Skip to content

Weekend travel: Jog falls

August 30, 2012

I have been pestering my friends for some time that we should go to Jog falls. Weekends gone by with one or other getting busy and for all the talk started by May, it ended up with us reaching there by the last week of July.

Image

Pic courtesy: Wikipedia

There is the only place which closely resembled to what I already had in mind. Mountains surrounded by moss and the water falling down like silver streaks accustomed by the frequent rain what else I could ask for. Its picture perfect.

The way they have built the motel (touring complex) should be appreciated. It is situated at the line of sight of the top of the falls which gives us a wonderful view. How many other falls I have seen in real like this? None. Mist is just moving around this place. You should be smart enough to click your photos when there is no mist and no rain. Quite a task 😀

There is a 1800 step stairway built to reach the bottom of the falls and what fun it was. Surely its energy sapping but once you reach the bottom and see the falls in front of you, you will say its worth for all we spent out and much more. With the water felling down in full glory and the drizzling rains hitting ours with no parts of body left dry which made our cameras to take a hiding in the covers. Not a single picture were clicked by us after reaching the bottom but I will never forget how I laid down on the rocks and enjoyed that falls in front of me.

When we were there are other group people who came there. I talked with one of the friend there which went along in the lines of god and he said, ‘This fall in front of us is, god.’ I can’t agree more. What someone will want when they see a god? May that moment never end, may this kindness towards us be like this forever…. Well that’s the feel I got.

If you know swimming then you are in for more fun. There is a small lagoon created by the falls and you can’t stop yourselves from taking a dive into it. It should be fun. I couldn’t do since I don’t know swimming.

1800 steps climbing down is one thing. Since we are expecting something we won’t feel the tiredness much. Think about climbing up again? We thought that this will be very difficult. But it didn’t pose much problem and we climbed pretty quickly which tell us how well those stairs were made. Wonderful creation!!!

There are two points to see the falls and the guy over there took us in a omni van. Those points were good, gave us the different views of falls and also gave a close look from the edge of the falls. He charged us 300 rupees which we felt nominal. It’s quite a distance for sure.

How can I complete it without mentioning hot and spicy maagi and omlette we had. All the shops in that touring complex had the same menu. There is no need to ask or bother there 🙂

I can surely guarantee it’s a very nice place to visit especially during monsoon. When we went there it’s a peak monsoon period I guess with rain pouring every half an hour. And if you feel like taking your umbrellas I have to say 2 things: 1) your umbrella won’t save you there, 2) umbrellas defeat the purpose of visiting this place.

My advice is, don’t afraid to get wet. I thought about my shoes getting wet and missed to go to a view point. My whole shoe got wet when I went to the bottom of the falls.

My friend’s verdict: For all your pestering, its worth. There you go 🙂

Jog falls is well connected from Shimoga through buses. It won’t be a problem reaching there.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 5:31 am

    I wasn’t aware of Jog Falls, but thanks to your post, I’d like to see it.

  2. August 30, 2012 7:55 am

    lovely! You brought back some precious memories of my Native village which is very close to Jog Falls! 🙂

    Good to see you writing again 🙂
    you really need to write more 😛

    • September 3, 2012 2:47 am

      Whats ur village name Pixie?? trying to write often Pix but I guess there is pun intended 🙂

  3. August 30, 2012 8:59 am

    Unbelievably beautiful place… been on my radar since a long long long time… I hope to visit there soon ! 😀

    I am sure if there are God’s then they are in such places only 😛 😀

  4. August 30, 2012 10:01 am

    Glorious!! 🙂
    I did your pics on FB but didn’t get around to speaking to you on it.
    In fact these pics remind me of Athirapally falls in Kerala….

    • September 3, 2012 2:50 am

      I am yet to tell about them to you Ash.. Especially Kodachadri.. lovely lovely place 🙂 Athirampalli is also good.. but this one in monsoon is a treat 🙂

      • September 24, 2012 11:44 am

        Oh yes! Thanks Ashwathy, I was thinking which ones these remind me of. Athirapally it is like 🙂

  5. August 30, 2012 10:08 am

    The falls looks impressive in the photos. I have been trying to go to Cutralam, but my current schedule keeps me off from traveling anywhere! I hope to visit this Jog falls sooner. I too wonder how we can click photos when the water keeps falling all over us!

    Destination Infinity

    • September 3, 2012 2:52 am

      Fall will look more impressive in real DI.. trust me 🙂 People took pictures during rains too.. risked their cam 🙂

  6. Rashmi permalink
    August 30, 2012 12:50 pm

    its such a pleasure to see these pics..I cant even imagining how much peace you must have felt at place like this..
    1800 steps..these two zeros are too much but seems worth a effort 😉
    good to see you back writing 🙂

    • September 3, 2012 2:52 am

      Thanks Rashmi 🙂 Hoping you and angel are well and good 🙂

      Yeah.. every step is worth 🙂

  7. August 30, 2012 1:30 pm

    Simply beautiful! 1800 steps… sure worth taking them to witness such magnificent falls and nature!
    Maggi and Omlette are the only things on the menu in most hill stations in the North too 😀

    • September 3, 2012 2:53 am

      True shilpa 🙂

      And then I don’t have to worry about the food during trips to North 🙂 🙂

  8. August 30, 2012 3:48 pm

    Wow! Fabulous pics!

  9. August 30, 2012 4:51 pm

    Beautiful pictures, Kanagu! Visiting these places with good friends should be a memorable experience.

  10. August 30, 2012 7:39 pm

    I have never been to any falls.
    But,these pictures are very nice

    • September 3, 2012 2:55 am

      Try to see a falls sir.. you will love it for sure 🙂

  11. August 30, 2012 11:03 pm

    Welcome bk Kanagu and stay back this time 😉

    One of my mooooost fav locations 🙂 And u brought back some really fond memories 😀
    Raja, Rani, Roarer, Rocket 😀

    • September 3, 2012 2:56 am

      Thanks Swaram 🙂 I am trying to 🙂

      It has become one of favorite too now… 🙂 lovely place to be 🙂 yeah.. those four falls.. lovely 🙂

  12. September 1, 2012 7:40 am

    I think it is the highest falls in India..I visited when I was a small kid.. must visit it again 🙂

    • September 3, 2012 2:58 am

      This is the second highest AK.. first one is Nohkalikai Falls in Meghalaya 🙂

  13. Anbu permalink
    September 4, 2012 11:22 am

    A great place to visit over a weekend.. Karnataka has lots of very good places around western ghats to visit over a weekend..

    Good write up Kanagu.. btw where is the write up on Kodachadri trek?

    • September 5, 2012 4:50 am

      True.. We should go on a road trip through Ghat section 🙂

      Thanks da.. will write about it soon 🙂

  14. September 14, 2012 3:43 pm

    Hoggenakal is also there on my list along with Jog Falls

  15. September 24, 2012 11:43 am

    First time here. I really want to go to Jog falls sometime. Infact, this is so on my to-do list next visit to India, only I dont know when/how and with whom!Lovely post!

Leave a comment