Skip to content

Sold Education

May 25, 2010

The reality show started to heat up. Everybody on both the sides were getting too emotional as they were discussing about ‘Whether the present education system cares about students or money?’ with the respected teachers fighting to prove that they have that passion for teaching and care for their students and the people on the other side comprising students, youngsters and some parents complaining that education costs much more these days and teachers are after money. Both sides were presenting their view points with the programme moved to midpoint.

A boy named Krishna, a 23 year old young man, introduced himself and started to speak in support of the education system cares only about the money.

“There are lot of reasons for me to be in the opposite side”, as he said that, it was followed by claps from teachers side, “but I want to say what I have experienced to be in this side as this is more important”. He followed, “I was studying in 12th standard then. Each day of that academic year passed like some nightmare. There was a rivalry went on between 2 teachers who ran 2 different coaching centers. In the quarterly examination, in Mathematics paper one of my classmates was failed. He went near him and asked I had done this question correctly but why you didn’t awarded any marks? He checked the paper and said the exact words I am going say now. ‘Why you have followed a method taught by someone instead of what is given in book’. I don’t think there is any specific method to solve a maths problem and all he should have looked is whether that method is correct. One thing I forgot to say here is that boy didn’t studied in his tutorial. That wouldn’t have mattered if he didn’t joined in another maths teacher’s class.”

Some voices raised from teachers like ‘That will be only a few percent. Majority won’t be like that’

He answered, “Please let me talk and I have something to tell about the other teacher too.” And he continued, ” I was studied in the tuition conducted by the ‘someone’ the first teacher has mentioned. In the half-yearly exams I have scored 78% marks in my maths paper which I thought decent enough. But my dad didn’t. He was really angry with me as those marks won’t be enough to get a good college. As the public examinations are in 2 months he decided to take some urgent steps and took me to that teacher. He was not even courteous enough to give a seat to us to sit. Then the conversation went on between them as follows:

‘Sir, My son has scored very low marks in Maths’

Teacher looked at me and asked, ‘How much you have scored?’ as that’s the norm in front of a parent to stamp his authority.

‘78%’

My dad started to speak, ‘Sir, how this will be enough to get a seat in good colleges’

‘Sir, I am giving as many exercises as possible and also completed the portions very well before. See Kumar is a student studying here only and he scored 99% marks.’

And my father has given a cold stare at me. I don’t want to go further from this. Even a common man know its not good to compare 2 students marks. But a teacher with more than 20 years experience in teaching has done that. Then in his tuition more than 100 students were studied. So it’s not possible for him to give attention to everybody and I never had a one-to-one conversation with him. He should have told that I can’t manage everybody and look after each student. But he simply passed the blame on me. Which I don’t think is a responsible act when it comes to discussing about one’s performance with a parent.”

 All the members in the program listened keenly while he summed up, “So what is the kind of example they set for their students who study under them?”

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 5:59 pm

    Firstttt!

    Kanagu: Yes… you are 😀 😀

  2. May 25, 2010 6:01 pm

    Education has indeed become an commodity. I remember, I had one such teacher who used to try and ensure that people who did not go to his coaching class would not get good marks. I refused to go on principle, and he used to be out to get me, and it was so so annoying. Luckily for me, I was good at Physics( his subject), so he could not really affect my marks in anyway – but there were plenty of students who were forced to join his classes, simply because otherwise, he would fail them 😦

    kanagu: These kind of things happened in my class also…. so sick when a person in teacher status does this 😦 😦 Its good to hear that you are realy good in physics 🙂 🙂 Its one interesting subject…
    And while there are some really dedicated teachers, some are really really bad, and these bad teachers make as much as an impact as the good ones on the morale of the students.

    kanagu: Yes… I had them too, luckily 🙂 🙂 they are unmatched and I will write post dedicating for them 🙂

    Wonderful post, Kanagu!

    kanagu: Thanks Smitha 🙂 🙂

  3. May 25, 2010 6:12 pm

    Good subject, Kanagu. With so many students in a class, the teacher cannot be true to his profession. He will not even know the names of the students he is teaching.

    kanagu: True… but they are ready to accept that fact and can’t say they are doing that for money…

    My son was also complaining like this when he was in a smaller class. He never went to any tuition classes but scored well. Some students who did not do well were given good marks and got good ranks because they were attending his tuition classes.

    kanagu: 😦 😦

    kanagu: hmmm… I went to tuition but not based on teacher’s pressure… lot of times I have seen that happening 😦 😦
    This will never change, Kanagu.

  4. May 25, 2010 6:30 pm

    That was a wonderful topic to debate on.
    I totally agree with the views expressed by Krishna regarding the need of a ‘feeling of responsibility’.When teachers deny to be accountable for their actions, how can they ever expect to instill the same values in their students?

    When I was in uni, so many of my professors were the authors of of our text-books & even so many reference books. One of them in particular, used to force all his students to read from the book he’d written if they wished to pass the exams. If you wrote an answer from another book, you would fail miserably.

    kanagu: Ah… its the same everywhere ah 😦 😦 here to they write some books and just push it down the throat of students 😡

    Having said that, it is indeed a sorry state of affairs of the education system.

    kanagu: True CB 😦 😦

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful post Kanagu 🙂

  5. May 25, 2010 6:43 pm

    Oh I did hv wonderful teachers all thru but I remember we once had a Hindi teacher to fill in for a wonderful one who hd resigned to move to another city. This lady wud never give us answers for marks we would write by ourselves. She always wanted us to write whatever was in a certain guide word by word!!!!! How cn u expect students or is it even the rt way to learn byheart all that is there without understanding? I think such ppl hv always been there Kanagu in between all the dedicated ones. Everything in life is a mixture of the dark and the bright!

    kanagu: True Swaram… Its a mixture of both but its a profession where they have to look beyond atleast personal vengeance… making money is important but not the cost of values

    P.S: Got ur mail; wil get bk to u soon 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks for the suggestion 🙂 🙂

  6. May 25, 2010 8:46 pm

    Touchwood … I too had great teachers at school and was never compelled to do such sort of things 🙂

    kanagu: Hmmm…. me too had such teachers 🙂 🙂
    I can understand the plight of students who have to go through such things, its really disheartening as both my parents are themselves in the teaching profession and never approve of such things. If education were to be measured by marks only, we would never have had an Einstein. 🙂

    kanagu: Both of your parents were teachers… oh nice… but it would be little trouble for you na… 😆 😆 you can’t escape at all 😀 😀
    Thats a wonderful line Shilpa.. really true 🙂 🙂 Konowledge is beyond marks…

    In fact, one of college teachers is my real guru, a person who literally drove me to complete my PG before I took up my first job…. 🙂

    kanagu: Oh… thats great… 😀 😀

  7. May 25, 2010 9:17 pm

    hmmm…i would like 2 believe that 90% of the people (teachers or otherwise) work with the sole aim of earning cash! i don’t mean it as an insult or anything and i don’t think there is anything wrong in it either. working 4 money isn’t a crime, we all do it.

    kanagu: Hey.. I never said that’s wrong… and I never will… its just the wrong attitude of the teachers…

  8. May 25, 2010 11:06 pm

    Scary… 😐
    this is what they call commoditization of products.

    But when TEACHERS do this….man what is the world coming to?

    kanagu: Really sad Ash 😦 😦

    In fact as the days pass, I observe that less and and less students have that bonding with their teachers (and vice versa). They are all in it for the sake of it, get a degree and then go on to a job. Where is the essence behind the whole thing?

    kanagu: true… the bonding is getting reduced… its becoming more of a materialistic world 😦 😦

  9. May 25, 2010 11:11 pm

    Totally agree… 12th standard passed off like a nightmare.

    kanagu: yes it was 😦 😦
    But engineering for me is no better. We’ve an awful lot of teachers
    http://nivedithasperceptions.wordpress.com/2009/04/15/how-i-forgetted-the-englees/

    kanagu: I replied to that 🙂 🙂

    And we’re doing everything with pretty much no guidance. What’s the need of teachers.
    After school I’ve never had 1 good teacher!

    kanagu: I had few luckily 🙂 🙂

  10. May 26, 2010 6:39 am

    Completely agree… education is a money spinner and nothing else. I have seen only a fistful of teachers who REALLY care about students. the rest only care to humour their own ego, and to stash away some cash!!

    kanagu: Really sad na Pals 😦 😦

  11. May 26, 2010 8:02 am

    Thankfully, I had good teachers…

    kanagu: Thats nice 🙂 🙂

    Kanagu, many teachers have gone the way of doctors – they have forgotten why they entered the field…Something needs to be done but unfortunately, education is low down the totem pole for the government…

    kanagu: Relly thats sad bones… but they are stooping down low each year 😦 😦

  12. May 26, 2010 10:15 am

    Very good topic Kanagu.

    kanagu: Thanks akka 🙂 🙂
    Thank God I had good teachers and never faced any compulsion.
    But you know I’ll blame the parents(they are the root) for this.

    kanagu: No Akka… Parents have very limited knowledge about education.. its this teachers who just raises the tension in the name of marks

  13. May 26, 2010 2:15 pm

    Own an education center and roll is the big bugs is the thing right now. Its all commercial. Even the primary schools are the same.

    kanagu: 😦 😦

  14. May 27, 2010 2:29 am

    See the movie called “Accepted”! Tht is my real comment 🙂

    kanagu: Will watch it soon bro 🙂 🙂

    just to add something here:
    I still dont know wht i want to be in life ,maybe i will find it sooner or later

    kanagu: May i join the group????
    And regarding learning,tht i am doin evryday,not neccessarily from some books where some drunk guy wrote while he was totally stoned,but i learn things thru ppl and their experiences,google ,wikepedia and offcourse thru blogs like urs kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Is there some sarcasm in the last 4 words??? 😀 😀

    And i did write a huge comment first,but thn realised its better to talk to u directly..coz it turned out to be a never ending saga

    kanagu: hmmm.. you should have left it…

    • May 27, 2010 3:04 am

      sigh!! one thing you should not be doing is chatting with me…It’s a bad influence you see..I mean for an innocent brain like mine :mrgreen:

      kanagu: ROFL 😆

  15. May 27, 2010 3:06 am

    It is indeed a sad state of affairs and I must have been very lucky to be blessed with real good and most importantly patient teachers.

  16. May 27, 2010 10:04 am

    yes. what the young man mentioned is so true… we have teachers like that, we had teachers like that – who compared and favored the student who wrote text book answers and got nearly 100% marks!

    kanagu: Yes… 😦 😦

    And the question he asks in the end is bang on target!

    This doesn’t mean that we don;t have good teachers… I was fortunate enough to have had some great teachers too! And some who sucked big time! 😀

    kanagu: Me too had mixture of both Pixie…
    Wonderful post Kanagu! 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Pixie 🙂 🙂

  17. May 27, 2010 1:36 pm

    education is business – is a tautology. but the limitations of using business parlance while speaking about education is immediately visible. the stated aim of business is to maximize profit to shareholders. if education is indeed business, then we should stop talking about character molding and nation building.

    the functioning of business is tightly regulated by law. the practise of education is a creative endeavor. the attempts of state to introduce laws to regulate educational practices is looked down as assault on academic autonomy. if education is business, we should stop this resistance.

    the first truth about business is – customer is always right. the needs and demands of the customer determines what product or what kind of service should be provided. if education is business, then we have to cancel classes everyday and give makes to all!!

  18. May 28, 2010 10:13 am

    Thought-provoking.. But yeah I have seen both the kinds, good as well as bad teachers. There are many teachers who just have some favorite students. They give more marks to their fav students and less to others. Education system seriously need some refining.

    kanagu: Thanks Ak… me too…
    yeah… not some.. but a lot….

  19. May 28, 2010 5:30 pm

    As the saying goes – I was born brilliant; education ruined me ! 😀

    kanagu: 😀 😀

    I never had a bad experience with the whole education system ever; thats probably because I was an average student myself and none of them had huge expectations out of me ! 😀 but yes, when I see my cousins studying, I feel they dont get connected to their books at all. They are learning because they are supposed to; more like a daily routine and thats scary. We will have more such robots around in the future than normal human beings.

    kanagu: Hmmm.. thats really sad… doing something without any interest 😦 😦

  20. May 29, 2010 11:33 am

    Hmmm I have faced something similar myself. We had shifted to a new place and thus a new school. The level of sanskrit there was tough and my attempt to learn it better were thwarted because the teacher insisetd upon students joining his tution classes. When I didn’t do the same he used to insult me openly & I even scored less mark!!!

    kanagu: 😦 😦 Really sad… is this the way to earn money??? 😦 😦
    But I was as adamant as him! I never joined his classes!

    kanagu: he he he 😀 😀

    But honestly education is just a source of money for these teachers!

    kanagu: 😦 😦

  21. July 6, 2010 11:02 pm

    This has become prevalent in Engineering too…with much more politics and bigger stakes.

    kanagu: too bad 😦 😦

Leave a Reply

