Skip to content

That day shouldn’t have ended

September 23, 2009

College life is fun and fun includes mass bunking of classes. We never have done that. I am a sure believer of attending classes regularly won’t make you any good. All those studies going to happen by study holidays and what the hell I am doing inside college where there is lot to explore outside. But still I couldn’t bunk classes whenever I want due to the little money I had at that time and also due to the college’s stupid policy of sending attendance report over to my home every 45 days. Sheesh… With my dad know they are sending the letter to home getting the letter by myself and hiding it is no good, as my dad won’t mind to come over to college. So its better to face in home for attendance rather than other list of things from the LECTURERS.

Its better to face known devil(attendance) than unknown ghost(lot of other complaints) 😛 😛

But a college life without mass bunking will leave a black mark in a college career. So we have thought about in 7th Semester. And its decided to do that on 20th September. And place decided to go was Mahabalipuram. I will tell you, its one of the best hangouts for a group outing. That too while in college, it’s the best.

Many were ready to come and we are sure that atleast 25 will come. Again the plan was perfect. The plan is too good that some started to say ‘If he don’t come, he is this/that’. But Villain of the plan came in the form of HOD. As we are in last year many started to take lot of leaves. And he came to class by Monday and said “ithuku apram evanavathu leave eduthu paarunga.. apram irukku..” (If anyone of you takes leave anymore, that’s it). If he is there means, its like, in Hitchu’s words 4 fielders surrounding Ponting(student) while Bhajji/Kumble bowling and 60,000 spectators seeing that.

He is one of the strict lecturers and many have lot of fear for him. And is that statement is not enough for them to back away?? Boy, even the ones who talked ‘they are this and that’ didn’t turn up. We planned it for Tuesday and HOD made that deadly(Silly) statement 😛 😛 by Monday. Anyway we decided to move ahead.

When you try to move ahead obstacles may come.. you must kick it or atleast jump over it 😛 😛

20th September, 2006:

Morning, 6:15:

We already decided to start from Koyembedu and another group decided to start from Tambaram. I got into the college bus as usual and got down inbetween(Beach station). And I went to catch a bus to Koyembedu from the bus depot and I spotted one. OH NO!!! its moving…. I am running behind it. Its moving, moving and moving and I am still running behind. After some 2 stops I caught that bus by signal in Central railway station. I never chased a bus for that distance anyday. But that day is to stamp our mark perfectly 😀 😀

7:30:

Only 4 were there… me, Mr.NF, Mr.GN and Mr.SK. I am asking he? He? He???? The only answer is no. We were really furious as the ones who sounded also didn’t turned up. They went to college. There are some intelligent souls… didn’t turned up for both the bunking and class. Safety 😛 😛 buhahahahahah After scolding all of them enough, we started to move ahead.

8:15:

We got the bus to Mahabalipuram and we just enjoyed that travel. Fresh air… and travelling in the ECR itself is an experience.. I will tell you… (When anyone of you come to Chennai and stay for more than a week… never miss that) We had some little chats over that and also heard songs from only one mobile we had at that time. We also made sure that other group from Tambaram started.

10:30:

 We have reached Mahabalipuram and by 11, the other ones from Tambaram reached. They are 4 in number…. Mr.VK, Mr.VN, Mr.YJ and Mr.PR turned up. Another Mr.PR turned up from Chengalpet. We are still fumed about many not came to this.

11:30:

Got the plan. Must move to the ‘Savukku thoopu’ to have beer. Anyways out of 10, as many as 5 won’t drink alcohol… so we started to play with the volleyball in whatever way we want… first in that thoopu and then in the beach sand. Its sheer joy… with we are the only ones there… its like we are the kings there. Some started to take bath in Sea. But me having Seaophobia…..so not even went near that except to make my legs wet.

1:30:

Time for refreshment… after a tiring schedule 😛 😛 went to the nearby hotel and ate a OK kinda food in that wonderful day. But still a good lunch in banana leaf.. lol!!!!

2:30:

After food its time to take a lil nap.. that’s the typical Indian will do… and we have done that on the rocks… lying around lazily..

3:00

I had the plan of leaving by 3 so that I can reach home by the usual time of 7 so that I can’t be suspected by my mom… as usual my friends had other plans… and said ‘When are we going to come again like this?’ (So true.. we went again there after some months.. but this one trip is unique).

They also suggested moving around. Its time to refresh us with having some Buttermilk and raw mango 🙂 🙂 . We all started to move here and there pointlessly and then reached the light house. It’s a very nice sight and after we got separated.

Me and Mr.SK:

Me and Mr.SK started to move around alone and I have a great fear for walking or climbing the rocks, so I always move slowly. He was such a friend who waited till I climb down and comforted wherever I feared. There are few times we have reached some dead ends and to get out of that we have to jump over the walls… Its such a fun and even today when I think about that day I will call him. But after coming to 8th sem he changed drastically and his antics started to evoke laughter. He is most discussed person whenever we friends talk among us. That itself deserve a post and I will do later.

5:00:

 After jumping here and there and also after having some masala amla and some peanuts we reached the starting point. Everybody was ready too and we went to catch the bus. The bus started by 5:15 and there was huge traffic in the OMR(Old mahabalipuram Road). So we have reached Adyar only by 7:30. Again that bus travel also fun with us enjoying every moment.

7:30:

Mr.VN treated us(Me, Mr.VK and Mr.YJ with juice in Adyar.. And I will tell you, its one of the best juices I have ever had in life. Its so good.

8:00:

 I have started to my home from Adyar and reached my home by 9:15 or 9:30, I guess… phew… one of the satisfying days… enjoyed a lot…

********************************************************************

I still regret about not having camera on that particular day(only few times I regret for that)… but still the memories of that day are still fresh in my mind and have a great respect for my friends who made it so wonderful and unforgettable.

In that morning, Mr. VN called Mr. SK’s mobile which is in his home.

Mr.VN called him and without waiting for the response asked,

Mr. VN: Dei, vasantha vihar(a restaurant in Tambaram) vandhutiya?? (Have you reached Vasantha Vihar??)

Mr. SK’s sister: Anna, college poi irukaanga (My brother went to college)

 Mr. VN: 😯 😯

But as a good sister she suspected said the same to her mom. Is this not enough for Mr.SK to get questioned… and he confessed. 😀 😀

That day shouldn’t have ended.. or atleast it should have some more hours than the other normal days…

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 7:06 am

    I’m glad that u had fun! Those days cannot be repeated…

    kanagu: True Bones… those were the days……..

  2. September 24, 2009 8:26 am

    2nd!! 😀 😀

    kanagu: You are 😀

    looong post!!!!
    Will come back and read in leisure!!

    kanagu: You didn’t came back yet madam… come soon 🙂

    You seem to be inspired by Swaram!!!!! :mrgreen:

    kanagu: 😀 Swaram will be proud now 🙂

  3. September 24, 2009 9:39 am

    Tambi this is the 2nd post which i have to come back and comment,

    surely will come back to comment

    kanagu: Sure.. sure akka 🙂

  4. September 24, 2009 11:16 am

    Hmmm..I envy you people! I was always a serious person. Only now, I am relaxing a bit, Kanagu! All the best!

    kanagu: Ah… me too a very serious person until my 10th Std.after that lot of changes.. all for good 🙂

    • September 24, 2009 11:44 am

      I am opposite sandhya i feel i have became more serious now after marriage and kids

  5. September 24, 2009 11:17 am

    So much fun tambi.Even we did mass bunking to watch premadesham movie,out of 40 students 35 bunked the classes.

    kanagu: Wow… thats gr8… that never happened in my class.. many will be sitting in class 😦

    After some 2 stops I caught that bus by signal — oh god u ran so much,if i was in ur place i would have never ran that much.

    kanagu: I am really excited.. so chased it down 🙂

    Nothing like eating food on a banana leaf no,the days have changed now,hardly i see food serving on the banana leaf.

    kanagu: True 😦 there is no plates also these days,… only paper plates….

    Why seaophobia?? u should have got used to beaches no living in chennai.I love sea and enjoy a lot in the beaches.

    kanagu: ME too love seeing it… but bathing.. I fear 😳

    You told your mom that u didnt go to college??

    kanagu: No no…. mom and dad don’t know about any of these things.. she will give a lot of advices then 🙂

    I thought of asking u to share the snaps

    kanagu: 😦 😦 😦

    Lol at Dei, vasantha vihar vandhutiya??

    kanagu: Thats a rollicking one 🙂

  6. jimmynorth permalink
    September 24, 2009 12:54 pm

    it is great that you had fun! really great! i also liked adventures very much when was at college. lol! but now i am more serious. sometimes i miss those times and want to return there. College years should not be forgotten. Moreover, it is impossible to forget them. lol!

    kanagu: Welcome here Jimmy!!!!
    yes… college life is best… nothing matches it.. all sweet memories 🙂

  7. masood permalink
    September 24, 2009 1:05 pm

    Long post.

    Man, mass-bunkings was the order of the day!!! we used to call in common-offs in our college.

    kanagu: Cool.. I had very few chances… 😦

    If the professor was late by a minute, within seconds, the entire class of almost 55 students use to vanish in thin air. Every semester, we had atleast 5-6 common offs. Usually went for movies or to hang around at a near by cafeteria or near the girls hostel!

    kanagu: Wow.. bliss… thats the life…. I still regret the fact of not joined in hostel 😦

    Some days those were. College life without bunking is surely a black spot. Agree 100%

    kanagu: 😀 😀

  8. September 24, 2009 2:40 pm

    Nostalgia nostalgia!! 😀 😀

    Loved Mr. VN’s reaction!! 😀 😀

    kanagu: ha ha ha… 😀

  9. September 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    Good lord! what fun!
    We’ve bunked a lot during college days. Being in a hostel does help 😀 No monthly letters home :))

    kanagu: Don’t make me feel bad yaar… due to that stupid letter I missed lot of fun 😦 😦

  10. September 24, 2009 5:29 pm

    Me too present! Wil b bk to read 😛

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  11. September 24, 2009 8:28 pm

    lol!!! Those days!!!

    BTW we mass bunked only once!!! We were goody to shoes students u see 😛

    kanagu: Only once,… 😦 😦
    goody students.. am I reading it correctly??? 😛 😛

  12. September 24, 2009 10:22 pm

    rofl 😆 those were the days no! There ws one Gandhi in our class! There hv been many days when the entire class used to bunk but for this fella 😛 Our aim in life then ws to get him to bunk classes n it finally happened in the 7th sem … long wait 😉

    kanagu: Wow… you made him to bunk also…. gr8… 😀 we could never do taht to many in our class 🙂

    So many of ur posts bring abt a nostalgic effect Kanagu! Luv them 🙂

    kanagu: Thankoo… lets hope I won’t run out of stock 😛 😛

    Waiting to read the post on Mr. SK nw 😛

    kanagu: Will write soon 🙂

    ROFL 😀 @ Dei, vasantha vihar vandhutiya??

    kanagu: 😀 😀

  13. September 24, 2009 11:22 pm

    I so agree, Kanagu. School and College days are the best. I actually prefer my School days to college ones. Though I had more fun at college still didn’t enjoy hostel life. I LOVED and still miss the school days and coming back to parents.

    kanagu: Anyday I will pick college life Solilo… learned a lot… enjoyed a lot.. 😀
    me too didn’t enjoyed hostel life 😦

  14. September 24, 2009 11:23 pm

    My friend and I were caught bunking once in college and my reply was ‘there is not enough space in the class.’ So next day our Professor got two extra chairs for us just to tease us. Ha…ha..ha..

    kanagu: LOL!!! kya Don??
    bunking and getting caught.. tense moments.. but a sure laughter after sometime 😀 😀

  15. September 24, 2009 11:25 pm

    I have eaten at Vasantha Vihar, Tambaram. 🙂

    MCC area and Tambaram…aah! miss it.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂 🙂
    did you studied in MCC??

  16. September 25, 2009 12:09 am

    Kanagu…mavaney !! indha maadiri nostalgia posts ezhudinennu vechikko !!! Sooper da ! Reminded me of all those college days when we went to all other places on earth except college ! sigh !!! Some life that will never return !!! 😦 😦 😦

    kanagu: Thats what the college means na… all fun.. 😀 😀
    thanks bro…. 🙂

  17. September 25, 2009 3:08 am

    hahaha.. too funny.. reminds me of my college days when we bunked and went to watch a movie.. then got bashed at home from mom and uncle for lying.. that was the last time I ever lied at home in my entire life 🙂 learnt a lesson.. looks like you had fun.. lol @ Mr.SK’s incident.. will wait for your post on Mr.SK

    kanagu: ha ha ha… I was never caught.. ‘Endha oru vishayathayum plan panni pannanum… illaina ipdi than’
    (Anything you do, you must plan… else it will go like that) 😀 😀
    a funny dialogue from tamil movie 🙂 🙂
    will write soon 🙂

  18. September 25, 2009 6:31 am

    hey Kanagu, I have an award for you at my site 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks AK… I am honoured 🙂

  19. September 25, 2009 1:21 pm

    hmmmm jealous about U guys :D…I have studied in a very strict college.There if u have less than 90%(at least 85%),then your internals and labs will be screwed up.Though we mass bunked so many times(our class were a mix of tamil,mallus,telugu,north indians and NRI’S,though we had very good unity(even girls used to support us for each and everything,for that reason most of our faculties were damn angry at us) ) and also we did go for few trekking and all 🙂
    between nice nostalgic post

    kanagu: Where you have studied…??? I avoided a strict college in counselling 😛 😛 Dad don’t know the reason 🙂
    wow great…. In my class girls and boys are opposite poles…. 😀 😀

    thanks machi 🙂

    • September 28, 2009 11:23 am

      read it as 90% attendance

    • September 29, 2009 2:03 pm

      Have U heard about Karunya University in Coimbatore 😀 . I studied there 🙂 .

      • October 4, 2009 3:21 am

        yup.. I have heard about that… but never known they are this much strict.. 😐

  20. September 26, 2009 5:16 pm

    ROFL!!! u r turning up with some awesome posts da! 😀 😀
    i think the meeting with vimmuuu gave u a more comic streak 😀 hehehe

    kanagu: Thankoo.. thankoo Ash 🙂 Yeah maybe… thanks to bro 😛 😛

    poor u… running after the bus for two stops!! LOL

    hmm sounds like it was one hell of an idyllic trip. sigh… those were the days, eh?

    kanagu: YEs.. those were the days… 🙂
    these days… sheesh 😦 😦

    its like, in Hitchu’s words 4 fielders surrounding Ponting(student) while Bhajji/Kumble bowling and 60,000 spectators seeing that.
    ROFL! 😆

    kanagu: Its will be gr8 to see the faces of them when that lecturer was there…. everybody’s face will be like 😳 😳
    LOL 😆

  21. September 26, 2009 10:17 pm

    Bunking is very very necessary … It provides you with ample of time for more important stuffs !!! 😛

    kanagu: Yeah.. true 🙂 🙂

  22. September 27, 2009 3:58 pm

    Mass bunking!!!! 😀 😀

    Kanagu! I just remembered my college day when our group was sitting in the canteen and a guy from class tells us, “Oh! Here u all are! Our class is mass bunking the Maths lecture” and guy from our group told him, “No need to inform us of mass bunking… we are default! But do let us know about Mass Attending, might miss that!”
    😆 😆

    kanagu: LOL 😆 default… 😀 😀
    and ROFL @ Mass attending 😆

    They sent attendance report???? 😯 aiyo!!!!

    kanagu: 😦 😦

    Its better to face known devil(attendance) than unknown ghost(lot of other complaints)

    ROFL!!! Soooperly said kanagu! 😆

    kanagu: Thankoo thankoo 🙂

    But a college life without mass bunking will leave a black mark in a college career.

    ROFLMAO!!!!! Hahahah!!!! True true very true!!!!! 😛 😛 😛

    kanagu: 😀 😀 😀

    4 fielders surrounding Ponting(student) while Bhajji/Kumble bowling and 60,000 spectators seeing that

    KANAGU!!!!! this is funnyyyyy!!!:lol: 😆 😆
    I have had to stop to laugh at so many places! 😛 😛 😛

    kanagu: 😀 😀 😀 thansk to hitchu for that 🙂 🙂

    Aiyo u chased a bus for more than two stops??? 😀 😀 brilliant dedication!!!

    kanagu: he he he 😀 😀

    Oooh! All of ur trip!!! Sounds so good! Sports! Beach! Food! Nap! Rock climbing!! Tee hee!!! No wonder u loved that day! It sounds fantastic!!! Sigh!!!! Hugssss!

    kanagu: Yes… its one of a great trip which I will remember for a life time 😀 😀
    hugs!!!!!

    ROFL at conversation between Mr VN and Mr SK’s sister! 😛 😛 😛
    These goofups!!! Bound to happen! Am glad I don’t have any siblings!!! Life might have been hell if they were the rattling to parents kinds! 😆

    kanagu: ha ha ha ….. but its good to have siblings… 🙂 🙂 the bond they share is really great 🙂

    This was a sooperu post kanagu! and yeah, college life! Best years!!!! 😀 😀

    kanagu: 😀 😀 😀

  23. September 29, 2009 8:27 am

    I am late here… 😦 but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy reading about …
    And I went to catch a bus …. and I spotted one. OH NO!!! its moving…. I am running behind it. Its moving, moving and moving and I am still running behind. After some 2 stops I caught that bus by signal in Central railway station… I have done a lot of this in Delhi 😆

    Also caught any bus going in the general direction we needed to go, and switched to the correct bus at red light or traffic jams… it was dangerous, and even foolish, but… We had students passes so we could ravel free to any DTC buses.

    kanagu: Me too will do that while going to School…. for stop to stop… 😀 😀 all thanks to free bus pass 😀 😀

    This post brought back memories for all Kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks IHM 🙂

  24. September 29, 2009 10:12 pm

    Looks like you enjoyed college life 😛

    I didn’t do much bunking 😐 though my attendance record was not good in some semesters 😦

    kanagu: yes.. I decided that when I entered the college… 😀 😀
    hmmm..

  25. September 30, 2009 12:32 am

    Never bunked college for outings 😦 In our college, there was a fine if we bunked more than some days in a sem! But I remember seeing the movie “Tenali” with about 40 students from my class! The kind of movie that was, we had awesome fun!!

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Tenali is one good movie.. is Velammal is that Strict??? interesting..

  26. September 30, 2009 9:49 pm

    LOL 😀 been there done that 🙂

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My nomination list – 2 « Straight Drive

Leave a Reply

