Skip to content

Magadheera – [2009] – Telugu

June 5, 2010

This is a film which have watched a month ago and wanted to share with all from then. Not a classic film but really an entertaining one. I always love mass hero action movies as somebody in the screen doing what I can’t do in real life and I don’t mind watching them any number of times. This movie revolves around love but doesn’t lack in action sequences.

The story goes back to 1600.A.D. where Kalabhairava was a great warrior belongs to Udhayagiri kingdom. Mithravanda was the princess of the kingdom and Ranadev Billa was cousin of her. Both Ranadev and KalaBhairava love her but she loves Kalabhairava. But none of their love turns fruitful and they all make rebirth presently in the names Harsha(Kalabhairava), Indu(Mithravanda) and Raghuveer(Ranadev Billa). So how they all meet together again and whether Indu marries Harsha makes the rest of the story.

The most striking aspect of this film is how well the director builds the suspense before unveiling the flashback. Harsha tries to find Indu. She is so near to him that he meets her every other day. But the screenplay is written so beautifully that he finds it only when the film nears midway.

There is a very beautiful and cute love story between Harsha and Indu. The way Indu fools her in the name of showing his love is absolutely enjoyable.

The set constructed for the 16th century part was absolutely stunning. It just makes us to believe that there would have been one such fort. The designing and costumes are so good. There is a fight where Bhairava takes on 100 men of other army, the location chosen for this is really superb and the CG work is stunning.

Ram Charan Teja, Kajal Agarwal and Dev Gill, all does a double role in this film. Ram Charan Teja as a young man searching for his love was nice and also believable while taking on group of baddies. As a warrior of 16th century he is stunning. The ferocity with which he does those sword fights and horse riding is nice. Of all we can believe he is one of the warrior.

Kajal Agarwal as Indu was beautiful and also does well. As the princess she is too good while expressing her love towards bhairava and when he moves away from her on the orders of the King she is superb.

An action entertainer was as good as it’s villain. Here the villain is Raghuveer who is frightening at the sight and his cunningness makes the life difficult for the hero and keeps the viewers glued to the screen. He shows same kind of terrific

Editor, costume designer and cinematographer really deserve applause for their work especially in the 16th century scenes. The songs are not upto the mark except ‘Dheera Dheera’ but the background score is perfect in creating the mood.

Director S.S.Rajamouli has given a brilliant film based on reincarnation. Its not easy to make an action entertainer which is enjoyable out of it but he does that with aplomb. The climax is quite ordinary comparing the entire film nevertheless it doesn’t affects this great movie in anyway.

Scenes I liked:

Bairava vs 100 men[With subs]:

Dheera Dheera Song[With Subs]:

The intro of Harsha with Indu(Though the whole episode is lovable, I just love their conversation between them during introduction):

If you like the above scenes without thinking go ahead and watch the movie. Its available online here. The one with MGD is this movie.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 1:15 am

    I’m first!
    Yay! 😛

    kanagu: Yes.. you are 🙂

    And… I’ve heard lots about the movie, major hit it became.
    Didn’t watch it. But I might soon! 🙂

    kanagu: Watch it Niveditha… you will love it 🙂

  2. June 6, 2010 6:36 am

    I have heard about this movie. Heard two songs now. I will watch it sometime. The hero and the heroine pair is good.

    kanagu: Its an entertainer.. you will surely like it… watch it 🙂 🙂

  3. June 6, 2010 8:25 am

    I have a telugu colleague who keeps on telling about this movie and plays the song everytime… so much so that it had irritated me and I had vowed not to watch it.. 😦 but based on your review… will give it a try….

    kanagu: Watch it Shilpa… its a nice movie 🙂

  4. June 6, 2010 1:45 pm

    Hey Kanagu… Some fancy has been going around in our workplace too,since quiet few Telugu people are over there…. but didnt mind them, since it is a telugu movie… Great, that you have ventured to watch Telugu movie!!!! how come buddy???;) telugu mataladu ?:)?

    kanagu: Subtitles readlu laadu da 😀 😀

  5. June 7, 2010 9:43 am

    Heard a lot about this movie from my friends! 🙂

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    The herione is very pretty!

    kanagu: YES.. she is 😀 😀

  6. June 7, 2010 11:13 am

    Oh u saw this one .. nice Kanagu 🙂 I hv nt seent he movie 😉
    I lovvve one song from this movie .. Panchadara etc.. etc.. 🙂 🙂

    kanagu: I love that initial whistle part of that song 🙂 🙂 Dheera dheera is also good 🙂

  7. June 7, 2010 2:26 pm

    I have heard a lot about this movie. I guess they have plans to remake it in Hindi wid Hrithik. Let me see if I can get a Cd of this, I would prefer watching such movies in a bigger screen than that of my lappie.

    kanagu: What to do.. its out of theatres now and DVD is also out now 😀 😀

  8. June 7, 2010 3:04 pm

    Being a Telugu, i hardly watch any telugu movies but yeah recently I did manage to see this movie and i liked it. Its pretty good, you know. I love the song Panchadara Bomma song from this movie and its one of the most played songs on my I-pod :).

    kanagu: Yeah.. its a nice movie 🙂 🙂 oh… I loved that initial whistle part of that song 😀 😀

  9. June 7, 2010 8:41 pm

    Despite being part-Telugu, I don’t understand anything other than ‘Nana’ 🙂

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    So I can’t watch this movie. I wish though, that this is quickly remade into Tamil/Hindi so I can enjoy it too. Have always enjoyed movies with a flashback/historical twist 🙂

    kanagu: You can watch it with Subtitles Pals.. I always watch the movies like that…

  10. June 7, 2010 10:37 pm

    I came I read and I don’t know what to say 😀

    kanagu: ha ha ha 🙂 🙂 there you said it 🙂

  11. June 8, 2010 1:11 pm

    naaku telugu raa ledhu!!!

    kanagu: The case is same here 😀 😀

  12. June 10, 2010 11:13 am

    I dont understand telugu but still the plot looks interesting. It is a rebirth story and the first video where he is fighting with 100 men looked pretty good. I looove movies where there is a war or battle or historic ones. Let me see if I can have someone translate dialogues so that I can watch. Nice review Kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: In the recently released DVD subtitles are there Ak… so you can watch it for sure 😀 😀

  13. June 14, 2010 12:03 pm

    Oh !! What promos they did for this movie to present Teja to tollywood….but I didnt see it.

    kanagu: Watch it sometime.. you will love it 🙂 🙂
    One thing – one of the singers, Anuj Gurwara, was my neighbour in Hyd and he won some award too for this movie… 🙂

    kanagu: Oh.. nice 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

