Skip to content

Not so good

January 23, 2010

It was Sunday. Sivaram was not in his usual self. He was tensed and nervous and kept checking the mobile. His semester results are out. Already he feared as much as he can, as the rumor of results coming out is in the air for the past one week. Suddenly his mobile blinked and it has shown “Message received: from Harish”. And as he pressed the button ‘Yes’, it has shown,

Machi, you all cleared. 72%. I am 78%. Krishna 68% and Arun flunked in one paper. No worries. He will apply for re-evaluation

Which is continued with endless wide grin smileys.

Sivaram was happy as he thought that he would flunk in atleast 2 papers. Anyway I am not going to tell about the marks to dad today and make my day to suffer, he thought.

His father returned to home by afternoon after attending a marriage. As they both sat to have lunch, his father asked him, “Is the result is out? Bhagya said she has got 85% and she has also asked about yours”

Oh god!!!! What is with this girl?? From the school days she is like this. She can’t even keep her marks to herself. If she wants to know the marks, she could have asked me….

“What are you thinking??? Is the results are out or not???” asked Sivaram’s father.

“Ah.. yes dad. I have got 72%” and he kept looking towards his plate.

His father has given a shocked expression and asked, “72%??”

What’s there to get shocked, he thought.

He nodded his head. His father continued, “If you keep scoring such marks who will give a job for you. Whom they will prefer??? One who scores 72% or the one who scores 85%?? I myself won’t give a job to one who scores such low marks”

Someday I am going to get a job and he, himself, going to say my son don’t deserve it…

“Come on; speak to me Siva… whom they will prefer??”

He kept his mouth shut. He looked at his father and as he has seen that his father going to say something, he said “I will score good marks next time dad”.

“This is the same dialog you are telling to me from exam after exam. How much your friends has got??”

Arghhhhhhhh.. the endless lecture is going to start…

“Harish has got 78%”

“See that boy was with you, yet studied the time he has to study and scored good marks. If he is a good friend he should helped you to get good marks. Ok, then what about others?”

“Krishna has got 68% and Arun got one arrear”

“See how your friends are. That’s why you are like this. You should be friend with the boy who scores high marks. Then only you could score high marks”

If I say my friend got high marks than me, he will say he is not a good friend. And if I say others who have got lower marks then they are responsible for my marks which he thinks very low.

His father continued which made him to bring him back to his sense, “So is there anything like improvement here, so that you could rewrite the exam and improve your marks??”

Now Sivaram is shocked and as he tried to say ‘Dad what happened to you??? Clearing the papers for one time itself is like hell and doing the same for other time’ nothing came out of his mouth.

“Why are you chewing with empty mouth??? Tell me is there anything like that??”

“No dad. There is nothing like that”, Sivaram said.

“It’s your life. You very well know how much competition is out there to get a job. I am not going to ask you about the marks anymore. You know what to do”

He wanted to say ‘This is the umpteenth you are saying this’. But as he was not in a mood to extend the embarrassing question session anymore, he kept his mouth mum.

_________________________________________________________________

This song from A.R.Rahman’s latest album Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya Rocks. Just hear it:

25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 3:04 pm

    omg omg…!! 😐 😐 that sounds SO MUCH out of real life… i cant begin to explain!

    good one, kanagu! 🙂 well-written… touches a chord..

    kanagu: Thanks Ash.. is it happened for everyone??? scary… 😐 😐

  2. January 23, 2010 5:00 pm

    Perfect illustration of the marks mania!!!…
    Nicely written!! 🙂 Esp, the waiting for the results was the agonizing part of it all…

    kanagu: Thanks Kavitha 🙂 🙂

  3. January 23, 2010 5:07 pm

    Once again,a very interesting writing.

    kanagu: Thank you sir 🙂 🙂

  4. January 23, 2010 5:07 pm

    Flash backa raasa !! Sema livelya irukku 😛

    kanagu: Athe athe ka… thanks 🙂 🙂

  5. January 23, 2010 7:13 pm

    Inspired by ‘3 Idiots’? Well written, Kanagu…Thankfully, my parents weren’t so harsh on me…I did miserably in my first year of college and was scared to go home, but surprisingly my parents didn’t say anything and took me out for dinner…But the disappointment on their faces made me work harder and I made up for my lack of application in the first year in the next 2 years…

    Marks don’t matter ultimately…I don’t remember what I got…

    kanagu: Surely not bones.. I have enough from my own life. … 😀 😀 Thats really good.. if every parent were like that kids may learn the importance of education and will learn better… 🙂 🙂
    Surely marks never matters..

  6. January 23, 2010 7:13 pm

    P.S. I like your header…

    kanagu: Thanks Bones.. 🙂 🙂

  7. January 24, 2010 12:42 am

    Were you spying on me during 1998-2001 ??? 😀 😀 😀 I guess, this is how most of the home are !! 😀

    kanagu: LOL.. 😆 is it??? then I have some relief 😉 😉

  8. January 24, 2010 6:50 am

    Luckily Sivaram took it well. That’s how children should take the rantings of parents, with a pinch of salt and sarcasm. Well, ideally. In reality this doesn’t happen. Suicides happen.

    kanagu: yes.. if the children goes through that way it will be good for them.. but the thing is, at the heat moment they can’t do that for sure… 😐 😐

  9. January 24, 2010 1:35 pm

    Typical father-attitude…always criticising the child. I wish parents would be more supportive (not lenient) and less harsh.

    kanagu: Why parents can’t be lenient??? they can if the kids understand 🙂 🙂

    Hey, be careful. Chetan Bhagat might sue you for the similarity to 3 Idiots 😉 😉 LOLZ!

    kanagu: LOL… 😆 I have enough draw from my own life Pal… hope my father helps me there if CB sue me.. ROFL 😆

  10. January 24, 2010 2:03 pm

    Very well written abt the present scenario, Kanagu !!!

    kanagu: Thank you 🙂 🙂

    BTW, I dont understand this obsession with marks. Marks dont maketh you – only knowledge defines you !!! By mugging up a lesson and scoring a 100% doesnt prove that a person is knowledgable. If these are the ppl who construct dams and build houses, why wont they fall in a month of construction ???

    kanagu: Surely. mark has nothing to do with a knowledge of a person but everybody needs a measurement to scale the student and unfortunately mark helps it…

    This is an eye opener, Kanagu. Parents shld remove such high expectations for marks and shld not stress their kids. This is also the reason for the high range of suicides among college students.

    kanagu: Hope students too understand that parents were saying because of the love on them.. and parents obviously have to limit their expectations…

  11. January 24, 2010 11:24 pm

    3 idiots effect eh? nice story about the rat race of marks.

    kanagu: No no… I have already stated the reason.. 🙂 🙂
    thanks Reema.. 🙂 🙂

  12. January 25, 2010 11:14 am

    I can happily say that my home was nothing like that. My parents never expected much out of me so whatever I got was good for them hehehe 😀 In fact in teh 2nd year of my grad my mom had asked, “successfully pass or fail”. I said looks like it wud be fail, my Mom had just lol!!! Later when the result came out she was like how come u have passed?? hehehe…there never were any pressures on me or my bro!!! Not that I was an exemplary student but still!!!

    Though what you have written is the sory of most of the houses today!! Sad!!

    kanagu: hmmm… thats really nice to hear…. actually when we come up in life we know there is enough ways to earn money in this world…
    but parents still pushing kids is really sad…

  13. January 25, 2010 1:45 pm

    Sigh! Hw many times hv we seen this happen .. I hv one cool dad though .. he never did this with me .. lucky that way 🙂
    Infact, my mom ws a bit strict and so we used to run to dad to get the signature if our marks were bit lesser 😛 😛

    kanagu: LOL…. 😆 really your dad is cool… 🙂 🙂

    I first read that name as Swaram 😉

    kanagu: ha ha ha…

  14. January 25, 2010 6:22 pm

    ROTFL!!
    This has happened too many times to keep count!
    Nice narration Kanagu! 😀

    kanagu: LOL… 😆 😆
    thanks Pixie.. 🙂 🙂

    Loved it!
    Will check out songs at home 🙂

    kanagu: Hope you will like it 🙂 🙂

    • January 25, 2010 6:23 pm

      nice new header! 🙂
      me liked!

      kanagu: Thanks Pixie.. 🙂 🙂

  15. January 25, 2010 8:00 pm

    So sad this is, isn’t it? The ruthless competition into which so many parents get drawn into.

    kanagu: Yeah.. true Smitha 😦 😦

    I was lucky – my parents never pressurized us – but I remember I had classmates who used to be very strictly monitored, results compared and then sat down and lectured to.. Must be so tough on the kids..

    kanagu: hmmm…. comparing is the hard part… suffered many a times… 😐 😐

  16. January 25, 2010 11:24 pm

    Phew…I think I was damn lucky to have crazy parents who were just like me 😆 They thought I was more than what their brain could handle…so no pressure at all 🙂 Btw it is left to debate whether that was one of the reasons for me becoming a total mental rebellious case 🙄

    kanagu: ha ha ha… 🙂 🙂 anyway thats really good, right.. no pressure.. 😀 😀

    Gosh…who is the singer in this song?? Why does AR Rahman have to make every singer scream?? I think the song is just one of his normal usual ones 😥

    kanagu: Yeah.. thats the only drawback.. I don’t know why they are screaming.. but the melody part of ‘Sosthi sosthi’ bit is to good.. 🙂 🙂

    • January 27, 2010 1:09 pm

      LOL , Saksh @’ Why does AR Rahman have to make every singer scream??’. He must have probably got bored of listening to his own scream 😆

      • January 28, 2010 5:13 am

        Seriously Deeps I hate it when singers scream and the lyrics are never heard!!

  17. January 27, 2010 12:41 pm

    This story is so realistic,Kanagu. A lot of homes have parents like Sivaram’s who burden their children with high expectations and make their lives miserable. Its a sad state of affairs 😦

    kanagu: True Deeps… chasing the marks is the sadest part 😦 😦

    I hope they come to their senses soon and start appreciating their children’s interests and efforts more.

    kanagu: yeah.. that’s really needed these days….

    Very well written,Kanagu!

    kanagu: Thanks Deeps… 🙂 🙂

  18. January 30, 2010 11:04 pm

    Quoting Virus “Life is a race … Compete or Die … ” ….. muhahhahahah … 😈

    everyone wants us to be koel birds … dont they ??? … 😛

    kanagu: True friend… 😛 😛

  19. January 31, 2010 3:27 pm

    I think he should have failed (If he did not write the couple of exams well). A degeree’s worth would remain that way!

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: But who gives a job for a man who failed in academics????

  20. February 4, 2010 2:28 pm

    Make Money Online – Visit 10 websites and earn 5.5$. Click here to see the Proof

  21. Princess permalink
    February 6, 2010 12:51 pm

    dads are always like that 😉
    nice fiction close to reality in most of the homes i guess
    take care..

    kanagu: Thanks Princess… 🙂 🙂 you too take care..

  22. February 21, 2010 1:01 am

    This story looks like a real life one that happens in millions of homes… when will parents ever learn 🙄

    kanagu: Hope they learn it soon Raj… 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

