Skip to content

Inglourious Basterds and This is it

November 11, 2009
         Quentin Tarantino is back with his new film ‘Inglourious Basterds’ with all his trademark elements. From parting the whole film into chapters, brilliant dialogues, excessive violence and a gripping screenplay. But he missed his famous non-linear screenplay. This time the field he took to implement all his ideas is in Nazi Occupied France, in 1941.
 
Plot:
 
Film starts with the Chapter 1 title card flashing, ‘Once upon a time in Nazi occupied France, in 1941’. German colonel Hans(Christopher Waltz) comes to a Farmer’s home and having a long conversation before bathing the whole house in blood. The Jewish-Amerians forms a group called ‘Inglourious Basterds’ under the leadership of the Aldo Paine(Brad Pitt) and their aim to kill 100 Nazis individually. Now the story moves to 1944, where a German war hero Zeller meets a young French lady who runs a theatre. A film was made on Zeller’s war heroics and it is about to be Premiered. As he likes her much, he wants his film to be premiered in her theatre and there she want to take her revenge on the Nazis as most of the important leaders in the Nazi going to be present there. Meanwhile the Inglourious Basterds knows about this Premiere and wants to grab their chance to finish the Nazis. And what really happens forms the climax.
 
Acting:
 
inglourious-basterds 

Every actor has given a strong performance but the stand-out performer was Christopher Waltz. The way he speaks itself sends chillness to the spine. Even the way he eats makes us to scare. A strong contender for this year’s academy award. Brad Pitt speaks English in a very different accent which I found really difficult to understand. He sleepwalks through his role and was as ruthless as Christopher Waltz in action.

I liked the French Actress.. She is really beautiful 😀 😀

Technical Aspects and Art:

The cinematography is so apt and perfect. There are lot of close-up shots and the camera captured the fear and revenge of each people superbly. Editing is so perfect that the scenes were seamlessly and never makes us to yawn. In a period film art direction is equally important and the buildings craved for this film, makes us to travel to France of 1940s.
 
Direction:
 
 Quentin’s films are not about story but the way he presents them makes the fans to stand-up and watch it. This time he didn’t took a non-linear approach in presentation. But there are lot of chilling moments, like, a Nazi officer who was thrashed to death by a member of Inglourious Basterds and the whole first chapter is gripping and Chilling. In this film, Quentin takes only field(Second world war) and woven his own story around it. So if you expect a historical film here, you will be disappointed. It’s pure entertainment. On the whole, another successful attempt by QT as director and Screenplay writer. 
 
 Inglourious Basterds – A must watch for QT’s fans and those don’t mind excessive violence will appreciate this film. 
 
 
 
 

***************************************************************
  
 This is it: 
 
This is a documentary made on the rehersals of the last concert of Michael Jackson which didn’t seen the stage. ‘Its a pity that it didn’t seen the stage’ – This is what I can say after seeing this amazing documentary.
 

    The film starts with MJ announcing his plans on the concert just for the fans named ‘This is it’. From then on, a glimpse of the audition took place to select the dancers for the show is chosen and rehersals took place for each song to be performed in concert. MJ is aged and very thin too, but he was really energetic and didn’t shown any sense of discomfort while dancing or performing for the songs. He is completely in command on what he needed from his team. From the way the things to look on stage to the little notes of the music, he has a clear picture in mind. He encourages his team members, appreciates them and corrects them to perform better. In one place he tells to a guitarist, ‘This is the moment for you to score and we are all here with you’. The work they put behind this one is really amazing and it looked to me like, its a real concert. Such is the effect.

I really loved a part in this documentary in which MJ performing for a song(forgot it) and all the members were enjoying it and whistling at it. After finishing the song, MJ said, ‘Atleast I got a feel of it. Bless you all’.
 
This documentary has all the MJ’s greatest hits which means we are for a great musical journey. From the ‘Beat it’ to ‘Earth Song’ every song is feautured in it. Even though there are lot of criticism and different opinions on MJ’s personal life, no one can deny that he is one of the world’s great entertainers. This documentary once again proves that fact.

   Director Kenny Ortego has done a great job in making this documentary, which didn’t have a dull moment. I didn’t felt bored at any point. Crisp editing made this possible.

 Trailer:

  Its really difficult to believe that this man was died with he still entertaining us. His death is really a great loss for music world. Thanks MJ for all the entertainment you have provided all these years and for the years to come. R.I.P MJ.

 This is it: Don’t miss it MJ fans. 

 

47 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 12:13 pm

    Am I first here ??????????

    Thats amazing !!!! 😆 😆

  2. November 11, 2009 12:14 pm

    Anyway, liked your thot abt MJ’s documentary This is it !!! I shld see that one – my hubby is a gr8 MJ fan. And now, my girls are following suit. Thanks for the update. 🙂

    • November 15, 2009 9:14 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      see it Uma. you will like it for sure 🙂 🙂

  3. November 11, 2009 12:16 pm

    Great review of ‘Inglourious Basterds’, Kanagu! Very graphic- I really feel like seeing the movie now!

  4. November 11, 2009 12:52 pm

    I haven’t seen both but will do soon.

  5. November 11, 2009 1:47 pm

    No comments,i don’t watch english movies cause i need to watch them twice to know the story

    • November 15, 2009 11:20 pm

      me too like that only at first ka.. then gradually improved.. try watching sometime 🙂

  6. November 11, 2009 3:20 pm

    I LOVED Inglorious Basterds!!
    I stood outside, on the pavement, after the movie was over and laughed – nice and loud for a really long time!!! 😆

    Such an indulgence really from Tarantino!!!

    • November 15, 2009 11:22 pm

      me too loved it Pixie.. maybe I will watch it again by this week 😀 😀

  7. November 11, 2009 5:41 pm

    Your review is good and I will watch the movie when it is shown in the TV. I have jotted down the name, Kanagu!

    I like MJ’s songs. Not the new videos. I like the childish looking MJ than the older one!

    • November 15, 2009 11:26 pm

      Thank you 🙂 🙂 I don’t know when they will show that film in it as I have never seen a Tarantino’s film in TV…

      me too liked him without plastic surgery.. he is really bad now…

  8. November 11, 2009 5:52 pm

    Will catch the movie in HBO once it is aired (though i’m not a fan of war movies) …between thanks for the review
    I love to watch psycho\horror\crime thrillers and romantic comedies(and also spoof movies – but with friends) not much into war\spy\action movies 😀 😀

    • November 15, 2009 11:36 pm

      its not a complete war movie machi….

      wow.. you are watching movies in all genres 🙂

  9. November 11, 2009 6:05 pm

    Sigh!!! Not my kind of movies!! 🙂

    • November 15, 2009 11:37 pm

      I know!!! you watch only sallu bhai movies 😛 😛

  10. November 11, 2009 6:37 pm

    Oh u r on a movie watching spree for sure 😛 Caught up with something the past weekend too?

    Its a pity that it didn’t seen the stage – Really sad 😦

  11. November 11, 2009 6:39 pm

    ‘This is the moment for you to score and we are all here with you’. – hw nice 🙂

    RIP MJ 😐

  12. November 11, 2009 7:20 pm

    wow, I should really see this MJ movie, never really mentioned I adore his music, his voice and his ways in dance, indeed he is the greatest of all time – The King of PoP.

    Who are we to comment on personal lives of celebrities? Just see the person and praise him for his dedication and his talent as an artist.

    -Aiz.

    • November 15, 2009 11:42 pm

      He is best in all the things he has done…

      true.. we are eligible to do that.. 🙂 🙂

  13. November 11, 2009 8:36 pm

    The movie sounds good to me… I’ll try to watch it if possible. Why didn’t you include a photo of the French actress in this post? 😉 I’ll have to go to google now… hehehe 🙂

    I’m not a great fan of MJ but he was a great entertainer nevertheless. He deserved the title King of Pop. Poor chap, before his death he seemed to be quite sick. R.I.P MJ.

    • November 15, 2009 11:44 pm

      I had some allignment problem Raj.. so not able to put it up… 🙂 🙂 hope you fouund the picture 🙂

      yes Raj.. he deserved a better end… its mystery…

  14. November 11, 2009 10:47 pm

    Im watching ‘This is it’ tomorrow; the last day . Yeyyyyy !!!

  15. November 12, 2009 12:52 am

    I am planning to watch it this week! Nice review!

    P.S: yenga, match 4-3 or 5-2 win panuvom nu sonnenga?! Aniyayama thothu poitome 😦

  16. November 12, 2009 1:24 am

    I liked MJ the first time I saw him dancing and moving to Beat it, ages, ages ago. He is like AR Rahman, in being the creator something entirely new in his field. The video embedding is disabled, I will have to watch it on You Tube.

    And after reading this post, I guess I am going to watch Inglorious Basterds. You made it sound very interesting!

    • November 15, 2009 11:58 pm

      he is really amazing IHM.. I totally love his songs 🙂 🙂

      its really a nice fil IHM.. watch and enjoy it 🙂

  17. November 12, 2009 6:32 am

    The first movie seems quite interesting. I want to watch it. The second movie would be good too as I am not familiar with many of MJ ‘s songs! Bad luck, I got to know abt both after leaving bglore! Will try to catch up with them here or in chn sometime… Good review, btw.

    Destination Infinity

    • November 16, 2009 12:00 am

      thanks DI.. first one is really an interesting movie.. do watch it 🙂

  18. November 12, 2009 6:07 pm

    I saw the movie and loved it. Generally I don’t like movies which are too violent but there is something special about this director and the way he manages it. The violence was sickening in a way, but it seemed to go with the story. And as I have no love for the nazis I didnt feel too bad and was appalled at my own reaction!! Movies tend to do this to you, when you are far removed from the violence.
    I want to see This is it, as I am a michael jackson fan. But I guess its gone from the theatres by now.

    • November 16, 2009 12:16 am

      Quentin films are like that… he uses too much violence in his movies.. but yet manages to show them like a poetry…. but for Nazis I am reserving my comments… still I have to read a lot before judging….

      yes.. its a limited theatrical release.. only for 2 weeks..

  19. November 12, 2009 6:22 pm

    I have seen Inglorious and definitely its a an awesome movie..
    this is it..well lets see it..

  20. November 12, 2009 6:46 pm

    hi friend,

    I’ve read ‘Timeline’ – it is all time fav book. As for ‘Sphere’ I’m yet to read it.
    thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

    -Aiz.

  21. November 12, 2009 11:00 pm

    back to full-time movie reviewing eh? 🙂

  22. November 14, 2009 4:00 pm

    You have been tagged !!!

    http://vlokam.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/part-2-flashback/

  23. November 22, 2009 8:20 pm

    Speaking of nazi movies did u see valkyrie?

    • November 22, 2009 11:43 pm

      I am yet to see it Reema.. will watch it soon.. 🙂

  24. December 2, 2010 12:29 pm

    i like war movies and inglourious basterds is one of the movies that i really love ~:`

Leave a Reply

