Skip to content

Dark City – [1998] – English

August 24, 2010

You might have watched a Sci-fi movie. An action movie, a thriller, a mystery, a drama or even a horror movie too but how about everything rolled into one. And there you get this movie, ‘Dark City’. A film which is set in the futuristic world where humans were confused souls and don’t remember who they really are.

The story is told through the eyes of the protagonist J. Murdoch who is in search of himself as he doesn’t have any memory of who is he, where is he, how he got there. And we ourselves get bewildered on the happenings in the city. He is stuck in a hotel room naked accompanied by a murdered woman. He dresses up and before he can leave, he receives a call from Dr. Schreber who says that he know that Murdoch was erased of all his memories, he can help him and asks him to get away from the hotel as the ‘Strangers’ are looking for him. And there begins his quest for searching about himself and there it reveals the dark secrets about the ‘Dark City’.

In between his search, he was questioned by the Inspector Bumstead for murdering 5 women. Inspector believes that he hasn’t done those killings but still inquires him as he is the strongest suspect. His wife Emma tries to help him to get out of the legal difficulties. But the danger was following just like the shadow in the form of ‘Strangers’. Strangers are all look like corpse-like structures and has the ability to change the physical reality just by will. Murdoch has some powers of strangers to defend himself.

The moment the husky voice of Dr. Schreber says ‘First (A Pause) there was (A Pause) Darkness, then (A Pause) Came the (A Pause) Strangers’ we are sucked into this movie and when he calls up Murdoch and say that ‘I know you are confused….’ We are as confused as Murdoch was.

I loved each and every character in this movie from the protagonist to those corpse-like Strangers. The character J. Murdoch was played by Rufus Sewell plays a man who is confused, desperate and the savior of the people. And he does exceedingly well. More than anybody the man who just stole the show according to me is, Kiefer Sutherland who played the character of Dr. Schreber. His husky voice and those pausing pronunciation of the words brings a gothic feel to this movie. Those men in black coats who are called as Strangers bring horror in us. Even the little kid among them was as sinister as the other men.

And then there is my favorite Jennifer Connelley. It’s always a treat to watch her on screen and I always believed she is the most beautiful actress to grace the silverscreen. She is perfect to the role of a young woman who betrayed her husband and in the brink of redemption.

Dark city is a different world which is frightening; at times it is stunning to look at (Only to look). The art designer and the cinematographer of the movie worked wonders for this movie in creating this city. It’s a new vision. It’s a nightmare for the people who live there. There is no life except the humans. The background score is another thing which blended perfectly to give that horror feel for this movie. I loved the score which comes when the clock hits 12’O Clock. Absolutely frightening.

The director of this movie Alex Proyas has written an impeccable screenplay which stays just tight except for the last few minutes which I feel a bit rushed. Except that he created a wonderful movie here. It is known to be the ancestral movie for Matrix and Inception. There is vision, there is imagination, there is solid story, there is edge of the moments and I can’t find a single reason why shouldn’t watch this movie twice. I think this is the one of the ultimate science fiction movies ever made and for sure will be lapped up the Sci-fi fans like AK 😀

Just couldn’t stop myself from posting one of the clips of Jennifer Connelley 😀 😀

___________________________________________________________________________

Trailer:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 6:58 pm

    Keep watching more movies…you make me jealous !!! I never get to see one movie properly…if it happens, its a rare treat. 🙂

    kanagu: ha ha ha… hope you get the treat 😀 😀

  2. Sri permalink
    August 24, 2010 9:39 pm

    Two years back I watched this movie on a DVD and did not understand a bit. Tried to do it by reading from imdb.com. Didn’t help.

    kanagu: Hmmm… maybe if you see this now you may love it bro 🙂 🙂

    My reason for watching this movie was Sutherland. One should see Phonebooth to listen to his voice. But after watching some shows of 24, now I just hate his voice, not that I watch any movie or TV shows these days.

    I was just looking at side bar and I noticed Red Rock West. I even counted how many times he enters and leaves the town. And every time he does, we see a name post. In this movie, Dennis Hopper is at his best as usual playing a bad guy.

    kanagu: Even Nicolous cage is awesome.. its one simple but efficient thriller 🙂 🙂

  3. August 25, 2010 10:41 am

    What’s up thala? No tamil posts for awhile. I had to come searching for you. 🙂

    kanagu: SMS ku reply pannupa 🙂 🙂 I don’t know what to write there Karthik.. let me see.. 🙂

    Hmm. The movie seems interesting enough i will try to watch.

    kanagu: Let me know whether you liked the movie KArthik 🙂 🙂

  4. August 25, 2010 2:31 pm

    Ahem. So, this post is actually about Jennifer Connelley 😉 😉

    kanagu: I have written about the movie, story and why you should watch it.. but of all the things you noticed only Jennifer Connelley 😥

    • August 25, 2010 3:59 pm

      Ahem..so, you’re visiting every blog with the same kind of question?? Ennammayithu, swaram..konjum variety podunga comment-sectionukku 😛

      kanagu: Come on Swaram.. me too demand that 😀 😀 Show some variety na.. 😉

      Ok, now before all the tamil-speaking stalwarts come rolling up their sleeves and lungis to thrash me for crucifying the language..I’m off..swooooosh!

      kanagu: Don’t worry Deeps.. 😀 😀 your tamil is better than more tamilians 😀 😀

  5. August 25, 2010 4:03 pm

    Sorry, Kanagu, am not a fan of futuristic-movies :(.

    kanagu: 😐 😐

    The only thing that garnered my remote interest in this review was the mention of Kiefer Sutherland 🙂 Am a huge fan of his ever since I started watching 24.

    kanagu: I didn’t watched that serial 😦 😦 let me check whether I can see that..

  6. August 25, 2010 4:37 pm

    The only good thing here is Jennifer Connelley ! 😀 😀 😀

    kanagu: My entire post is not better than a single photo and video 😐 😐 😆

  7. August 25, 2010 6:09 pm

    Hello Kanagu beta,
    I returned yesterday and thought I should pay you a visit.

    kanagu: Welcome back and thank you Sir 😀 😀

    So you recommend that we watch the dark city…hmm! Would it make any difference if I told you that Delhi is a dark city too – with all that crime around – and with those politicians trying to brainwash us into believing what they want us to…
    – Gorakh Nath.

    kanagu: ha ha ha 😀 😀 Then many metros will come under that Sir 🙂 🙂

  8. August 26, 2010 12:06 am

    You watch so so many movies. I wish we were in same town. I would have a great company to watch movies with 😦

    kanagu: Oh Harini!!! I will send the list of films I watch here.. You can watch them 🙂 🙂 Hope you get a good company soon 🙂 🙂

  9. August 27, 2010 12:15 am

    you are on a review spree these days I guess 😉

    as always, nice review; but again not my kinda movie 😛

    kanagu: I have written another post inbetween Neha.. you didn’t read it 😛 😛
    Thank you 🙂 🙂

  10. August 27, 2010 3:23 am

    Somethings always confuse me about these Sci-fi movies. So, I comfortably avoid such genres.

    kanagu: Try watching them Anu… you will like it 😀 😀

    But, I should say that your posts are so inviting, that I am enough encouraged to watch them 🙂 🙂

    kanagu: Hope you don’t curse me after watching it 😀 😀

  11. August 27, 2010 10:55 am

    macheeee thanks for the suggestion… enga room la next movie ithu than…

    kanagu: Unaku pudichirundhuda nu sollu machi 😀 😀

    but suddenly i felt the first bt review like resident evil… or i am legend!

    kanagu: Athuku thana machi post title-la title potten 😀 😀

  12. October 2, 2010 4:02 pm

    sounds like a v interesting movie

    kanagu: Yes.. it is.. watch it Reema 🙂

Leave a Reply

