Skip to content

It’s blue

August 20, 2009

Ramesh was really tensed while going to office after having stuffed up with all kind of symptoms and safety measures for Swine flu from various sources.  ‘Turn on the TV, its flu. Open the newspaper Already he has got running nose and his body has started to pain a little. His wife seemed to be not at all cared about all the things which were going on and when he heard from his collegues that their wives asked them to be careful and wear masks, he fumed at her. What she was thinking, no care for me. She has packed up lime juice along with the lunch even after knowing I have running nose.

When he just logged on to the system by 9 AM, the first mail popped up from his mail box  was, Swine flu’s symptoms.

it read,

  • fever,
  • cough,
  • runny nose,
  • sore throat,
  • body aches,
  • headache,
  • chills,
  • fatigue or tiredness,
  • diarrhea and vomitting

and said in the end that if you have two or more symptoms, please visit doctor at the earliest.

He started to think, already I have running nose, cough.. ‘ah ah’.. I have got cough also. He cleared his throat but it’s not alright, he thought. Whether is this sore throat or not. ‘It maybe.. I never felt like this before. So I have 3 symptoms, which is more than 2. What will happen to me?? would I die?? Oh god!!! I am also feeling chillness. Ok.. lets check with any of the colleagues nearby’.

He called Hema, “Hi… hello Hema..”

‘if I ask her directly about the chillness, it will be like I am confirming. Let me start by this way’… ” it seems that temperature of A/C is pretty low and it’s cold na??”

Hema replied, “Is it?? I couldn’t feel.. it’s as good as yesterday, pretty normal.”

“Errr.. thanks”, he said and buried into his seat. So its confirmed, I am the only one who feeling cold, he thought. I am also feeling feverish, start of the 4th symptom. My body also starts to pain and its aggravating..

He moved his hand up, he felt some pain in joints. He moved his neck around and he couldn’t move it freely. ‘I have really got it. The swine flu. Let me check whether there is any remedy for this.’ He quickly typed in swine flu and remedies in google. It has made him to go through the site www.swinefluremedies.org. There he started to check various articles in it. But he couldn’t get clear idea and also confused as the amount of articles are too much there. He returned to the mail he got about swine flu. It stated that tami flu is the only protective medicine and that too must be given within 48 hours.

‘How many hours would have gone??? how much the virus would have attacked my immune system?? I didn’t enjoyed anything until now. Would I be able to do in the remaining few days of my life?? ‘ In the lost thoughts, he was checking his watch, which points out that its 10:20. ‘Shall I go and ask my PM to go home?

“Hi Ramesh, whats up buddy??” asked Pratheep, as he entered into the cubicle. “No. no.. nothing”, Ramesh stammered. Pratheep gave a skeptical look but Ramesh was not at all bothered. He ran towards the departmental store in the office and bought 2 N95 masks. He weared one and took one along with him and marched towards his cubicle. Pratheep was suprised to see him with the mask within office but before he could ask anything Ramesh went to his PM and got the permission to return home.

“am oing”, he said to Pratheep, whom suddenly looked up at him and made a sarcastic smile. But Ramesh was rushing out. And when he reached home his wife was relaxing by reading some book.  What a partner she is.. I am here infected with flu. But she is not even worried. Let me handover this other mask to her. I may get a place in heaven. He handed over it to her and she got that. But she seemed to be in a shock of seeing him so early with a mask, he thought. Anyway its not time to get shock and all. I need to act faster than the viruses.

“Wear it and Hurry up, Lets go to doctor” he said.

“For what?” she asked.

“I am infected with flu” he replied.

“Who said? No healthy person will get infected easily” she shot back.

“Then I get infected in a harder way. I myself felt that. I have 6 symptoms and must see the doctor “ he said and moving out of the home. She just got that he himself made up most of the symptoms. If she says anything, he is not going to listen to her. Its better to go out with him and meet the doctor.

They went to their well known family doctor. As they just entered, he greeted them. Before Ramesh spoke, Doctor said, “So you are infected with Swine flu, right?” On hearing that Ramesh was puzzled. ‘Whether somebody from my office just visited him and he is tested positive.’ Doctor knows him really well that Ramesh always have a fear that any disease in this world will attack him easily.

“I have expected you earlier” said Doctor. ‘He knows well before and he didn’t called and informed me. What a world!!! No concern for others. Now my chance of surviving is very less.’

Without knowing the sarcasm in his words, he replied, “So why don’t you inform me before?? And I am completely affected now.” Doctor and his wife were stunned by his reply, as he still under the fear. Then doctor clearly explained what will cause this flu and he is really healthy to avoid it. His words somehow consoled Ramesh. He has given tablets for cold and asked him to take rest for the day.

As they started to leave, Ramesh’s thought ran like ‘May I ask him or not? Lets ask him. After all its for my own good’ Just before getting out from the doctor’s cabin. He turned and asked, “Doctor, can I take Tami flu as a precaution?”.

Doctor laughed and said, “its for flu and not for blues” and waved his hand.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 12:23 pm

    S

  2. August 20, 2009 12:24 pm

    I love the header 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Swaram 🙂 all praise will go to Smitha 🙂

    • August 20, 2009 4:00 pm

      ROFL 😀 Too gud kanagu 🙂 Luved the ending 🙂

      kanagu: Thanks Swaram 🙂

      • August 20, 2009 4:01 pm

        N that fear which so many ppl hv nw and attributing everything to swine flu – u hv captured that so well! Brilliant!

        kanagu: Thank you.. thank you 🙂

  3. August 20, 2009 12:32 pm

    nice story…I guess that’s what happening with most of the people..it’s more fear than anythting else!!

    kanagu: Welcome here Rahul and thank you 🙂

  4. August 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    heheheheheheheh 😛 nice one dude……………. 😛

    kanagu: thanks machi 🙂

  5. August 20, 2009 1:01 pm

    2

    • August 20, 2009 1:10 pm

      😦
      Ok fine.. 2 * 2 then..

      kanagu: LOL Mystery 😆 never be sad

      LOL..at the story.. people are really worried for no reason these days..

      kanagu: True true 🙂

  6. August 20, 2009 1:11 pm

    Supooor header.

    kanagu: All praise has to go to Smitha 🙂

    Nice story,i think by seeing more people wearing mask we tend to get scared.Since last two days not much news of swine flu in tv,

    kanagu: Thats why I have written this story 👿

    they have learnt the lesson the more they show the news,more panic and hospitals are filled with people with and without swine flu and that leads to more people getting swine flu

    kanagu: no people are tired and they have known somewhat clearly and papers got J.S. flu… 😛 😛

  7. August 20, 2009 1:45 pm

    LOL good one!! actually many can relate to it i guess 😛

    kanagu: ha ha ha.. true Verbi 🙂

  8. August 20, 2009 1:56 pm

    Ha ha! Nice story!

    kanagu: Thank you.. thank you 🙂

  9. August 20, 2009 2:25 pm

    Lime may be good for the flu, after all it is packed with Vitamin C and boosts the immune system. Seriously though this thing might just kill millions. We do not know yet what it will mutate in to. May be the next wave will be called the cat flu.

    kanagu: he he he.. anything can happen with the way we have changed the world Odzer 😀

  10. August 20, 2009 2:39 pm

    Good one! 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Pixie 🙂

    will be back to read and comment more later!

    kanagu: Waiting for that 🙂

    Header is super!

    kanagu: All praise to Smitha 🙂

  11. August 20, 2009 2:46 pm

    Your header is cool! A nice story…This world is full of hypochondriacs – I know many who have been ‘infected’ by H1N1…

    kanagu: Thanks bones.. 🙂 header is Smitha’s creativity 🙂
    and you know many… hope they are well now 🙂

  12. August 20, 2009 3:16 pm

    just yesterday my kid had a running nose.. simple running nose… and my wife suspected could it be…

    I just glared at her.. to not even utter that word… still gave in and told her let the paedriatician see it…

    the hype sometimes is unbelievable…

    kanagu: True Bhai,… and I am sure that Hriday is doing well 🙂

    • August 22, 2009 8:23 am

      touchwood

      he is totally healthy … but Mom’s i tell ya… !!

      nevermind… god bless Mom’s !!! they are the best also !!!!

      kanagu: great.. 🙂 really happy to hear that bhai 🙂 All my wishes to him 🙂
      yes… mom’s are always great… no one can care like them 🙂

  13. August 20, 2009 7:32 pm

    Flluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu….. 😈

    kanagu: 😛 😛

  14. August 20, 2009 8:10 pm

    ‘Doctor laughed and said, “its for flu and not for blues” and waved his hand.’ – ROFL!

    It happens – the hype is so much that people are bound to be worried.

    kanagu: True Smitha.. 🙂 more than disease, people are feared by fear 🙂

    I remember once I was in a taxi and the taxi driver sneezed and I was imagining all the scenarios 🙂

    Once the vaccine comes – there is bound to be a stampede for that now 🙂

    kanagu: LOL Smitha 😆 and for sure there will be stampede 😛 😛

  15. August 21, 2009 8:53 am

    LOL 😀

    kanagu: 🙂

  16. August 21, 2009 9:46 am

    😆 APT!! Good job! 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Sakhi 🙂

  17. Purvi permalink
    August 21, 2009 12:37 pm

    Lolz…. seems like he was really hoping hard to get infected and was very disappointed to learn that he wasn’t 😛

    kanagu: Welcome here Purvi 🙂 and many are like him 😀

  18. August 21, 2009 4:29 pm

    Hahahahahahaha. 😆
    That was too good. 😀
    Boy haven’t I seen/heard of such people reacting like that soo many times that it’s becoming a joke. 😉

    <>kanagu: Thanks Badz.. 🙂 even when I see a person with mask.. I am laughing crazily 😀

    BTW, you changed the ending slightly from the one i originally read from you. 🙂 Well I prefer this one. it’s more funnier. 😀

    kanagu: yes.. just to make it a lil funnier 🙂 glad you liked it (me professional eh.. 😛 :P)

    I love the header btw. it’s cool. 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks to Smitha for that wonderful header 🙂

  19. August 22, 2009 12:07 am

    “So you are infected with Swine flu, right?” On hearing that Ramesh was puzzled. ‘Whether somebody from my office just visited him and he is tested positive.’
    LOL!

    “I have expected you earlier” said Doctor. ‘He knows well before and he didn’t called and informed me. What a world!!! No concern for others. Now my chance of surviving is very less.’
    heheheh!!

    but the best part?
    Doctor laughed and said, “its for flu and not for blues” and waved his hand.
    toooo good! i’ve seen so many ppl panicking and making a moutain of a mole-hill. well written, dude! 🙂 hi-fi!

    kanagu: Thanks ASh.. I am really happy that you have enjoyed it 🙂

  20. August 22, 2009 1:00 am

    hahaha.. flu has become such a menace now. I have a tag for you. Take it up since you havent done it before.

    kanagu: Thanks AK.. 🙂
    will try to do it soon 🙂

  21. August 23, 2009 1:24 am

    your blog is very interesting.I like to add you in my blog roll
    I welcome you to my blog,leave your valuable comments and your link back is welcomed……….

    kanagu: thanks Raj 🙂 I will try to visit your blog soon 🙂

  22. August 24, 2009 7:42 pm

    hehehe….

    Nice story 🙂

Leave a comment