Skip to content

Pulp fiction – Must watch

October 3, 2009

Before going  into actual post, I have seen a wonderful cartoon which suits this Gandhi Jayanthi Pretty well. Let me share that:

45320609

Madhi is one of my favourite cartoonist(I rate him above Mr.R.K.Laxman). And this one is amazing. On Gandhiji’s birthday, first the politician wears a garland to Gandhi statue then to the Gandhian principles which we have buried long ago. Hope you all enjoyed this one.

Now to the actual post:

Pulp fiction:

This is not a review post on this film. This is a post to make sure that you watch this ‘Quentin tarantino’s CLASSIC without fail. Very few times a film make you to say WOW and also want us to share the same with our friends. This is one such film. After Platoon and Memento, I am blown away by this film.

Actually I like to watch movies and I love cinematography much. But for the past 6 months I have been downloading heck lot of movies but didn’t watched lot of them. So to change that I have started to browse through my PC to watch a movie last week. I am reading some blogs in Tamil which are dedicated to movies. In that I have seen 3 posts on this Film Pulp fiction. He always writes only one post for a film. This has set that film apart. Then in the last post he mentioned ‘Ippa varaikkum indha padatha paakkalaina paravala.. Innamum indha padatha neenga paakalana unga thalaila idi uzha‘ (Translastion: If you didn’t seen this  yet its ok. But if you don’t see this film from now also, then the thunder may fall on your head). So save myself from that I have decided to watch this movie.

Story:

Actually there are 3 separate stories which will intersect with each other at important points.

Vincent Vega and Marsellus Wife: Vincent Vega and Jules Winnfield were out on a job to kill a man whom their boss Marsellus found not trustworthy (I have twisted this a bit so the actual experience of viewing won’t get affected). And the next job given to Vincent by his boss is to accompany his wife Mia in the absence of him, which he does. This is an unexpected which happens keeps not only Vincent worried.

The Gold watch: Butch, a boxer, who was past his prime, has a gold watch which is passed on to him after the death of his father which was used by his great grandfather. Butch was asked by Marsellus to lose that match and pays him with a hefty sum. But Butch plays a double game there which is later known by Marsellus. So he runs for his life. And here too another problem occurs which keeps the viewers engaged.

The Bonnie Situation: This is a middle story to both of the above which ties up the loose ends of the story. Here Vincent Vega accidentally shoots up a guy in their moving car so to save themselves they are going to one of the Jule’s friend home named Jimmy. Jimmy says that he can’t entertain them there as his wife Bonnie will come in 90 minutes. This leads them to call Marsellus who sends his problem solver Wolf.

There is another small story in this which is less significant but the film opens and ends this, The diner.

Now you all know the overall story and I am sure this in no way made you say WOW. But what sets this film apart is its Screenplay.

Screenplay:

In screen, the scene sequence will happen in the way I have mentioned above. But the story won’t go in that sequence. Here comes the Quentin’s Screenplay skills handy. Actually when I finished watching the film, I am blank. So I went to the blog and read about that. Now all the locks seemed to be unlocked. I have been thinking about this for past one week and this film amazing me everytime I about that. To get a detailed explanation of this film’s screenplay read about this film in Wiki.

There are few scened in this film in which we know a murder is going to happen. But the way Quentin builds up the tension with his crisp dialogues is amazing. Just watch the last video.. you will understand.

Dialogues:

I never enjoyed dialogues in English film this much. They are crisp and its very ordinary too. Its like we friends speaking among us. And the story is bring out through the conversation between the characters. One example is… at the starting a loving couple will be speaking for about 3 to 4 minutes on robbery and decide to rob the restaurant in which they are now. And the dialogue is,

All right, everybody be cool, this is a robbery!

For memorable dialogues, click here.

Soundtrack:

Actually speaking, I won’t enjoy the English songs much as I always find hard to recognize the words. But in this film, I am in love with the songs used in this film. The first soundtrack that is played during the initial credits makes us ready and shows what to expect from this film. Here it is:

I have downloaded the soundtrack and I enjoy hearing them.

There is a dance sequence in this film, in which John Travolta and Uma thurman will be dancing(interesting one) to a nice number. Here it is:

Specialties:

I loved the bible passage which Samuel L.Jackson says before killing a man. Its not about passage but how he recites it. He just lived the character of Jules Winnfield and I don’t know why he didn’t received an Oscar for that. Here is one of the best scenes I loved:

WATCH THIS!!!!!

In acting, everybody has done their job really well and the stand-out performer was Samuel L.Jackson. Director Quentin also played a character in this film.

I think the above said things are enough to make you all watch the film. I couldn’t resist myself and I love to put more info about this film. I wil do that in another post. I want to see this film again. But the list of movies I have to see is piled up, just like the books. So I am postponing that. I have also downloaded all the other Quentin’s film in this one week. Will watch Reservoir dogs and Kill bill series this week 🙂 🙂

PS: I like to share the films I am going to watch in the weekends with you all. What say friends??? 🙂 🙂

23 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2009 7:24 am

    Me first!! 😀 😀

    kanagu: YAY… yes, you are Pixie 🙂 🙂

  2. October 3, 2009 7:28 am

    Cartoon is super!!! 😀 😀

    kanagu: Madhi was a genius 🙂 🙂

    and yea, Pulp fiction is a super movie!
    I liked the dance beat the best… 🙂

    kanagu: he he he… yeah.. its some kinda weird one.. but still liked it 🙂 🙂

    Kill Bill is simply awesome! I loved both parts. Uma Thurman is superb.

    kanagu: Cool.. I am gonna watch it tomorrow.. 😀 😀
    but PF is the QT’s best 🙂

  3. October 3, 2009 9:44 am

    Travolta is a good dancer. I have seen glimpses of this movie and wanted to see it fully, someday! Now, you are recommending, will watch it, definitely.

    kanagu: watch it… its a different experience and a cool one.. 🙂 🙂

    The cartoon is very apt, as you said.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  4. October 3, 2009 10:48 am

    Oh well 2nd is the new first.

  5. October 3, 2009 10:49 am

    I mean 3rd is the new first.

  6. October 3, 2009 11:17 am

    The videos are buffering but you have already convinced me. I think I am going to watch this movie Kanagu…

    10 minutes later:

    Saw two of the videos, I don’t like violent movies Kanagu… but I liked the dance…

    kanagu: Oh IHM… it has violence… but watch it for its mind blowing screenplay… and the sparkling dialogues… 🙂 🙂
    have you watched the last video??

  7. October 3, 2009 11:37 am

    3 cheers to girl power! N me 4th tan ta da 🙂

    kanagu: keep rocking lil 😉 girls 😀 😀

    Superb cartoon Kanagu! Thanks for sharing!

    kanagu: Welcome welcome 🙂 🙂

    I love that dance sequence 🙂

    kanagu: Cool.. watch that movie Swaram… you may like it 🙂 🙂

    So, which movie u r gonna watch this weekend?

    kanagu: Out of planned 4.. finished 2…
    tamil one in theatre and Reservoir dogs now… 😀 😀

  8. October 3, 2009 4:16 pm

    Cartoons are very timely.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  9. October 3, 2009 5:07 pm

    Kill Bill is awesome. watch asap!

    kanagu: going to watch it tomorrow 😀 😀

  10. October 3, 2009 10:58 pm

    one hell of a fan of that film, arent u?? 🙂 i really need to catch it sometime. u’ve given one hell of a painstaking review for it alright!

    kanagu: Yeah.. I have become a hell of a fan now 😀 😀 won’t stop this rambling until you all finish watching this movie once.. 😛 😛 😛

    but the cartoon in the begninning takes the cake 😀

    kanagu: It will.. he is a genius, I say… 🙂

  11. October 3, 2009 11:03 pm

    Nice cartoon but didnt hear much about the cartoonist,thanx for sharing.I used to hoard the paper cuttings of the cartoons before

    kanagu: He is a Tamil cartoonist akka.. so there is little possibility for you know him…
    thats a cool habit.. me too have news infos and pasted on a notebook long back.. I stil have it.. 🙂 🙂
    No comments on movie 😦 😦

    • October 4, 2009 12:16 pm

      I hardly watch english movies and i don’t go out much to watch movies in the cinema hall, what i see are the movies which i get in TV

      kanagu: hmmm…. ok akka… if possible download it.. 🙂

  12. October 4, 2009 12:00 am

    Superb cartoon! The character in the cartoon should have been shown wearing a blue turban. The Prime Ass-Licker of the fake Gandhis (not related to M.K. Gandhi in any way, by the way) has just let a notoriously corrupt wheeler-dealer fugitive get away from answering for his crimes by letting him go scot-free. Did the Prime Ass-Licker do this only because of his regular job of licking the fake Gandhis’ asses, or did the blue-turbaned son-of-a-Bofors-gun also get a share from the kickbacks?

    kanagu: Thanks Raj.. 🙂
    me too wondering what makes the government to close this case such urgently and abruptly.. I may put up a post on that after getting the details…

    The movie sounds like an interesting gangster movie… I’ll try to watch it. The dance is funny!

    kanagu: Please watch it Raj… It is a great movie.. 🙂

  13. October 4, 2009 8:18 am

    Ha..ha..ha.. totally agree with the cartoon. I don’t know the cartoonist but it reminded me of R K Laxman’s work.

    I have seen the movie eons ago.

    kanagu: hmmm.. he is really good Solilo.. I am enjoying his work for more than 10 years.. 🙂
    hmmm.. did you liked then Solilo??

  14. October 4, 2009 2:18 pm

    timely cartoon..! 🙂

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    and ‘en talaila idi viz’a vendam’ i’ll try to watch it soon… 😉

    kanagu: LOL 😆

    btw i must tell you.. in this post i can feel.. your english has improvd big time… 🙂 great going..

    kanagu: Thank you thank you.. thats a big compliment for me 🙂

  15. October 5, 2009 12:35 am

    Hehe the cartoon is funny 🙂

    kanagu: Welcome here Rajlakshmi 🙂

    wow that was an elaborate review.. Think i wil hv to watch it..have read abt the dialouges in other blogs too.. Thank god u didnt mentiön lightening striking the head if we didnt watch it 🙂

    kanagu: Hey, its not a review… its just an info 🙂 🙂
    do watch it soon 🙂
    LOL 😆

  16. October 5, 2009 9:35 am

    Trivolta has gone Obese these days hasn’t he?

    kanagu: Welcome here Suji… 🙂
    when he is so fit.?? 😛 😛 he always have that bulky look…

  17. October 5, 2009 1:32 pm

    I have seen this movie long time back…a cult classic 😀 …..If you like this,then try to watch ‘broken arrow’ also.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂
    I watched that also… I liked it… one of the best action movie 🙂

  18. October 13, 2009 1:08 am

    lol @ the cartoon! 😛

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    The review was soooper kanagu! i say, i love the idea of u sharing ur movie reviews 😀 😀

    kanagu: Thank you.. thank you.. 🙂 me will share 🙂

    sounds awesome!!!! i am a quentin tarantino!!! tho am not much into violent movies, somehow, his screenpaly and narration sequence style is just brilliant!

    kanagu: yeah.. he is a master in that Crafty… still amazing me… 🙂

    Kill Bill was my first one, and i was in love. when i recommened it two of my gir pals, they came back and abused me a lot coz it was too disgusting 😛 😛

    kanagu: LOL 😆
    me yet to watch kill bill… going to watch today.. 😀 😀

    but i sincerely had loved it, and that violence did not matter to me! u HAVE to watch Kill Bill!!!!! i am waiting to discuss it with u!!!

    kanagu: sure sure.. me will watch 🙂 🙂

    Pulp fiction has been on my list! i totally adore Uma Thurman, she is just something else!

    kanagu: Somehow the english heroines never appealed to me… and you have to watch pulp fiction for sure.. everybody were saying that was the best of QT..

    i watched Reservoir Dogs, and Kanagu….I watched the lastest – Inglorious Bastards!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: Me too seen the Reservoir dogs… but Inglorious bastards is yet to release here 😦
    did you liked RD??

    waiting for u to see, then discuss! tee hee!

    kanagu: sure sure.. we have to discuss… 😀 😀

    ((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))

    kanagu: {{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}

    • October 13, 2009 1:10 am

      i meant i am a quentin tarantino fan

      😀 😀

      • October 13, 2009 1:12 am

        sheesh! so many typos!

        i meant when i recommended it two of my girl pals

        😳

        *kanagu hands crafty her specs that she reluctantly agrees to wear*

        • October 18, 2009 10:53 pm

          LOL Crafty 😆 😆
          r u wearing the specs now?? 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

