Skip to content

Enthiran

October 6, 2010

Now in Tamilnadu, there are only 2 kinds of people. 1) One’s who watched Enthiran 2) One’s who didn’t. Such is the craze for the movie that it took a stupendous opening all over here making the people to earn the tickets. Even the people who don’t understand Tamil expected this movie. Superstar Rajinikanth, Director Shankar, A.R.Rahman, Aishwarya Rai and 200 crores budget made this movie a biggest combination to be ever assemble in Indian cinema in near future. Did they deliver what is expected out of them?

‘Enthiran’ – is it the Terminator of Indian cinema? Certainly not. It’s a sci-fi movie with desi masala to it. Plot is very simple and the events making around this makes the film interesting. Vaseegaran puts in lot of work to create a robot called Chitti which can do the work of 100 humans and his dream was to deliver it to Indian army. As it doesn’t know about the good and bad, Vaseegaran explains and makes it to understand about the human emotions which creates flurry of problems as it falls in love with Vaseegaran’s girlfriend Sana. What happens next was graphically told in the movie.

Rajini as expected rules the screen with his antics and villianism through Robot Chitti. From the cute, innocent robot to a man killing machine he shows various mannerisms with ease. The evil laughter of him causes fear in everybody and we can’t stop admiring his style when he says ‘Happy diwali folks’ with dozens of guns in his hand. As Vaseegaran there is not much to do for Rajini as this character is completely overshadowed by Chitti character. Aishwarya Rai still looks really good and we could believe it when Chitti loves her. Her dance moves are great. Sandhanam and Karunas didn’t have much scope in the movie except for their some cracking ‘one-liners’ or ‘double’ meaning dialogues.

Technically the film is too good except for the fire accident scene in first half. The final 20 minutes have some best graphics we have ever seen in any of the Indian movie. Cinematographer Ratnavelu captured the vision of Shankar and beautiful sets of Sabu Cyril richly. Editor Antony provides near perfect entertainer in the first half with his neat cuts and he struggles to make the second half entertaining as graphics overtakes the story.

A.R.Rahman songs are already a hit with listeners. For me the best numbers in this album were ‘Puthiya manitha’, ‘Arima Arima’ and ‘Irumbile oru’. For a change, Rahman’s background score matches the quality of the songs and the score of version 2.0 absolutely rocks. Usually Shankar will picturize the songs in the way it will be more likable. But that is not the case this time. There are huge sets as in his earlier movies but they fail to stun us like they did earlier.

Enthiran races away in the first half with lot of wittiness based on the struggle the Robot encounters in the real world and the way humans struggle with the Robot. Some of the interesting sequences in the first half were the question and answer session with the Chitti in the press meet conference, when Chitti meets the goons in temple festival and the ending portion of the fire accident sequence. When Danny says that ‘Things will get interesting from now’ at the interval we are expecting the movie to deliver a knockout punch but instead it makes the viewers to puzzle about the happenings in the movie. 3 songs in the second half hampers the pace of the movie very much and they are not even placed at appropriate places. There are lots of scenes like the one based on the mosquito Ranguski, Aishwarya rai with Kalabavan Mani tests the patience of the viewer. And the ending is one of the dumbest I have ever seen for a movie of this big scale.

Shankar from his first movie pushed his budget limits to set a new record every time, the same can’t be said about his creative skills. This film which was about be his next after his own masterpiece ‘Muthalvan’ didn’t took off due to budget issues. If it was filmed then, I am sure it would have been better as Shankar’s writing was tight then. These days he spends way beyond a movie’s script requires. I wonder what would have been on the screen if this was not his dream project.

Enthiran – High on grandeur, very low in substance.

PS:I planned to watch this movie by Monday morning but unexpectedly I got a call from my friends that they have a ticket for Saturday morning show. I went and watched it. After watching the movie my reaction is, ‘why I have to watch this again??? 😦 :(‘

PPS: Sorry for my absence in blog world guys. Internet connection is gone in home from last Saturday due to thunderstorm. Hoping that it will be restored by this weekend.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 11:56 pm

    Hmmm.. saw the movie last evening… and wasnt too impressed… for all the hype, thot it was ok… 🙂

    kanagu: Yeah.. its a ok movie.. there is nothing to be rave about it..

    Awesome locations -YES!!

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  2. October 7, 2010 12:25 am

    What Kanagu – you are the only person saying this 🙂 Every review I read was raving about it – but then I think, hard core Rajini fans must be delighted 🙂

    kanagu: Some Rajini fans are disappointed as there is no opening scene for Rajini 😀 😀

    Interesting review, Kanagu. I had no plans to watch it, so let me enjoy your review instead 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Smitha 🙂 It is watchable once Smitha 🙂 Poohi will love it 🙂

  3. October 7, 2010 1:15 am

    Boohooo, I belong to the second category 😦 Hubby saw it last weekend, so I’m hoping to see it this weekend of the next!!

    kanagu: Why u didn’t went with ur hubby Pals??? you should have seen it…

    @Smitha, why don’t we go and watch it together? 😉

    kanagu: So whats the plan??? 😉

    • October 12, 2010 12:02 pm

      @Smits @ Pals: Grrrrrrrr..envy envy envy! You guys planning a girl’s day out without me 😥

  4. October 7, 2010 7:28 am

    A wonderful review, Kanagu.

    kanagu: Thanks Shilpa 🙂 🙂

    There is so much hype around this movie. Will not be able to see it, unless it appears with sub-titles, so am happy reading your review. 🙂

    kanagu: Its released in hindi also Shilpa.. try to watch it..

  5. aryan's mom permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:52 am

    Well for me no chance of seeing it in theatre..in near future….But I want to watch it just for rajani….thalaivar

    kanagu: Don’t worry.. It will be running in some theatre after 3 or 4 months 🙂

  6. October 7, 2010 10:19 am

    I was wondering when a review wud be put up from ur end…! 🙂

    kanagu: I have become lazy na 😀 😀

    To see a second time u are saying haiyoo do i have to??? Doesnt speak much abt it, does it? 🙄
    But anyway I am watching it !!! 😀 😀

    Havent seen it yet 😦

    kanagu: So did you watched it Ash??? what is ur comments???

    • Swaram permalink
      October 7, 2010 10:56 am

      LOL I ws wondering too 😛 😛

      kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    • October 8, 2010 10:23 am

      even I was waiting for the review 😛

      kanagu: 🙂 🙂

  7. October 7, 2010 10:32 am

    I am wondering if I should take the trouble to go to the theatre to watch this movie, Kanagu!

    kanagu: Hmmm.. now you have watched it 🙂 🙂

    Good review!

    kanagu: Thank you 🙂 🙂

  8. October 7, 2010 5:56 pm

    And I am in the second category still….che…what a shame for a Rajini fan… 😦 😦 😦

    kanagu: Yeah.. its a shame 😀 😀 When r u going to watch it?????

    What ??? U want to watch it again – why ??? Like Avatar huh ????

    kanagu: No.. I don’t want to.. I didn’t liked it..

    How can u forget Sujatha ???? Its his story, right ????

    kanagu: No credit was given to Sujatha in the movie.. 😦 only part he is mentioned is in dialogues, I think..

    Good review…I am waiting to see it….pestering my hubby to get tickets. 😉

    kanagu: ha ha ha!!! good luck 🙂 🙂

    Do I live in the same city like you ???? Was there a thunderstorm Kanagu ???? 🙄

    kanagu: For both teh ques.. the ans is yes 😀 😀

    • October 7, 2010 5:57 pm

      Kanagu, you dont read my blog huh ???? 😦 😦 Its not there on the list….I noticed it only now…

      kanagu: Andha side la irukura list-ah ellam periya vishayama eduthukaatheenga.. naan update pannum podhu miss panni iruppen.. add panidren 🙂

  9. October 7, 2010 6:37 pm

    I m in second category..didnt watch it..
    I enjoyed reading your review..now it seems no need to go for movie

    kanagu: hmmm.. many people liked the movie Rashmi.. but somehow it didn’t impressed me.. so don’t curse me if you like it when u watch it later 🙂 🙂

  10. October 7, 2010 10:55 pm

    I liked your view on this…but this definitely did not fall below the expectations!! I accept some scenes were unnecessary, but they are just added to give Indian touch to it! Otherwise we Indians will never accept a total sci-fi movie..right??? And for the movie to be accepted by all kinds of people in india!!

    kanagu: Is that mosquito and Kalabavan mani sequences are really required??? I don’t think so… the first half sequences are good..

    I saw the movie twice on 2 consecutive days – 1st and 2nd day…and I am waiting to watch the movie again!

    kanagu: hmmm.. 🙂 🙂 Cool 🙂

    Hey..and I loved Chitti’s character being portrayed, his cute little straight dialogues were just humourous. And ofcourse there were no punch dialogues as in most of Rajni’s movies, but that’s good for this movie!!
    “I’m Chitti Speed 1TB, memory 1zB”, and When villain Chitti sarcastically says “Robo” and mimics as sheep “Bahhaaa” – Thalaivar has shown his versatility in acting!

    kanagu: Truly Rajini makes this movie watchable… else it would have been a trash for sure…

    If there’s just one movie I can watch in my whole life, I would choose THIS!!

    kanagu: too early to say that Vaish… I don’t think this movie will stand the test of time 🙂

  11. October 7, 2010 10:58 pm

    Oppps…forgot!! welcome back Kanagu 🙂 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Vaish 🙂 🙂

  12. October 8, 2010 10:21 am

    Hmm first review which is unbiased.. I see Rajni fans raving about it, saying it’s better than Matrix blah blah everywhere.. I am sure I wont like it, I am skipping it 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks AK.. and movie is watchable once.. the first half is good 🙂 🙂

  13. vin permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:38 pm

    Hey Kanagu….i would love to watch it again n again!!

    kanagu: Another rajini fan was born 🙂 🙂

    this is my first Rajni movie n the only thing i found stupid was the mosquito stuff…rest was super…just like i had been told about Rajni movies

    kanagu: I found the whole second half as disjointed and uninteresting 😦 😦

    from ur review i get a feel of the changes in Shankar n Rajni movies n what u have been sad about…n why u said ‘Haiyo..i have to watch it again!’

    kanagu: 😦 😦 I was like when this movie is going to end while watching it for first time and slept for half of the movie during second time..

    thanks for sharing ur views…i would rate it 5 stars for sheer heck of a timepass movie!!

    kanagu: hmmm.. 🙂 🙂 many enjoyed this movie 🙂

    P.S: thunderstorm in chennai…the weather gods seem to be quite confused da!

    kanagu: Yes.. he/she is.. 😀 😀 Its raining most of the time in Chennai.. 🙂 you won’t believe it 🙂

  14. October 8, 2010 6:43 pm

    ah, this movie has been reviewed and talked about everywhere..I don’t think i will be watching it 🙂

    kanagu: Watch it Neha.. you may like it 🙂 🙂

  15. October 10, 2010 3:21 pm

    Hmm haven’t seen it yet and I guess I won’t.

    kanagu: hmmm…

  16. October 12, 2010 12:04 pm

    I was waiting to rea your review, Kanagu. Very well written. I’m not sure if I’ll watch it. Not a big fan of Rajni. Neither Ash. Guess I’ll wait for the DVD to be out 🙂

    kanagu: Its better to watch in Theatre than DVD Deeps… graphics will be good to see in big screen…

  17. Indy permalink
    October 13, 2010 10:32 am

    There was a special screening here but I cud not go- it was just too costly , rumours were that good seats were around $500! So I am waiting to watch this some time later, till then shall keep ur review in mind! Tch- what a pity!!!!

    kanagu: Its an ok movie.. hope you will like it Indy 🙂 🙂

  18. October 13, 2010 2:59 pm

    Hey Kanagu..

    there are lot of good things in the movie to cherish.. particularly the robot rajini’s performance…

    i liked the movie very much.. I feel its a must watch atleast one time if you are not a rajini fan..

    kanagu: Welcome here Anbu..
    I am not saying that whole movie is trash.. but the second half is bad which makes the whole movie to look bad..

  19. October 15, 2010 12:28 am

    Kanagu I m skipping reading the review because I havent been able to get the tickets of the movie yet :(. I want to watch it no bias you know. Sometimes what someones says sticks to you and reduces the fun. SO i will read it as soon as i watch the movie.

    kanagu: Sure Harini!!! no problem 🙂 🙂

    Oh, if and only if I could get the tickets now :(.

    kanagu: You have the option of watching it in IMAX… watch it there Harini 🙂 🙂

    • October 25, 2010 6:42 pm

      I just saw the movie and I loved it! I belong to Rajni and Ash’s fan group so this should be no surprise :P. As promised I read the review now.

      I couldnt get tickets in Imax :(. They were full :(.

  20. October 16, 2010 11:17 am

    I watched ‘Endhiran’ yesterday! It was good in some parts and just OK in some parts! Remembered Sujatha’s story, ‘Jeeno’, a lot! His contribution is not acknowledged properly by Shankar at the music release function too, don’t know why!

    kanagu: Even in movie only in dialogues his name is mentioned… maybe his death made Shankar not to give due credits to him..

    The last half hour was repetition of the magnetic power…slightly boring in some areas.

    kanagu: True.. I am completely bored by too much of graphics..

    Rajini and Aish are good, though Rajini could have used more make-up!

    kanagu: yeah.. they looked good.. and robo rajini didn’t have the best makeup..

  21. October 16, 2010 2:45 pm

    I liked the movie 🙂 ././.

    kanagu: Welcome back machi.. its been a long time (years) since you have visited here..
    I am not that fond of this movie 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

