Skip to content

The ‘Rocky’ fan

December 1, 2010

Its one Sunday. A rainy day. October 2005. I am eagerly waiting for the movie ‘Rocky’ to be aired in Vijay TV. There was a sense of excitement in me as it is a film based on boxing. But little I know that this guy on screen going to show the path of life for me.

Not many fictional characters have influenced me like ‘Rocky’. Rocky was a small time boxer who lives in Philadelphia, goes on to meet the world champion in a fairy tale manner. He has nothing special about him. He is just another ordinary man who does something like boxing (yeah.. its just a way of earning for him), making the defaulters to pay the money to his boss to run his life. He is not a ‘hero’ material. He won’t do anything drastically which may bring harmony to the people around him. So what I like in him?

He was true. He never pretends to be some great person.

When his girlfriend Adrian asks him ‘Why anybody wants to be a fighter?’. He answers ‘If you want to be a fighter you should be a moron and bum’. When she says that he was not, he replies ‘I am at least half a bum’. ๐Ÿ™‚

When he was called up by by the manager of Apollo Creed, the Champion, he thinks that he was called as sparring partner (Somebody who fights in practice sessions). When the manager explains that he was going to fight Apollo Creed he refuses saying he is no match to him and it won’t be a good fight. At last he was convinced by Creed’s manager.

Even to her loving girl, he keeps talking in a simple manner. He likes to be with her and he never scolds or shows his anger or frustration on her.

Towards his son he has great love and keeps calling him as champ. And when his son accuses him of making his life difficult, he tells him what he want to and never shows any anger. That’s a legendary dialogue,

The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that! I’m always gonna love you no matter what. No matter what happens. You’re my son and you’re my blood. You’re the best thing in my life. But until you start believing in yourself, ya ain’t gonna have a life. Don’t forget to visit your mother.

The relationship between him and his coach is wonderful. The most interesting part between them is, after denying a locker for Rocky, Rocky gets the chance to fight for Heavyweight championship and Mickey comes to Rocky’s home. He asks Rocky to let him train him. But Rocky who feels he should have treated better shouts at him and the coach slowly moves out of home. After the coach makes few steps in the street, Rocky runs back to him and makes sure that everything is alright between them. He trains under him till he passes away.

He always does whatever help he can to the people around him. Even though he and his wife’s brother have differences between them he lets him to get money in whatever ways through him.

He was kind and gives respect to everybody. The way he talks with the animals is a treat to watch. He has respect to them too.

The boxer in him comes out only inside the ring. He is ready to take the hits and he always determined about going the distance (Lasting till the final round). He takes the pounding and keeps coming at his opponents. It won’t just take the physical power but needs will power. Well, the champions have that!!! HE IS A CHAMPION.

(Not able to get the original video of Rocky I which is more inspiring. This is a mix and its not bad)

Well… when he parted in the final part, I felt somebody in real leaving me. Some kind of grief stuck me. But one thing is, he has given me enough lessons to lead my life ๐Ÿ™‚

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 8:57 am

    Firrrst!!! Loved the post, Kanagu. I’ve never seen the movie, though they keep airing it. Next time, will certainly watch it ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Pal!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Watch them.. at least first and last part.. they are heart warming ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. December 1, 2010 9:03 am

    Firstuuuuuuuuuuuuu!! :mrgreen:

    • December 1, 2010 9:03 am

      Er….seconduuuuu! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™„

      kanagu: ha ha ha.. you got it ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

      • December 1, 2010 9:04 am

        Rocky is an awesome series. In fact I was wondering why nobody wrote about it so far ๐Ÿ™‚

        kanagu: Me too wondering ๐Ÿ™„ ๐Ÿ™„

        My brother is a huge fan of this series and has an entire collection with him….
        I am yet to watch all of it though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        kanagu: you should watch them Ash… atleast the first and last parts.. too good ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. December 1, 2010 11:10 am

    I have watched this one and it is OK. My son has got the full set with him.

    kanagu: hmmm.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. December 1, 2010 11:54 am

    Many ppl told me the film is good in actionwise.. i always thought its a normal movie of heroism

    First time a different look.. Now im interested to watch it..

    kanagu: Its more than the boxing.. its about love and feelings ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. December 1, 2010 12:12 pm

    Never seen Rocky, but my best friend swears by it!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    kanagu: then u should watch it na ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    He especially loves to watch his innovative ways of creating his”exercise” equipment with what was available around him!

    kanagu: ha ha ha.. thats another thing to love him ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. December 1, 2010 12:41 pm

    Wow! Some nice lessons to take from the movie indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    He likes to be with her and he never scolds or shows his anger or frustration on her. – I like him ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    kanagu: ha ha ha.. girls.. I tell ya ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. December 1, 2010 2:11 pm

    Oh !! I too have watched Rocky, with hubby and because of him…. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yeah, simple movie, great msg….I think I like Stallone’s movies – those Rambo series – I am a gr8 fan !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: More than Rambo.. I love Rocky.. a simple and lovable guy ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. December 1, 2010 7:04 pm

    I havenโ€™t watched the movieโ€ฆ
    But your write up proves why was the excitement all over you!!

    kanagu: hmmm.. try to watch them deeps..

    Was away for a whileโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜›

    kanagu: ah.. I know ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. December 1, 2010 9:56 pm

    I thought the rocky series was all about dishoom dishoom, so stayed away from it !!

    kanagu: Its more than that… actually action contributes only 25% of the film, atmost..

    Avalavu message irukkaaa indha padathile ?? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    kanagu: Yes.. there is ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • December 18, 2010 4:52 pm

      same here..though heard a lot about Rocky series but boxing and stallone are not my cup of tea. Hey u should watch the movie “Oscar” to see Stallone do a comic role.

  10. December 2, 2010 9:53 am

    Havent watched a single movie but kinda know the story.. you remember the scene where he climbs the stairs and raises his hands? I saw that building (since my friend is a Rocky fan) and took pic with a Rocky statue that has been made there in the same posture : this scene

    kanagu: I know, I love and I watched that scene many a times AK ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ I don’t like to travel to US.. but my only wish is to go that stairs and jump like Rocky ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Must watch the movie sometime, but not sure I will like it ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: I am sure you will like it.. watch 1st and last part.. they are good ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. December 4, 2010 11:54 pm

    That dialogue which you put up is very impressive. That reminds us of a Karate teacher who was fighting with his students. Every time he would win, of course! One of the students asked him why he was doing that, as he and every one else knew that he would win. And the teacher replies that he was training the students to take the hits and beatings! He says that in Karate, getting hits is as important as giving them and the one who can bear the pain and bounce back right in, is the champion! This actually happened in my school and got to know through my seniors.

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: hmmm.. quite true na.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for Sharing DI ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. December 5, 2010 12:25 am

    I havent seen the movie but know someone who is as crazy about the movie as you if not more. I hear its a great movie and even you say it now.

    kanagu: Actually I was wondering why you have missed this movie in your top 100 list ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    May be I should try and sit through it?

    kanagu: You should and as a movie fanatic I think this is a movie you shouldn’t miss..

  13. December 5, 2010 12:18 pm

    HAven’t watched the movie yet…should watch it soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: Watch it soon Vishesh.. you may love it ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway how are you?

    kanagu: I am doing good.. how are you???

Trackbacks

  1. My favorite movies – Tag « Straight Drive

Leave a Reply

