Skip to content

Rain is beautiful

November 18, 2009

Note: This is the first I am writing this kind of post. Actually I couldn’t categorize it. Please let me know your views and also under which criteria I can place this post.

*******************************************************************************

From the way it forms to the way it drops, it’s a marvel of nature.

 Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain.

                               – Author unknown

Black is always considered a colour of sorrow but when the clouds turn black no one shed tears but everybody’s eyes were brimming with hope, lips were wearing smile and suddenly the whole world starts to look beautiful.

The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.

                                              – Henry wadsworth Longfellow.

        It makes any part of day as beautiful. Just the moments after we wake up, if we open our windows to see the world being looking fresh and new with rains pouring down, we know it’s not another day. I always love standing at the window and watching those rain for few minutes. It gives immense joy not because it may grant a leave for me. Take it by afternoon, when we will be tired after work, it offers a freshness to the tea, we drink. A hot cup of tea/coffee during a rainy afternoon/evening, a bliss!!!  By evening while returning from work, no need to worry about the looks on how wet our dress will get, all are ready take a little bath from nature’s shower.  And come night, we can sleep merily with the comfort of bedsheets with the sound of rain drops makes a perfect combo. It also gives a reason to sleep a little longer.

And when it rains on your parade, look up rather down. Without the rain ther would be no rainbow.

                                                         – G.K. Chesterton.

So after I get dressed up and start to office, I can see some beautiful view of children holding small umbrellas going to school or a child fully covered with raincoat yet the kid’s mother prefers he/she to walk with her under the umbrella or children splashing water by jumping into the water in the little ponds on the road or all this together.

Rain is grace; rain is the sky condescending to the Earth; Without rain there would be no life.

                                                       – John Updike.

I have never seen a kid running fearing the rain but when I see them they will be accompanied by some elder person. They love the true nature and they know what the rains are for, to sing and dance. They love to hold as much as possible rain water in their small, soft and tender hands and play with it.

Some people walk in the rain, others just get wet.

                                              – Roger Miller

Rain shows no differences to people in making them beautiful. A person who looks beautiful in dancing in the rain was as beautiful as when he/she holding an umbrella and walking carefully. Yes. It’s a pleasure to watch people walking with umbrella. Be it a young kid or older man or a couple holding a single umbrella, it gives a new dimension to their look.

I’m singing in the rain, just singing in the rain; What a wonderful feeling, I’m happy again.

                                         –  Arthur Freed.

Rain makes food wonderful. Except for juices and icecreams we prefer food to be served hot. A hot food is one requiste on a rainy day. Its a fun to watch those steam coming out of the hot served drink or rice or curry. I love it. And what makes those bajji’s and samosa’s looks more beautiful than they are?? its rain. Other days we just drink tea. On a rainy day, we enjoy the tea.

If love is shelter, I’m going to walk in the rain.

                                            – Author Unknown.

Rain makes travelling beautiful. When we walk, or  riding a cycle or bike those drops of rain we feel on our face makes us feel we are the happiest and luckiest people at this moment and on this Earth. Its a wonderful feel to ride a cycle at your pace when huge rains comes down.

Last but not the least, Rain makes sunshine beautiful.

Let the rain kiss you.  Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops.  Let the rain sing you a lullaby.

                                                           –  Langston Hughes

Rain is beautiful, indeed.

So why I am writing this?? For the last 15 days I am enjoying all these moments and Chennai is much cooler and beautiful now 🙂

PS: Thanks Swaram. I thought of adding those quotes at the end of the post. But just remembered Swaram’s way of placing the quotes within the post. Its really nice to see and read them 🙂

48 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 12:30 am

    All that you had described here are wonderful; all those small children and freshness and stuffs ! But personally, I HATE RAINS !!! the roads are clogged, dampness everywhere, stuck at home but still no leave at office 😦 I HATE RAINS !

    • November 22, 2009 6:04 pm

      ha ha ha..leave the city bro.. its always like that…. blame it on officials more than rain.. 🙂

  2. November 19, 2009 1:58 am

    Lovely memories….but like Vimmu, I hate rain too. I mean, I used to like it as a Kid, when my parents would take care of everything. But now…. I think I am going to write a post on this. Thanks, Kanagu, for the super idea. By the way, I think what you have written is an essay. And I liked it. Keep writing.

    • November 22, 2009 7:03 pm

      yeah.. maybe my opinion too will be different if I get aged.. but as of now I am enjoying it very much.. 🙂 🙂

      please write soon 🙂

  3. November 19, 2009 8:16 am

    Wonderful!

  4. November 19, 2009 9:38 am

    I love rains (of course, when they are in moderation and not wrecking havoc!!) And yes, rain IS beautiful!! 🙂 🙂

  5. November 19, 2009 9:47 am

    I love rains too!!
    But, heavy rains when I’m commuting worry me because of obvious reasons like traffic jam and “how do I get home now”

    the post is simply super! 🙂

    • November 22, 2009 7:04 pm

      LOL.. that happens to many… but still I have pleasant memories 🙂 🙂

      thanks Pixie 🙂

  6. November 19, 2009 12:02 pm

    Aww what a sweet post 🙂 This is one of the best posts I have read Kanagu 🙂
    The sweet natural touch and the romantic feel, the innocence – has it all 🙂

    gr8 choice of words – loved the way they r interwoven 🙂

    Other days we just drink tea. On a rainy day, we enjoy the tea. So so true .. beautifully put 🙂

    And take that PS out 😛 nt reqd @ all! Come on!

    • November 22, 2009 7:05 pm

      Thanks Swaram 🙂 🙂 I am really happy 🙂

      That PS is important, else people may think me too have brain 😀 😀

  7. November 19, 2009 12:16 pm

    Rain – i love rain infact I’m addicted to rainy season (not chennai type…..itz like a nightmare over here)
    Black – My favourite color

    children holding small umbrellas going to school ..………it is my fav scene

    Still when ever i go to native(during rainy season) i used go to upstairs and get wet in rain

    Rain,fried groundnuts\or any fries, hot tea and a blanket …wowwwwwwwww 😀

    • November 22, 2009 7:07 pm

      he he he…. leave the city machi… But I love rain in city too 🙂 🙂

      in kerala.. it will be bliss with all those natural surroundings 🙂 🙂

  8. November 19, 2009 12:26 pm

    I Love rains. Ask someone who lives in the gulf and he/she will second that.

  9. November 19, 2009 12:35 pm

    Oh !!! You just wrote what I am feeling – abt the rains in Chennai !!!! Its so wonderful and I am enjoying those chilly evenings with a cup of hot chai, in my balcony – thats the nearest I reach to heaven !!! 🙂

    ரொம்ப நல்ல இருக்குதுங்க – மழையும் வார்த்தைகளும் 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • November 22, 2009 7:10 pm

      wow cool… I am in office when its raining by evening.. slogging out that computer keyboard 😐

      Nandri.. nandri 🙂 🙂

  10. November 19, 2009 1:43 pm

    Wonderfully written kanagu.

    I love rains and the smell of soil when it rains,i just love that smell.

    I miss rains here,its almost two years i didn’t see rains,here it is very rare to get rains.

    Rains means i remember hot hot mirchi bhajis and eating chat standing under a tree when is is raining heavily.

    • November 22, 2009 7:11 pm

      Thanks akka 🙂 🙂

      Me too love that smell of soil 🙂 🙂 and 2 years 😮 phew… it has been delayed here for a month.. I can’t bear that itself..

      hope you soon get some rain there… 🙂

      Mirchi Bhajji I never liked… I am all for samosas… 🙂

  11. November 19, 2009 2:02 pm

    Beautifully written post, Knagu and the poems you have selected are THE best.

    I too love rains and the first rain’s mud smell! Even now, I don’t run away if I see rain coming, when I go out. I walk slowly, enjoying the small drops of rains falling on me.

    Like Saritha says, molagaa bajji during rains is aaah!

    • November 22, 2009 7:13 pm

      Thank you Thank you 🙂 🙂

      Superb… me too love to walk under that 🙂 🙂

      I don’t like Molaga bajji much 😦

  12. November 19, 2009 2:45 pm

    I love the rains, just walking in the rains, getting wet, splashing water, jumping over the puddles, sipping coffee with hot pakodas or bhajjis…wow!! Everything looks so fresh n clean after a splash…. Beautifully written n lovely quotes….

    • November 22, 2009 7:13 pm

      yup… those things make rains really really special 🙂 🙂

      and thank you 🙂

  13. November 19, 2009 4:53 pm

    I absolutely love rains !!!!!!!!!

  14. November 19, 2009 5:33 pm

    Rains are good.I hope you know what happens in Delhi when it rains even for 15 mts.
    It is flooding.

    • November 22, 2009 7:14 pm

      Same here in Chennai Sir… But the time limit is 1 hour 😀 😀

  15. November 19, 2009 6:22 pm

    I love rains too.love getting wet in the rains,love the wet,fresh smell of the soil and I love the cool breeze that comes with the rain and I esp love munching spicy pakodas and sipping hot tea in the season.

    How I miss rains!

    very nice post,kanagu 🙂

    • November 22, 2009 7:15 pm

      Missing rains… I think it has started Winter there na????

      thanks Deeps 🙂 🙂

  16. November 19, 2009 7:24 pm

    Kanagu, this is an outstanding post…how did you come to that idea? Such quotes and thoughts on raing…a pure enjoynemnt to read.

    too good, my friend!

    • November 22, 2009 7:17 pm

      Thank you Axinia 🙂 🙂 I am really happy that you have enjoyed it 🙂

      I always liked rain… and I felt everything is good under so written it… and for inserting quotes all praise must go to SWaram 🙂 🙂 she always writes these kinda posts 🙂 🙂

  17. November 19, 2009 8:53 pm

    This is a beautiful post!! And why do u need to put it in a criteria??? I would say it is a thought well expressed!!!

    I like rains only when am in & not getting drenched.
    I like rains only when I get to eat steamy pakoda’s & drink hot coffee but don’t have to make either of it.
    I hate getting drenched 🙂

    • November 22, 2009 7:18 pm

      Thanks Smita 🙂 🙂

      not getting drenched… hmmm…
      you can get pakoda and coffee from canteen, right??? and start enjoying rain 🙂

  18. November 20, 2009 3:14 am

    Rain is indeed beautiful 🙂 In Chennai, it brings the temperature down a lot, so that alone is a blessing 😉

    • November 22, 2009 7:19 pm

      True Raj.. for Chennai its really important 🙂

  19. November 20, 2009 4:19 pm

    Guess where am I typing this comment from? You’ll never guess!

    I have a category called Happiness. Rain, a good drive, a chirpy bird , a lazy Sunday, and such fall in this category. This post made me feel even more cheerful. I anyway love the rain and after reading this delightful post, there is no doubt that you do too.

    I like the idea of inserting the quotes into the post, it’s like how some songs by Amitabh Bachchan’s have dialogues in between… they add to the post.

    And now guess where is this comment being typed from!!! 🙂

    • November 22, 2009 7:22 pm

      Thanks IHM…. 🙂 🙂 I will guess for sure 🙂

      Wow.. thats a cool category and also the one Nita has suggested… Life.. I will add them 🙂

      Thanks for liking this format.. all praise must go to Swaram 🙂 🙂 but never heard Amitabh’s songs 😦 😦

      are you typing the comment through E-mail???? let me know whether its is right.. 🙂 🙂

  20. November 21, 2009 10:23 am

    You can categorize it under LIFE. I have a category like this and I think it’s an important category. You could have also written a poem on your thoughts on rain and categorised it as poetry! I mean there is some poetic stuff there.

    • November 22, 2009 7:23 pm

      Yeah.. thats a nice category.. I will place this under that… 🙂 🙂

      Poem.. for that I need to improve my vocabulary a lot… 😐

      and thats a great compliment for me 🙂 Thank you 🙂 🙂

  21. November 22, 2009 8:30 pm

    oh I simply love rains!! but yes not when I have to go to work. 🙂

  22. November 23, 2009 12:37 am

    lovely post… comes as a breath of fresh air 🙂
    and the quotes placed accurately in between add to the look of it…

    i’ve ALWAYS loved the rains… they’re beautiful 🙂 so i completely agree with what u say…

    • November 23, 2009 1:56 am

      Thanks Ash 🙂 🙂

      many loves rain.. But now its winter in Delhi, right??

  23. November 25, 2009 2:54 pm

    I don’t know why, I like the sun, more than the rain!

    Destination Infinity

  24. anjitha permalink
    November 14, 2010 12:03 am

    Rain is beautiful

Leave a Reply

