Skip to content

Fast, furious and danceable songs and a reason to dance with them

September 6, 2009

DI and Sandhya has tagged me to list the fast, furious and danceable songs which I like. Thank you, Thank you…. I love music much and this is a right kind of tag for me.

I think its always easy to list down the melody songs than the fast numbers because the craze on them will die down soon. Here I list down some evergreen fast numbers which I think will make us to dance anyday.

Here goes my list:

1. ‘Variya‘ from Puthupettai:

Music Director: Yuvan Shankar Raja

This song will be favourite of many of my college friends. We danced for this song crazily on the penultimate day of our college tour by putting it in repeat mode. This song is mainly made of music than lyrics.

2. ”Azagiya Laila‘ from Ullathai Allitha:

Music Director: Sirppi

This one really, really fast and I love this one very much. This song came in 1996 and even now I hear it, I could feel the freshness. It has been No.1 song for most of the weeks in Superhit Mukkabla at that time 😀

3. ‘Engeyum Epothum‘ from Ninaithaale inikkum and Polladhavan:

Music Director: M.S.Viswanathan(Original) and Yogi-B (Re-mix)

This is the song which I liked both the original and remake version. Both are too good but I liked the remix version better. Yogi-B just rocked. See both the versions below.

4. ‘Saroja Saman Nikalo‘ from Chennai-600028

Music Director: Yuvan Shankar Raja

One of the best dance number in the recent which caught the attention with its first 3 words: ‘Saroja Saman Nikalo’

5. ‘Yaakai Thiri‘ from Ayutha ezhuthu:

Music Director: A.R.Rahman

I always believe that if a song has to make you to dance then it must have some rawness in that. For this reason, I didn’t find many Rahman numbers as potentional dance number as they have technical finesse of high level. But here in this song he proves that even with finesse you can dance.

6. ‘Koodaiyile karuvadu‘ from Oru thalai raagam:

Music Director: T.Rajendar

One of the soft kuthu number, for which we can dance slowly. It has the beat and moves in a perfect rhythm. Many won’t know this song by it ‘title’ by the line in-between ‘Koovura kozhi koora mela’ 😛 😛

7. ‘Ilamai itho itho‘ from Sakalakala Vallavan:

Music Director: Ilayaraja

This is the song which is still played during New year occassion due to the opening lines ‘Hi everybody, wish you happy new year’. Three masters made this song highly unforgettable. Chancless music by Ilayaraja, Perfect rendition by SPB(breath taking) and awesome dance movements by Kamal Haasan. I generally don’t like club dance songs. But this one is an exception. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

8. ‘Aasai Nooru vagai‘ from ‘Adutha vaarisu‘:

Music Director: Ilayaraja

This song almost rocked the generation of 1980s, add to that the factor of Rajini. Just watch his style between 1:20 and 1:25… AWESOME!!!

9. ‘Adiye manam nilluna‘ from Neengal Kaetavai:

Music Director: Ilayaraja

This is how a ‘kuthu’ song can be defined. The starting bit of music shows you what you can expect from this one and with series of high and low tempo’s simultaneously this one is just perfect. Great music by illayaraja and awesome rendition by SPB and Janaki.

10. ‘Adi Rakkamma‘ from Thalapathi:

Music Director: Ilayaraja

This is the song in which I have understood the genius of Ilayaraja. The song is timeless and the starting bit if this song can’t be described by described by any word. A word which will come close is AWESOME. The picturisation is damn good and so was the choreography.

I like to tag everybody who are all not tagged yet. It will be fun 🙂

Dance Dance!!!!! :

I have received two awards over last 2 weeks. Avada Kedavra has given me Humane award,

And DI has given me the ‘Addicting blog award’.

Thanks DI and AK 🙂

And I like to pass these awards to Crafty, OG, Solilo, DI, Raj, Sahaja, Nimmy, KartzIndyeah, DhirenSandhya, Manju, Smitha, Swaram, Vimal, Saritha, BonesIHM, Smita, Avada Kedavra, Harsh, Ashwathy, MasoodPixie, Nita, Reema, Sakhi, Anish, Smallstar, Arpit, Vishesh, Oorja and Mystery.

Hope you all enjoyed the songs friends 🙂 Have a great weekend 🙂

44 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 6:18 am

    yay! me first!! 😀

    kanagu: YAY 😀

  2. September 6, 2009 7:02 am

    Thanks for the award Kanagu!! 🙂

    Me pleased as punch! 😀 {{hugs}}

    kanagu: You are welcome Pixie 🙂
    {{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}

    I love love the song – ‘Adi Rakkamma’!
    I also liked – ‘Koodaiyile karuvadu’

    kanagu: ‘Adi rakkamma’ is an evergreen number and you liked ‘Koodayile karuvadu’ too.. woo hoo 😀 😀

    My husband liked most of them!! made him listen here and the songs on Hitchu’s list as well!!!

    kanagu: Wow… he listened to all this morning… 😀 😀 gr8 🙂

  3. September 6, 2009 8:47 am

    wow!! thanks for the award… truly honoured! 🙂

    kanagu: You are welcome Ash 🙂

    btw nicely done tag… except that it wud have been more fun if u included more languages also…

    kanagu: I know very few songs in Hindi and English… but they are too famous and you will find in everyone’s list… so made it with Tamil songs 🙂

    i know some of the songs… have to listen to the remaining ones…
    a r rahman is always a favourite.. and the last song u mentioned from thalapathi is an ever-green hit…

    kanagu: hmmm.. listen to them Ash.. you may like it 🙂
    and that Thalapathi song is evergreen 🙂

    • September 6, 2009 11:42 am

      for once, I disagree with you ash!!!!!!!!! dance numbers ==> tamil……… full stop!!!!!!!!!! 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

      • September 9, 2009 11:44 pm

        heheh tamil numbers have a charm of their own … i completely agree. dappankuthu rocks! 😀

        just meant that other language songs wud have made the post have more variety thats all.

  4. September 6, 2009 9:10 am

    Ohh some of these songs are my favs. I even thought of including Saroja Saaman Nikaalo and Yakkai Thiri for my list !! Good ones !!!

    kanagu: They must be in your list 🙂

    Thanks a lot for the award again. Idellaam engey kondu vekkiradunnu theriyale 😉

    kanagu: ha ha ha.. good one.. 🙂
    blog la vainga 🙂

  5. September 6, 2009 11:41 am

    classic list machi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 most of these songs are my fav!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    kanagu: Cool 🙂

    if you want dance numbers, then look no futhur than tamil songs………… mollywood, toolywood and bollywood and hollywood just pale in comparison………………..

    kanagu: I don’t know other language songs machi.. so couldn’t comment… but when you say.. I can say ‘ahem’ 😀

  6. September 6, 2009 12:43 pm

    I know only dalapathi song,excellent beats

    kanagu: yes it is… and if you have time.. hear the other songs akka 🙂

    Congrats for the awards and thanx for giving me thambi 🙂

    kanagu: You are always welcome akka 🙂

  7. September 6, 2009 1:26 pm

    All the songs on your list are new to me, so I’ll listen to them one by one, Kanagu! 🙂

    kanagu: Listen to them Manju.. you may like them 🙂

    Congratulations for the awards, and thanks for awarding me!

    kanagu: Thank you and you are welcome 🙂

  8. September 6, 2009 4:45 pm

    Thankooooo for award kanagu!!!
    (((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))

    kanagu: You deserved it and you are welcome Crafty 🙂 🙂
    {{{{{{HUGS}}}}

    me doesn’t know any of these songs! 😐

    will listen to them and will wear dancing shoes!!

    kanagu: No problem… now I have posted them… you can hear it leisurely 🙂 🙂

    since they are ur favs, i think most i can do is dance on ur blog with u on these songs!!!

    *kanagu and crafty dancing to adi polli tamizh pattu*

    😆

    kanagu: Yes, we can Crafty 🙂 me joining you and crazily we dancing for this great numbers 😀 😀

    I have heard mostly heard ARR’s compositions in tamil, like the originals, coz they are in hindi too..
    like the kadalan songs, in hindi as Humse Hai Muqabala… 😀

    kanagu: True… here I have mentioned only one ARR song and that is from Yuva 🙂

    and one more song… Appdi Poddu poddu poddu!!! 😛 😀

    it was a dance hit in college! have danced like fool in college fest!!! 😛 😀

    kanagu: It rocked tamilnadu when it released… such a dance number 🙂 🙂
    great dance too 🙂

    {{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}

  9. September 6, 2009 6:43 pm

    Hey thnaks for the awards(have to pass on about a quarter dozen or so, even forgot them!) 😛

    *iye iye dankanaka* 😛

    kanagu: You are welcome Vishesh 🙂 danganakka 😛 😛

  10. September 6, 2009 10:03 pm

    thanks for the award!

    kanagu: You are welcome Reema 🙂

  11. September 7, 2009 9:35 am

    I don’t know any of the songs 😦

    Congrats & Thanks for the award 🙂

    kanagu: Hear them when you have some time Smita… 🙂
    it will be good.. I promise.. 🙂

    thanks and you are welcome 🙂

  12. September 7, 2009 10:17 am

    Duh Duh! Haven’t heard any of them 😦
    but heyo..congratulations 😀

    kanagu: Hear them Meira… you may like it 🙂
    and thank you 🙂

  13. September 7, 2009 10:23 am

    Kanagu, Out of all I know only 2 and 10. Azhakiya laila one and Rakamma. I have seen Dalapati.

    kanagu: Hmmm… have you liked the movie Solilo????

  14. September 7, 2009 10:26 am

    Congratulations and thanks for passing the awards. 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks and you are welcome Solilo 🙂

  15. September 7, 2009 1:51 pm

    Thanks for the award kanagu 🙂 ,
    I like 4,5,10(especially yuva number).That pudupeta movie was a mental torture for me,so i hated the songs too(but still it was (veriya song) a regular dance number in my college tour) 🙂 .

    kanagu: You are welcome Anish 🙂
    yes the yuva number is a rocking one 🙂 Pudupettai movie… hmmm… I like it much… its a realistic film.. with some compromises for cinema 🙂

  16. September 7, 2009 2:39 pm

    Congrats Kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Swaram 🙂

    I loveddddd this tag 🙂

    Except Adi Rakkamma, I heard all of them just nw 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

    kanagu: Thank you and have you liked the other songs???

    Azagiya Laila is one rocking song!

    kanagu: Yes, it is 🙂

    Thanks for the awards 😛

    kanagu: You are welcome Swaram 🙂

  17. September 7, 2009 3:14 pm

    ok i know 6 songs out of ur list.. not bad huh..?

    great list.. 🙂

    kanagu: yes it’s not that bad Oorja 🙂 thank you 🙂

    and how do u manage to award everyone all the time.. u r too sweet .. and that is why u are awarded so many times…
    keep it going…. 😀

    kanagu: thanks for those nice words on me Oorja 🙂 🙂

  18. September 7, 2009 5:41 pm

    nice list 🙂 Ilayaraja is a genius; no doubts bout that. haven’t heard Yuvan shankar’s tracks.. thanks for listing them here 🙂

    kanagu: thanks Shruthi 🙂 Ilayaraja is really a genius 🙂
    Yuvan is also good.. he is different in his beats 🙂

    And as a loyal ARR fan lemme see how many songs I can come up with, which are dance-able of course. and yeah will try only tamil.

    oooo la la la (Minsaara kanavu)
    Chukkubukku raile (Gentleman)
    Songs from Jeans
    Humma humma (Bombay)
    Jumbalika (En Swasa Kaatre )
    Thaniye (Rhythm)
    there is this song from Kadhal virus ;not sure bout the lyrics 😛
    Boys
    Chandralekha (TT)
    Shakalaka Baby (Mudhalvan)

    I hope you like them 🙂

    kanagu: I love all the songs you have mentioned… especially ‘Jumbalakka’ number.. thats a great one.. I like it much…
    others are also good 🙂
    and that ‘Kadhal virus’ number is ‘Hey hey enna achu unaku’, I guess 🙂
    thanks for listing them shruthi 🙂

  19. September 7, 2009 9:34 pm

    Congrats Kanagu! And loved your songs!!! Some of them took my back to my college days 🙂 Poohi is wondering at all the songs – as she hasn’t heard these before 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Smitha… 🙂
    oh.. in which college you have studied in Chennai???
    Oh.. too cute 🙂 Poohi too may love some of them 🙂

    And thanks for the awards!!! You are too kind! Thank you!

    kanagu: You are always welcome Smitha 🙂

  20. September 8, 2009 4:43 pm

    It was real fun listening to those songs! None of them have I heard before, but there is a strange kind of pleasure listening to songs that one doesn’t understand the lyrics of!

    kanagu: Yeah true Nita… me too feel the same When I hear songs of languages other than Tamil 🙂

    Hey thanks for the awards! You are really sweet!

    kanagu: You are welcome Nita 🙂

  21. September 8, 2009 5:44 pm

    Yayyyy !!! Yayyyy !!! Yayyyy !!! 😀 … Congrats for the awards !!! 😉 .. and thnx for passing it on … 😛

    kanagu: Thanks and welcome Harsh 🙂

  22. smallstar permalink
    September 8, 2009 5:55 pm

    hello dear!!!

    how are you?

    I hope you’ll have a great day, sweetie!!!

    *hugs*

    kanagu: I am really fine friend… 🙂
    and thanks for the wish 🙂
    {{{HUGS}}}

  23. September 8, 2009 7:24 pm

    i know only a few songs 😦 a couple of them actually..

    kanagu: No problem Verbi… Me remembered many now for this tag only 🙂

    azhagiya laila,,adi rakkamma..ilamai ..and the one frm aayudha ezhuthu..i thnk i shud be knwng coz i remember hearing all th songs in it…bt now cant remember and my utube doesnt work to check out 😦

    nicely done though 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Verbi 🙂

  24. September 8, 2009 10:38 pm

    Thank You Vishesh 🙂 And Congratulations too 🙂

    kanagu: IHM… its kanagu.. 🙂 and thank you 🙂

    My list of fast and furious songs in nearly ready too 🙂

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂

    • January 3, 2015 2:13 pm

      Thanks for stntairg the ball rolling with this insight.

  25. September 8, 2009 11:00 pm

    Love the songs… last one is the best till now…. isn’t it true that music has a language of its own!!!

    kanagu: Yeah.. true IHM… last one is such a classic 🙂

  26. September 9, 2009 12:20 am

    Congrats on the awards Kanagu 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Saranya 🙂

  27. September 9, 2009 12:31 am

    congrats Kanagu and thanks a lot for the award 🙂 🙂 I am sooo happy 🙂 and yeah will complete the tag soon.. I havent heard those songs 😦 will listen to them now!!!

    kanagu: Thanks and Welcome AK 🙂
    I have seen your tag.. yet to hear the songs.. will hear soon 🙂
    and let me know the comments on these songs 🙂

  28. September 9, 2009 10:22 am

    Huh, I don’t like Dhanush!

    kanagu: he is good actor 🙂 I like some of his movies 🙂

    ‘Azhagiya laila’ is a beautiful song and Ramba is beautiful too!

    kanagu: Yeah true.. 🙂

    ‘Yengeyum yeppothum’ is a nice song and this movie was a hit for its songs, in those days. Kamal and Rajini starred together and it was the talk of the town.

    kanagu: 🙂 🙂 I have heard about this song from SPB, who explained in a Show 🙂

    ‘Saroja saamaan nikalo’ was a hit song and the movie also was a super hit! I had not seen the whole video of this song, before this. Seems to be a nice song.

    kanagu: 🙂

    I saw this movie ‘aayda yezhuththu’ in the theater, which I do very rarely! Liked the movie, though too much violence was there. This song is a foot tapping song! Yes, Rahman is an expert in every field of music.

    kanagu: it has freshness even when I hear it now 🙂

  29. September 9, 2009 5:02 pm

    ‘Oru thalai raagam’ was a super duper hit movie and all the songs were hit. The movie ran for a record shows. I liked all the songs in this movie, I remember. But am not hearing them now, anywhere.

    kanagu: Yes.. really strange.. why they are not played now 😐

    ‘Ilamai itho itho’ was in my first selection list also. This movie was also a musical. Kamal ‘s hit movie. This is a nice song.

    kanagu: oh.. why you didn’t included that???

    Malasia Vasudevan’s voice is superb in this song. The rhythm is too good.

    kanagu: Yes.. some of songs he has sung are really great 🙂

    ‘Neengal kettavai’ – I am not very familiar with this song. I get some static and not able to hear this song, Kanagu.

    kanagu: hmmm… its a great number… perfect to dance 🙂

    ‘Thalapathi’ song is the best of the lot. My whole family loves this song. Manirathnam had done his best, in this song sequence.

    kanagu: Its a real great song 🙂

    I took my time to hear all the songs and write about them and enjoyed doing it! Nice list.

    kanagu: thank you.. thank you 🙂

    Thanks a lot for the shower of awards from you, Kanagu!

    kanagu: You are always welcome 🙂

  30. September 9, 2009 10:16 pm

    Excellent songs for the tag, Kanagu! And thanks for constantly awarding me, my friend 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Raj…. and you are always welcome 🙂

  31. September 10, 2009 1:20 pm

    Hey i just realized i dint comment on your earlier post also 😦
    Have read both the posts 🙂 congrats for the awards and thanks for the same 🙂 🙂

    kanagu: Thanks Mystery and welcome 🙂

  32. smallstar permalink
    September 12, 2009 1:49 pm

    have a great day…

    *hugs*

    kanagu: Thanks friend.. 🙂
    {{{{HUGS}}}}}}

  33. smallstar permalink
    September 12, 2009 4:42 pm

    how are you??

    kanagu: I am really fine.. 🙂
    how are you???

    • smallstar permalink
      September 14, 2009 2:28 am

      @kanagu:
      I am not much well…
      my family is stressing me…
      I am hating it very much these days…
      👿

      a big kiss…
      I hope you’ll have a wonderful week…

      🙂

      kanagu: Don’t worry friend.. Everything will fall in place 🙂
      {{{{hugs}}}}
      have a great week 🙂

      • smallstar permalink
        September 14, 2009 6:03 pm

        aww I hope it…

        thanks honey!!!

        ❤ ❤

        much love for ya!!!

  34. September 12, 2009 9:41 pm

    🙂 I knoew few songs only…Yet to do the tag..

    kanagu: Please do Nimmy 🙂

    Thanks a ton for the award Kanagu….I am glad that you still consider me as your friend even though i hardly blog these days.. ((hugs)))

    kanagu: You are welcome Nimmy… you are always my friend.. whether you post more or less… 🙂 🙂
    {{{{HUGS}}}}}

  35. September 13, 2009 3:08 am

    Hi i read your post its very nice and wonderful…
    so i add u in my bolg list and can u add me in your blog list…

    kanagu: I will come over there soon Sakthi 🙂

  36. September 18, 2009 5:06 pm

    Sorry for being so late here… was mis-managing time so much of late. The Dhalapathi song is one of my favourites – especially when they bring in the classical music and then make it like a fusion – I just love it! I liked the Yengeyum Eppodhum re-mix song too… Yogi-B has made it better than original. The Azhagiya Laila song is also a gem along with the Aasai nooru vagai and Ilamai Itho Itho… very different. Thanks for doing this tag Kanagu, I wish some one puts up the ‘Naan Auto kaaran auto kaaran’ from Baasha… Thalaivar song has to be there in the top 10, if no one does, I will put up this Rakkamma song 🙂

    Destination Infinity

  37. Indy permalink
    October 9, 2010 1:53 pm

    Thanks so much for the link! Will get some songs from here! I also used to love adiye manam niluna nikkatha when I was a kid! All are nice here! 🙂

    kanagu: You are welcome Indy 🙂 Glad you liked them and it helped you 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Fast And The Furious 4
  2. Fast Furious and Danceable Songs | Destination Infinity

Leave a comment