Skip to content

As I Pass by – 16/01/2010

January 16, 2011

A regular feature:

I am thinking about make this ‘As I passed by’ thing as a weekly series so that it will bring some kind of regularity in my blogging and also I can at least write a post every week without fail šŸ™‚ Lets see how it goes.

New year eve in Brigade road:

This new year I was in Bangalore with my friends. They suggested we can be in Brigade road which is the most happening place when the new year is going to born. We reached there by 11 itself. There was light arrangements throughout the brigade road which exceeded my expectations. Guys were just coming in almost most of them drunk, dancing on the roads in groups. Police had a hard time I started to expect fire works when the clock hits 12 but nothing came out except for few leftover rockets of Diwali was burst from a nearby complex šŸ˜¦

Some craziness over New year:

My friends said that we are going to walk back from Brigade to some distance and they called themselves as members of ‘Madwalkers club’. Maybe I should have pondered over the name correctly instead I accepted which made me to walk from Brigade road to Madiwala.

Really they were ‘Madwalkers’ šŸ™‚

I witnessed the below scenes as we walked from Brigade road towards Madiwala after 12.

  • A guy who was completely in high ‘spirit’ didn’t miss a chance to hug whoever came in his way šŸ™‚
  • A auto stopped by in traffic, a guy from a group went over to driver and asked for the ride. Driver just nodded the head, all the guys literally jumped into auto in whichever way possible and at the end there were totally 6 guys inside it šŸ™‚
  • People were so enthusiastic that night with many risking by putting their half body outside their car just to wish ‘Happy New year’ to unknown persons like me.
  • One even went further with all the rights and wished me, ‘Machan dei… Happy new year da’ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

Aadukalam:


There are only 3 movies I am expecting this year in Tamil. One among them is, Aadukalam. Convinced my friend to start early from his office to catch the first show of the movie by 9 AM. But later only seen that there is a 6 AM show!!! Damn! And I am glad that I have watched the movie soon and it almost fulfilled my expectations. Its a story based on rooster fight in rural Tamilnadu and how the victory of somebody close affects the head of that group psychologically. The casting and performances are impeccable. Songs are already a rage and whistles were flying at the beginning of each song in theatre. Any movie lover should watch it. A cinema we can be proud of.

Some rocking songs from the movie:

Songs influencing movie:


This is about the movie ‘Ilaignan’. The story and screenplay of the movie was penned by Tamilnadu CM Mr.Karunanidhi. I am skeptical about this movie as he lost his magical touch in silverscreen now and most of his recent movies were close to trash. Obviously I didn’t bothered about the movie until Vimmuuu mentioned that the songs of this movie were good in his recent V-tunes post. I heard the songs and liked it. I decided to watch the movie. But I saved myself from the torture when I watched the trailer. One of the most poorly made trailer in recent times which stopped me from entering into theatre šŸ™‚ Care to watch it?? Here is the link.

And the song I loved very much from the movie. It almost throws us back to the periodic era. Wonderful orchestration by Vidyasagar. Hear it, you will love the music.

Chennai Book fair:

Its an annual event in Chennai where almost all the Tamil book publishers come over. I went there by last Saturday, bought few Tamil books and English book ‘iWoz’ suggested by DI in one of his recent posts. The interesting thing is, it was sold for just 95 rupees. In that same shop there are lot of novels available at much discounted price that 3 novels cost @ Rs.250. But we got to search to get what we need and for sure person sitting at the billing won’t know a thing about the titles inside šŸ™‚ Anybody in Chennai can make a visit there and I am sure you won’t return without buying one as there is lot which will force us to buy.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 8:18 pm

    You could have got that iwoz book at a lesser price – 0 rs! I was about to give it to you next month šŸ™‚ Anyways, the book is worth its price…

    kanagu: Hmmm… thanks DI.. I have seen it for 95 rupees.. and didn’t want to left it there šŸ™‚ I need Varghese Kurian’s book ‘I too had a dream’ from you.. I am eager to read about him šŸ™‚

    Till before a couple of years, me and my cousins would go in two bikes all around chennai on the new year night. The beaches were always full of crowd – traffic jams are usual during that time. That was so much fun šŸ˜€ Then we would drink a juice at the Juice Shop near Besant Nagar beach at 2:00 AM to end the celebrations! What a way to start a year!!

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Cool DI.. we too went to a Pizza shop to have some soft drinks. no juices there šŸ˜¦

    • January 29, 2011 9:55 pm

      Sure Kanagu, as I have read that book, I can give it to you when I come to Chennai.

      Destination Infinity

      kanagu: Thank you very much DI šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

      • February 1, 2011 12:04 pm

        cool..even I want to read “iwoz” book.. must go to a bookfair sometime.. never been to one.. end up paying a lot for books I buy in stores šŸ˜¦

  2. January 16, 2011 10:09 pm

    Blorians have always been crazy !! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    kanagu: Hmmm… no… many of them were from Tamilnadu bro šŸ™‚

    Heard good things about Aadukalam; not released here yet šŸ˜¦

    kanagu: Yeah.. its good and you should watch it šŸ™‚

    No hopes on Ilaignan though, but for a change the songs came out good in a CMs movie ! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ and Im glad that atleast one person is reading V-tunes ! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    kanagu: I always read them to check whether your music knowledge and taste are upto mine šŸ˜‰

    • January 18, 2011 10:08 am

      why are you classifying all Bangalorians as crazy?!! Hmmph! šŸ˜› šŸ˜ˆ

    • February 1, 2011 12:05 pm

      “Blorians have always been crazy !! “?? Vimmuu… šŸ˜” šŸ˜”

  3. January 17, 2011 12:20 am

    nice account..u seem to have a great beginning to the new year..

    hope you enjoy these movies šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Neha šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  4. Swaram permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:17 am

    Well, u got free hugs and loads of wishes and mad walks – what more cn u ask for šŸ˜› Awesome way to bring in the new year Kanagu šŸ˜‰

    kanagu: LOL!!! šŸ˜† I can’t ask for more šŸ˜‰

    I remember u spoke abt the book fair last yr too, when u were here šŸ™‚ I so want to attend something like that!

    kanagu: Yeah… but mostly the books are in Tamil here.. you should the book fairs in Bangalore or Delhi. they will b good…

  5. January 18, 2011 3:29 am

    Wow! What a way to start the year šŸ™‚ Madwalkers – they had to be mad to think of walking that much šŸ™‚ But I am sure you guys had a lot of fun! The spirit of the new year is great, isn’t it?

    kanagu: Yeah…. we had a lot of fun Smitha šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    And all that talk of Brigade road and Madiwala is making me homesick for Bangalore šŸ™‚

    kanagu: I know.. I know šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    Book fairs! I miss book fairs too now! You had a great start to the new year, Kanagu!

    kanagu: Yup!!! šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ hope yours is as great as mine Smitha šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  6. January 18, 2011 10:10 am

    You walked all the way from Brigade road to Madiwala?!! šŸ™„

    kanagu: yeah šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    LOL@ the free hugs and wishes! šŸ˜€
    Songs are all blocked – will check them out at home! šŸ˜€

    kanagu: Did you liked them Pixie????????

  7. January 19, 2011 2:25 pm

    U just have to write something abt movies na…. šŸ˜‰

    kanagu: What to do??? Half my time goes in discussing them šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    But guess what, I dont like watching that Dhanush on screen….somehow I’ve never watched any of his movies….

    kanagu: he is becoming good now.. u should watch his movies.. he is really doing well…

    New year at Brigade road…OOH !!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€
    Pix, probably, it was part of New year resolution to lose weight… šŸ˜‰

    kanagu: LOL!!!! it was not.. we had some soft drinks during the walk šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  8. January 19, 2011 10:02 pm

    This is the reason all people love Bangalore…no inhibitions, well, to most of them!

    kanagu: šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    I too heard that Aadukalam is good!

    kanagu: Its really good.. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ Hoping you will like it šŸ™‚

    Chennai book fare is always crowded…you can be happy to know that reading habit is still there!

    kanagu: Yes… but its not much crowded during weekdays.. I had office šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦

    Kaavalan is also OK with all the right ingredients, I was told!

    kanagu: Yeah.. its an OK movie.. watchable šŸ™‚

    That is a good idea, please write every week, Kanagu!

    kanagu: Hope I get the stuff šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  9. January 20, 2011 12:02 pm

    Hey kanagu that walk was fun, wasn’t it? particularly when some unknown person called u ‘Machan dei’.. and then the free hugs of course.. šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Atha pathi pesatha šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

    I ve seen Aadukalam, it is good. But I feel, it may follow the Pudupettai’s fate..

    kanagu: Its getting good collections šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    Looks like Ilaignan made on a huge budget and a period story.. MK is good when it comes to period films.. But don’t want to take a risk.. Will see the review then decide on it..

    kanagu: So its a good decision for you to wait for review na.. šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    Book fairs are always nice.. But i prefer to go to bookshops when there are less crowd to buy books than these crowded places..

    kanagu: Book fair also less crowded at most of the times… šŸ™‚

  10. January 21, 2011 12:37 am

    heard about the book fair… will have to check if its there…

    kanagu: It ended by 17th itself šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦

    so many tamil movies got released last week that I could harly find a hindi or english movie in multiplex…

    kanagu: šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ some are released now.. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  11. January 23, 2011 6:55 pm

    Weekly series of ‘As I pass by’ is a greta idea, kanagu! Keep them coming šŸ™‚

    kanagu: I am trying Deeps šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    LOL @ Madwalkers club! I’m sure it must have been fun šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Yes it is!!! šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    Wonderful to know you had a rocking start to the year šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Deeps šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  12. January 27, 2011 2:08 am

    happy new year kanagu !

    kanagu: Thanks Deepa.. wishing you the same šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ how are you????

  13. January 28, 2011 2:46 pm

    great…
    which means we will get to read the review soon šŸ˜›
    a movie buff ha? šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Yup šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  14. January 29, 2011 1:40 am

    As I pass by as a weekly series is a wonderful and novel idea!! šŸ™‚

    kanagu: Thanks Shilpa šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ Its an idea from Tamil blogs šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

    I believe the title should be As I Pass by ā€“ 16/01/2011!! šŸ˜›

    kanagu: I am still in 2010 hangover šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  15. February 1, 2011 12:06 pm

    Never been to Brigade road for new yrs.. I am sure the crowd there will be mad šŸ˜€

    • February 20, 2011 2:39 am

      yeah.. its absolute madness AK šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  16. February 4, 2011 10:50 am

    It’s a great idea to write such a series! Makes you post once a week!
    I hope you had a happy, hug-filled, high ‘spirited’ new year šŸ˜‰
    I saw Adukalam, and I quite enjoyed the movie, except the first 30 minutes which seemed to be slow. But the story line, picturisation, editing, music composition – everything was too good!

    • February 20, 2011 2:41 am

      yup. but see I didn;t done it šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦
      No high Spirits for me šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ I am afraid of it šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

      Hmmm… lovely movie it is… but first 30 minutes are forms the rival gangs and love story šŸ™‚ Liked that too šŸ™‚

  17. February 13, 2011 8:12 am

    Stomach Burning Vijay hater didnt mention Kaavalan.. šŸ˜› šŸ˜€

    • February 20, 2011 2:42 am

      boss… Few people read my blog and I have to keep them coming šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

