Skip to content

Mobile Hunt and Meet with DI

October 27, 2009

Meet with DI:

First things First. Me and DI have met in Anna nagar(Chennai) the Sunday evening which followed Diwali. With no hiccups like last time πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :D, I have reached the place by time and DI came a little late due to his unexpected meeting with his friends. We, then went to the Anna nagar Tower and started to talk about range of things from our current jobs to bloggers to journalism and obviously blogging and side by side having sundal.

Then we went to a AAVIN shop to have some milkshake and after that we departed(DI paid for that πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ). Only for a short time we met, but it was really nice. I enjoyed it πŸ™‚

Mobile Hunt:

When I have written the post on the mobiles ‘Then a fan and now‘, I didn’t even thought that I will be checking out for mobiles soon. With me almost lost my craziness on the mobiles by now, found it really really difficult to choose one. I would have spent more than 20 hours in net searching for new one. So here is short story on my long hunt.

First thing that triggered this happening was, the loss of mobile Sony ericsson W810i exactly one month before 😦 It’s such a nice mobile and I felt bad for losing it. For the next one week I didn’t thought about buying one. Anyways I have to buy one to keep myself alive in this world. What a 21st century world without mobile???? This time I thought about buying another Sony ericsson Model because I always like to hear a good music and I don’t like carrying another device for the same. But all the walkman series models(W595, W910, W705) are above 11K which made me to think a lot. They are stylish but they had the sameΒ featuresΒ as my previous mobile with slight upgradation in camera(3.2MP from 2MP) but still 2MP is the best one and I have bought my previous one for 9.6K only. So I have decided to wait and search for some more time.

Samsung:

I have asked my friends and one of my friend suggested Samsung Star which is a touch screen one. And that is the primary reason for me to reject it. I am skeptical about the touch screens, sliders and flips. It can be said as I like only bar phones. For touch screen the exception is Apple iPhone which I have to buy someday. Samsung offered some greatΒ featuresΒ at a stunning price but I couldn’t go for that.

Nokia:

Then my attention turned towards Nokia, quite unusual of me. For some reason, I didn’t touched Nokia. But with my loyal brand Sony Ericsson disappointing me with high price and same features, I have to turn up to its enemy. But I have decided not to touch the Xpress music ones. Because walkman ones are too good any day compared to them. So I have decided to look out for something different. And there I have found out E55 and E52. Both are business mobile and they got all the wonderful words in the world. They are processing-wise fast, looks-wise stunning and performance-wise kings. Have a look at them.

So I have zeroed in on them and started to search for their price(approx. price quoted for them is 17K for E55 and 15K for E52). It was way above my budget of 11K but still worth having, I thought. But sadly they didn’t launched in India then and now. I have decided to get it from US. But US mobile market is different from India that mobiles are provided to network operators and very few available in retail shops. And after days I have seen in Univercell site that its going to get released and the price quoted is 18K approx. I fainted. Because if they say 18K they will easily pull it to 20K.

Again started to search and I have found their ancestor E51 and it was also good. It has also got some great reviews and also said that its the best buy for that price, which is 11K. It had 3G, Wi-Fi and everything. ‘Ah!!! you got one which is worth your money’, my mind said. Have a look at it.

And I eagerly turned to stores by Diwali to buy it but I have got the reply, “Sir, this is outdated and no stock available”. Β And I was blank then. What to search now. I have searched every possible brand and every possible model. I couldn’t think about it for 2 days.

Sony ericsson:

Now my budget was decided as 11K and I thought, “Why not go for the trusted alley?” And there I have decided to buy Sony ericsson W595 which is 11.6K and had good looks. It had 3G but didn’t had Wi-Fi. But that is not my priority. It must be within budget. Have a look at that mobile. Its stylish and has got nice slider.

So me and my friends went to a shop where my friend’s friend brother working by evening 5 on the Monday which fell after Diwali. When we asked for this one, but he didn’t have stock. So he went somewhere to get one but we are running late for the movie we booked for that evening. So without buying a mobile we went for movie.

As I went office by next day, the mobile plans are postponed to this week. In between, I have again started to search and I have read about the only left out G series mobiles of Sony Ericsson. First one, I have seen was G700 priced at 9.5K, which had normal keypad and also touchscreen. But reviews stated that they are not that responsive. So dropped it. Other G series mobiles(900 and 705) are 14K and 15K, so I have just read about and didn’t thought about buying them. And there I have seen G502 which is the lower end mobile in that series priced at 7K. And the reviews for it was really good. It had good music, no nonsense camera and is fast with large memory. So now the dilemma has started in me, on which one to buy?? At last G502 won over W595 on both price and performance terms. Have a look at my mobile which I have bought this Sunday.

Look wise, its not impressive but still I believe it will long last. It is almost similar to my previous one, W810i and most importantly bar type. Of all the reviews the one which helped immensely is one of the user review given here. And also gsmarena websites reviews too helped me immensely.

So when you are going to buy a mobile, the sites to check out are:

www.gsmarena.com

http://reviews.cnet.com/cell-phones/

And also check as my user comments as possible. Because at last we have to know what the people say who uses those mobile for some time. Because reviews are written at the heat of the moment and they may use it for atmost 10 days. Wavetel mobile shop site have a user comments section. Its good.

PS 1: I have also thought about Balckberry and HTC but my friend advised against HTC that its not that easy to operate for us. And blackberry is rejected due to QWERTY keyboard. Already it gives me a torrid time with PC. In mobile too… NOOOOOOOOOOO….

PS 2: I have to remind my PM that my mobile have 3G. So that he will consider me for onsite because with 3G net will be faster which means I can support the application efficiently :mrgreen: πŸ˜†

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Vijay permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:27 pm

    Blogging from Office???

    kanagu: No anna.. written this in home and scheduled it.. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, you have given some cool information about mobile phones and their features. So far I had always owned mobiles of basic models. I had always felt that they are for speaking and text messaging. The new brand of smart phones are really cool. Just waiting for 3G to become popular, when I am thinking of buying a smart phone with fully connected with the rest of the world. Until a basic phone would do for me πŸ™‚
    kanagu: Thank you and I always love to hear music and I hate taking some ipod for that…. yeah phones are too smart these days πŸ˜‰

  2. October 27, 2009 2:39 pm

    Such is irony of life! u mentioned about ur love for mobiles and here u lost ur mobile!
    Congrats for the new one πŸ™‚

    kanagu: It happens mystery and thank you πŸ™‚

  3. October 27, 2009 2:50 pm

    Glad you met another Blogger… !! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Mobiles… sigh… I just keep looking at prices… I recently bought a Nokia 7210 so that I can connect to the net from home… !!! its cool, handy and most importantly cheap ! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: cool bhai… me is also too cool while browsing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. October 27, 2009 2:53 pm

    I’ve used the E51 for 8 months before moving to E75. E51 was one of the best phones I have ever used. For me, Nokia is next to God. I’ve been using mobile phones for the last 9 yrs and have used 10 phones till date. And each one has been a Nokia. So I swear by it πŸ™‚

    kanagu: I don’t like Nokia because expect handling everything is awful in them.. most importantly music and camera… but E series is cool.. how is E75.. it has both regular and qwerty keyboard right??

    Sony Ericsson is also good. My wife had that for a few months.

    kanagu: SE is good but its monotonous 😦

    Congrats on your new phone!!! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Bro πŸ™‚

  5. October 27, 2009 3:11 pm

    Your new mobile is cool! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Pixie πŸ™‚

    Congrats on the purchase and glad to know you met another blogger! πŸ™‚
    That’s always a fun experience πŸ™‚

    kanagu: yes it is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. October 27, 2009 3:31 pm

    Ayyo miss pannite first position .. 2nd,3rd,4th,5th 😦

    kanagu: ha ha ha….

  7. October 27, 2009 3:43 pm

    I ws waiting to read abt the blog-meet πŸ™‚ Glad to know it ws a gr8 meet πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I feel like eating sundal nw Kanagu πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    kanagu: he he he.. πŸ™‚

    They are processing-wise fast, looks-wise stunning and performance-wise kings. Battery bkup is always better with Sony Ericsson na?

    kanagu: hey.. battery back-up of Nokia is way ahead of Se…. its too good in Nokia Swaram…

    Congrats on the new mobile πŸ™‚ So, u cn pay for the treat when we both meet πŸ˜›

    kanagu: Thank you… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    see I have bought a phone and lost all the money.. so you can pay this time.. I will pay by next time πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  8. October 27, 2009 4:12 pm

    Wow… i have met a few bloggers till now and loved meeting them. πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I tried saving my hubby’s money and bought motorola instead of Nolia (he is nokia buff) and regret it till date! Sigh!!

    kanagu: hmmm.. Motorola was little complex in operation…

  9. October 27, 2009 5:58 pm

    Look and feel of Samsung Star is good(and also it has all the features).But i don’t know whether it is a relaible brand or not.

    kanagu: Thats what made me to back away from it….

    Thank you for sharing such a detailed review.I guess many of us don’t have to surf net for to fix a right handset , after reading this post :D.

    kanagu: he he he… thats a great compliment machi.. but I have shared only my experience here…. not a great review….

    P.S : seems like chennai is a paradise for pick pocketers(cellphone).Anyways keep U’r phone safe here after πŸ™‚

    kanagu: yeah machi… 😦 😦

  10. October 27, 2009 6:01 pm

    Mobiles and me have a very bad history. Mine has either been stolen, lost n forgotten or fallen into water. I know it has become a necessity these days … 😦

    Ashes

    kanagu: Ah.. so sad 😦

  11. October 27, 2009 10:02 pm

    Sad to hear you lost your phone, Kanagu 😦

    Thanks for comparing the phones! I’m waiting for all operators to offer 3G before I decide to buy a new 3G phone.

    I use an old E-series and it has only confirmed my unshakeable faith in the Nokia brand. My next phone will most likely be a Nokia as well.

    πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hmmm.. thats a good idea Raj… 3G will be available soon, I guess….
    E-series is cool Raj.. I liked them πŸ™‚

  12. October 27, 2009 10:31 pm

    Glad u had a great time with DI.

    Congrats on new phone.

    kanagu: Thanks Akka.. πŸ™‚

    Hubby brought sony ericssion G-700,battery gets over very fast.The best feature is its touch screen.

    I don’t change my brand,its always nokia.

    kanagu: Yes.. I have seen about G700 also… πŸ™‚
    Nokia loyalist, you are πŸ™‚

  13. October 27, 2009 10:37 pm

    Glad to read that you met up with a blogger friend!

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Sad that you lost your mobile but congrats on the new one- what an informative post! Everything a person would need to know about mobiles is written here.:)

    kanagu: Thanks Manju,… thats a great compliment for me πŸ™‚

  14. October 27, 2009 10:47 pm

    Oh I missed the meeting. Sorry buddy, I didnt even respond back to the missed call. Was totally held up ! 😦

    kanagu: No problem bro πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    But glad you guys could meet, but in anna nagar tower ?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Thats notoriously famous for being a lovers spot ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    kanagu: he he he… this is the first time I went there πŸ™‚

    and welcome back to the S.E. club !!! w595 is what I have, and man, its good ! πŸ˜€

    kanagu: Yeah.. thats what many said but G502 also have great features πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  15. October 27, 2009 11:41 pm

    Kanagu, my two pence of suggestions-

    1. I found Samsung more feature enriched & user friendly than Nokia. That too at lesser price.

    kanagu: True Ekta.. its low in price… but I am not sure whether it is user friendly… I am only worried about its reliability..

    2. Sony ericsson was good but I guess Samsung is world no2 now and giving Nokia a tough competition. [I too was Nokia loyalist until I was forced to use this slim cost effective Samsung handset which made me realise the same]

    kanagu: Which one are you using now… ??? yes samsung caught the imagination now.. but still music in SE can’t be beaten by anyone except iPhone..

    3. For mobile price/feature etc comparison, you can grab “my mobile” mag or search for the site online. Trust me it is too good.

    kanagu: Thanks Ekta for that info.. me will check it…. πŸ™‚

    Off course, like you i too believe in candy bar model more than flip/slider etc as they are highly prone to early device damage.

    So, Congratulations for the new handsets…Hope u dont loose it this time πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Ekta πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  16. October 28, 2009 2:07 am

    Hey I am glad you dint get w595 because I have heard complaints from lot of people. They stop working after sometime or start giving problems. Lot of my friends who bought it, threw it. Congrats for the new phone! πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Actually its differs from region to region, I guess AK,…. because its doing so well in India… at the same time there are some models which is doing well in other countries.. works badly here…

    and thank you πŸ™‚

  17. October 28, 2009 9:19 am

    Good u decided against the E-Phones because they aren’t very user friendly πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Is it so Smita.. I have heard its good …

    The new one looks sleek & lovely!!!

    kanagu: Thank you πŸ™‚

    And u have met one more blogger? WOW!!! U r on a roll πŸ™‚

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  18. October 28, 2009 10:57 am

    So many blog meets going one. Just came from Swar’s blog where she wrote about her meeting with the devil.

    kanagu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Informative post. Congrats on new mobile. πŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Solilo πŸ™‚

  19. October 28, 2009 2:47 pm

    I am a Nokia Fan! congrats on new mobile!

    kanagu: thanks Reema πŸ™‚

  20. October 29, 2009 2:01 pm

    Good to hear that you met DI. Its wonderful to meet blogger friends isn’t it.

    kanagu: True Nita… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  21. October 29, 2009 2:18 pm

    congos for the new phone buddy….
    i have this 6300 an its working great for me!!

    kanagu: Thanks RSV πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  22. Meira permalink
    November 2, 2009 3:52 pm

    GSMArena rocks. There’s another…univercell.in. It gives a rough estimate of the price too πŸ™‚

    kanagu: I never liked UniverCell… they are one over-pricing store 😐

Trackbacks

  1. Mobile Hunt and Meet with DI Β« Straight Drive » Mobile & Cell Phone Reviews, Videos, & News
  2. Blog Anniversary – 2!!!!! « Straight Drive

Leave a Reply

