Skip to content

The Cup of Madness

February 19, 2011

India goes crazy. Why not me? Well, cricket has always been an integral part of my life from the time I started to slowly understand it (I am still in learning process as they are introducing one or other rule in every tournament). You can believe that when I say the best moments of my life includes the days when Indian cricket team lifted the T20 world cup trophy and 200 runs scored by our own Sachin in an ODI.

World cup has always been a special event, according to me, be it any sports. Cricket is more special as I am following it if not for 365 days at least when India plays. It’s an opportunity for the big players to showcase their talent on big stage. England, South Africa and New Zealand had many good players which includes Mike Gatting, Martin Crowe, Shaun Pollock but nobody remembers them now as they do Clive Lloyd, Sir Viv Richards, Kapil Dev, Allan Border, Imran Khan, Aravinda de Silva, Arjuna Ranatunga, Jayasuriya, Klusener, Steve Β Waugh, Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist. (Allan Donald was remembered but reason is different though πŸ˜‰ ). It’s not only because they are great players, its not only because they performed when it mattered. But it is because it is at the bigger stage when the eyes of whole world was on them.

Previous world cups except for 2007, left me with fond memories. I used to read every crap article written by anybody in a newspaper during the world cup event. 1996 world cup is the first one which I watched completely. Matches held in India and as many in the nation I am also a huge Sachin fan then. One incident I still remember clearly now also. I was studying in 5th grade then. On that day it’s the match between India and Australia in group stage. It’s a day-night match which meant we can’t watch first 20 – 25 overs. While one of my friend worried about India’s fortunes, I said to him, β€œSachin irukkarula” (Sachin is there na??). Such is the confidence I had in Sachin and he very rarely failed. I was such a fan that I used to remember each of the Sachin’s score, how many balls he faced to score those runs and where he is in the tournament’s top-scorers.

Sachin topped the batting chart in that world cup with 584 runs but the Indian campaign ended in a very sorry way with India crashed in Semis. 251 was a chaseable total, I thought. That is the one and only day I cried for a match lost by India. It took me some days to believe that India was not in the cup hunt. I was cursing Kolkatta fans for throwing everything into the ground as I had the belief that India will score 131 runs in remaining 15 overs. Silly me!!! (I am more optimistic about Indian cricket players than me πŸ™‚ )

After that 3 world cups gone, leaving me with wonderful moments like Klusener creaming the bowlers to all parts of the ground, Warne makes the batsmen to look like his bunnies, Sourav’s epic 183, Sachin’s masterclass in 2003, Ponting’s fearful knock in final, India’s bull run to the finals and also the painful moment of India leaving in first round of 2007 which forced me not to watch any further match in that world cup. Well time to move out of nostalgia and start to enjoy the live action. Already Sehwag is restless trying to whack the bowlers, let me join the fun by watching it.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 3:00 pm

    The fun and Cricket mania has just begun πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Go Australia go!!

    • February 19, 2011 6:58 pm

      Hey CB, this is no Hockey πŸ˜›

      Destination Infinity

      • February 19, 2011 9:30 pm

        I off course know that Destination Infinity 😑

      • February 20, 2011 2:14 am

        Why this hockey reference DI.. I think they are very good in cricket too..

      • February 20, 2011 7:01 pm

        The Aussies are not only good in cricket, they are good in every other sport… You saw what happened in CWG right? In fact, this might be one of the few WC where they are not starting as favorites. So, for a long time I wanted to take a dig at them, and this provided one (and perhaps the only) opportunity! as India is expected to perform better, and rated (seeded?) better too. But who knows, the result might be completely different – So, cool down guys πŸ™‚

        Destination Infinity

    • February 20, 2011 2:13 am

      Australia is a good team this time too but they are not a force as they were 4 years ago.. 😦

      India and Srilanka were favorites..

      • March 24, 2011 10:46 pm

        Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy………… πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚

  2. February 19, 2011 4:20 pm

    I always regret not learning more abt cricket, just enough to follow the game! I miss not being part of the fevre that grips everyone for each match season! Oh well!You guys ENJOY!!

    • February 20, 2011 2:15 am

      hmmm… In India you will miss that for sure… but there is time Indy… learn it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. February 19, 2011 4:53 pm

    The madness has just begun! And I have definitely joined in! πŸ˜€

    Loving the fun!

    • February 20, 2011 2:16 am

      Welcome here Neena πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ surely its gonna fun with our batting clicking big time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. February 19, 2011 5:53 pm

    The cricket fever begins!! And at our place it’s not only the live matches but the Highlights, the discussions and the coverage in the various news channels that is followed religiously!! It’s just cricket and nothing else for the next 43 days!! 😐

    • February 20, 2011 2:24 am

      Me too was like that… won;t leave thing that’s related to cricket πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. February 19, 2011 7:04 pm

    Glad you brought the memories of Klusener – That semifinal against Australia is something that I would never forget. I generally don’t watch matches that did’nt involve India, back then… but for some reason I was watching this! During the last few minutes, I was in the edge of my seat and badly wanted SA & Klusener to win… Sadly, it became a tie and Aus won by some other factor…

    But these days I am not watching any cricket – somehow lost interest. Having no TV at home helps a lot to focus energies on productive things πŸ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    • February 20, 2011 2:25 am

      thats one great match but a loss to a very good team 😦 Picture of Klusener kept running to pavilion was something 😐

      yeah.. that helps… TV brings lot of unwanted things and now everything available in WWW πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. February 19, 2011 8:01 pm

    I was just expecting such a cricket post from u and Dhiren….U got to it first. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    R u going for tomorrow’s match in Chennai ????

    • February 19, 2011 10:15 pm

      I was about to write that uma that i expected a post from kanagu about the world cup.

    • February 20, 2011 2:27 am

      Ha ha ha… I think I am becoming very predictable πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ but Dhiren bhai likes test cricket more than anything else πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • February 20, 2011 2:28 am

      No Uma.. I am not going to any match… better to watch in TV.. too many restrictions in ground 😦

  7. February 19, 2011 9:29 pm

    LOL! Ws really fun watching India blasting πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    We used to say that too ‘Sachin idanalla’ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ he he πŸ˜›

    • February 20, 2011 2:27 am

      yeah.. Sehwag was amazing.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I think thats the chant of whole India πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. February 19, 2011 10:16 pm

    Chennai is hosting few matches no,hyd didnt get any matches.Maybe telangana issue is one of the reason for hyd not hosting a match….

    • February 20, 2011 2:29 am

      yes ka… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      But now only I am knowing that hyd was not hosting any match 😦 Quite sad… some matches should have been played there…

  9. February 20, 2011 11:33 am

    U, dhiren and cricket posts πŸ™„ (sounds like pati, patni aur woh doesnt it! :mrgreen: )

    I’m an all-time fan of Sachin, both on the cricket field….and outside from it….where he conducts himself with so much dignity and humility…. and he keeps his life otherwise private…

  10. February 21, 2011 1:02 am

    kanagu saar…as usual the cricket fanatic u r !!

    i was just waiting for ur cricket post…though most of it is beyond me…i know Kapil scored 175 in semi-finals in 83…see i am good!!

    i do read ur rare posts…thru my reader ..sadly reader has no way to comment from there 😦

  11. February 21, 2011 12:25 pm

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Im all for cricket madness! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  12. February 21, 2011 1:07 pm

    How can any one separate Indians from their religion? Cricket is religion in India.
    Next 40 days will prove it.

  13. February 23, 2011 4:29 am

    i live in London and we are planning to watch the India england match in an english Pub! Should be double the fun if India wins! yeehawww!

  14. February 23, 2011 2:03 pm

    Great chance for India to win the WC this time.. We have good team and ideal condiations.. Go India Go..

    Srilanka has the same advantages like India. But I don’t think they can beat us unless we play bad..

    Australia still a stronger team.. Hope They will not run away with the cup just like they did in the last 3 versions..

  15. March 9, 2011 4:27 am

    I kept seeing your FB status messages with every match Kanagu.Cricket fever has struck all of us, and I am no exception!!
    S is not allowing me to watch any other channels, doesn’t go to buy milk and sugar, doesn’t take me out anywhere on sundays 😦
    Cricket, cricket and more cricket!!

  16. March 15, 2011 7:37 am

    Somehow Odi’s dont appeal to me too much… but yes… the world cup is special… ! as a growing up kid I can never forget the euphoria in 83… ! and the 85/86 world series in australia… !

    I hope we keep the nerves and do it… I also hope our media and public give our players some space !!!

  17. March 17, 2011 10:30 pm

    no comments on this post .. but on the previous one , yes …

    your short entry reminded me of Jeffery Archer’s “A Twist In the Tail” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

