even plays soccer (just like how you play in PC, but much more comfortable). Then there was a car race game called Asphalt – Amazing car race and graphics, that one. The interesting thing is, this phone was made for gaming. I was quite upset when it broke, and was more upset when the model was not replaced with an equivalent one. I use HTC P3400i now, big touch screen and comfortable for internet browsing and just 10k!

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Ngage.. just now hearing about that… interesting one DI just for games 🙂 🙂
    I have also heard about HTC… but somehow I am not liking it 😦 😦

  25. September 20, 2009 2:31 pm

    hmm…
    altho nokia has been the popular brand per se… i have never used it. my first two phones were LG (since my first connection was reliance, i had to be dependent on those phones… reliance post paid wud work on certain phones only at that time)…

    kanagu: Yeah…. Nokia is the one which is still popular in India…
    Reliance.. yeah… but those LG phones were not that good..
    have you liked it Ash???

    and now my phone is Motorola E6…

    kanagu: How is that??? I never heard about it…

    sony ericsson is good. plus samsung. i’ve heard some nightmares abt nokia servicing centres tho. anything that u’ve faced??

    kanagu: Oh.. many say Nokia servicing is good and thats why many were going there… but don’t know whether its right…

  26. September 24, 2009 9:24 pm

    I love the look of Sony Ericsson, they are quite stylish and the sound system of walkman series is amazing. Nokia is popular but i had a nightmare when i had to make rounds of Nokia service centre. Even after several trips to the centre, my nokia phone never woke up.

  27. September 26, 2009 10:15 pm

    Most of those phones will feature in my chain too …. I started with Nokia 3310 … then to Nokia 1100 … then to the famous one …. Nokia 6600 …. used it for over a year … then used Nokia 2626 for few days ( I hate this phone … x-( ) …. nad now I am using Nokia 5130 … lovely phone …

    P.S. A Nokia lover all the way !!! 😛

Trackbacks

  1. Mobile Hunt and Meet with DI « Straight Drive

Leave a Reply

