Skip to content

My favorite movies – Tag

December 6, 2010

Destination Infinity has tagged me to list down my favorite movies (Top 3) in 2 or more languages. Even though my movie watching frequency has reduced now, my past experiences will help me. But the real challenge here is listing down the top 3 as there are lot of favorite ones. I tried my best to put the best films.

Tamil:

Mounaraagam:

I watched this movie when I didn’t given a damn about romantic movies. They never entertained me. But I always seen people talk crazily about this movie. So when this movie was aired by one Saturday morning I started watching, the end result is I am mesmerized and started to feel that this is the best movie ever made in Tamil. Its a simple story. A marriage is on the verge of breakdown between the newly married couples due to the past of the bride and how the happenings in that pre-divorce period of 1 year changes the heart of her. Very few characters but very elegantly told. Its a masterpiece from Maniratnam. And I don’t think he will surpass what he has achieved with this movie.

Naayagan:

A near perfect movie in Tamil. Maniratnam (Direction), Ilayaraja (Music), Kamal Haasan (Acting), BalaKumaran (Dialogues) and P.C.Sreeram (Cinematography) joined together at the height of their powers to create this magical movie which never fails me to entertain or amaze whenever I watch it. Last week, this movie was telecasted in one of the satellite channel, I was seriously watching it while eating and my conversation with my mom goes as follows:

Mom: Haven’t you watched this movie fully?

Me: Many times. Why are you asking mom?

Mom: You are watching it so seriously.

That’s the kind of impact this movie has on me. Each and every frame of this movie was sculpted. If you didn’t watched this movie and I recommend this movie to be your next one. It has everything. The style, emotional drama and most importantly the heart. Even though few things are lifted from the movie ‘The Godfather’ this movie stands on its own.

Third movie is tough to chose. I have many movies in my mind. Few of them are Thillu Mullu, Anbe Sivam, Ramana, Puthiya paravai and Ghilli. And for the sheer entertainment it provided, its Ghilli.

Ghilli:

This is a perfect entertainer for the whole family. Both the kids and adults can enjoy this movie alike. It has everything from danceable songs, hero worship, a perfect villain, wonderful script to clean humor to make it into a mass entertainer. I love each and every scene of this movie. The climax could have been better. But who cares when the hero triumphs. If you are looking for a perfect weekend movie, it can’t be better than this.

One of my all-time favorite songs from this movie:

English:

The Godfather – I:


Be it any language. This will rank as no.1 movie in any list of mine. I never believed a movie which strongly based on drama can make me to sit through and chew what happened on the screen even after the ending. This is classy movie with great acting from everyone. Al Pacino terrified me with the way he done the role Michael Corleone. This movie has some wonderful dialogues:

I will make him an offer that he can’t refuse

A man who never spends time with his family, can never be a man

Don’t tell me you are innocent. Because it insults my intelligence. It makes me angry

Pulp Fiction:

This is one movie on which I am still in awe. I don’t know how Quentin Tarantino perfectly executed this script on screen. I have heard that this movie’s script is a lesson in many colleges for script writing. Great performances, awesome dialogues and wonderful screenplay. Anyday this movie will entertain me.

Again there is some competition for the third place between The Dark knight, Cast away, Forrest Gump, Speed and Rocky. But its going to be Rocky for inspiration it has provided.

Rocky – First part:


A movie I always look up to get the inspiration I need to run my life. The story about a simple man who went on achieve a lot just by will. So simple yet so beautiful. To know more on why I like this movie, click on the following link ๐Ÿ™‚

A wonderful video of this movieย  I forgot to share in the last post:

In other languages I haven’t watched many movies to list top 3. I love Happy days (Telugu), Chak de India and Taare Zameen Par very much and they may find a place in my top 3 anytime even if I list down after watching many more in Telugu and Hindi.

Thanks for this wonderful tag DI. I will be waiting for the compiled list ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am tagging anyone who haven’t done this as everybody will have their favorites. Do let me know only you finish this tag as I will be grateful to see and watch what I am missing ๐Ÿ™‚

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 8:26 am

    I think all of us who watch Tamil movies will list ‘Mouna Raagam’ as their favourite movie…this is a classic.

    kanagu: Yes… ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    ‘Nayagan’ too! Every time I watch this movie, I come across something new, which I had not noticed earlier! This one is one of the top 100 movies of the world, I saw the list somewhere. It deserves!

    kanagu: Very very true.. that’s why this movie never bores.. something is there for every time ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ its a list made by time magazine…

    ‘Gilli’…, apart from 2-3 movies, I don’t fancy Vijay’s movies!

    kanagu: hmmm.. thats a real good movie ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have watched ‘God Father’ and have read the book too! My heart beat goes up while watching this type of movies, that too in English!

    kanagu: Did you liked it???

    I have watched both ‘Pulp Fiction’ and ‘Rocky’ and liked Rocky better!

    kanagu: Hmmm…. pulp fiction is lil confusing.. watch it again.. u may like it ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    ‘Pulp Fiction’ video is not visible, Kanagu!

    kanagu: Its a picture.. now I changed it… ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Interesting list and liked your comments about them too! Now, I must do this tag. It is very difficult to just list 3!

    kanagu: Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Waiting for ur list and will see what I am missing ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. เฎ…เฎฉเฏเฎชเฏ permalink
    December 6, 2010 11:13 am

    Well.. i accept on Naayagan and Mouna Raagam.. But Gilli?? you think Gilli is better than Anbe Sivam?? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    Accepted that opinion differs.. in my list.. Anbe Sivam tops the list always.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: Hmmm.. but Anbe sivam won’t be enjoyed by whole family… Ghilli is clean ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good list of English of Movies though.. ๐Ÿ™‚ .. Many would accept with Godfather and Rocky.. Never heard much about Pulp Fiction..

    kanagu: Watch it.. you will like it for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. December 6, 2010 11:26 am

    Have heard a lot about MounaRaagam.. must watch the movie sometime.. Nice list Kanagu.. I am not a fan of Godfather.. Not watched Rocky yet.. added to my must-watch list..

    kanagu: Watch Rocky… you will like it AK.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. December 6, 2010 12:03 pm

    LOL Who cares when the hero triumphs ๐Ÿ˜› He he gud one ๐Ÿ˜‰

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I remember watching the first two, but hd no idea abt the 3rd one in the list ๐Ÿ˜€ Will watch it on a day when I am in a mood to watch movies ๐Ÿ˜‰ rare but clean humour interests me ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    kanagu: ts a reamke of the telugu movie okkadu.. so you can watch it Swaram ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. December 6, 2010 12:25 pm

    I have seen Mouna Raagam and its a beautiful movie for sure. But Gilli I havent seen and I m shocked that it came before movies like Bombay and Roja :).

    kanagu: Don’t get shocked.. its not about best movies ever made.. its a list of favorite movies… for me that meant a movie I can watch again and again ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    For me those will always remain master piece movies :). I expected your Hollywood top -3 actually :P. May be i should do this tag with Telugu and Tamil movies :P. I dont understand Tamil watch it with subtitles or in Telugu version :).

    kanagu: Me too watch the telugu movies with subtitles ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. December 6, 2010 12:51 pm

    out of these movies you’ve mentions, ive only seen ghilli.
    Also another fav of mine is kandukonden kandukonden, its one of its own king in tamil cinemas.

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ you should watch both the other movies.. they were really good ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    and in english i would have added ‘law abiding citizen’ to it ๐Ÿ™‚
    nice collection

    kanagu: I am yet to watch it.. will watch for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. December 7, 2010 9:33 am

    Mouna Raagam is a beautiful movie!
    And Godfather 1 is another all time favourite too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I will take up this tag.. so many movies to be listed out! ๐Ÿ˜€

    kanagu: waiting for the list ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. December 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    First two choices are absolutely classic…They are my favourites too, Kanagu. Godfather is in a league by itself.

    Nice tag kanagu.

    kanagu: Thanks Deeps ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. December 7, 2010 10:43 pm

    All Tamil movies my fav too ! Wonder what happened to Mani Ratnam now ! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    kanagu: Yeah.. it makes me to wonder.. he is becoming bad and bad ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    and English you know ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. December 8, 2010 3:19 pm

    Special hugs to you…for liking all the movies I like too….

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I too have seen Mouna raagam so many times, that I know the dialogues and the songs, by heart. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Beautiful movie, melodious music…fantastic. ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: Its a very beautiful movie ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ghilli is an all time fav at home – very entertaining and brilliantly taken – one of Vijay’s best movies, right ???

    kanagu: True.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ its a best movie of him ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rocky, Godfather are my favs tooo… ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, I saw Godfather, becos of the book. ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: I am yet to read the book.. how is it???

  11. December 10, 2010 5:53 pm

    Mouna ragam and nayakan i have seen the other movies i have not seen.I loved mouna ragam movie and the songs in that and nayakan was also good.

    kanagu: ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    Please do this tag akka.. I can get tyo see some good telugu movies…

  12. Aniruddh permalink
    December 12, 2010 12:54 pm

    Well I don’t know much about tamil movies but I think you should surely have had “The Shawshank Redemption” in the list of english movies..! ๐Ÿ™‚

    kanagu: I should watch it soon.. everyone were recommending it…
    welcome here Aniruddh ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. December 12, 2010 5:02 pm

    A lot of people are putting up Shawshank Redemption, and I guess I must somehow watch it!

    kanagu: Me too ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for your contribution, there are two more movies I have not watched – Godfather (How did I miss this one?) and Pulp Fiction. Thanks for doing the tag too… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    kanagu: Watch them DI.. you will like it ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for this wonderful tag ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. December 18, 2010 4:56 pm

    I havent seen pulp fiction yet..will check it out soon.

  15. Princess permalink
    December 29, 2010 6:13 pm

    i think i’ll do this as a post sooner..
    i haven’t watched pulp fiction, others i hv watched ๐Ÿ™‚
    mouna ragam is my fav too…

Trackbacks

  1. Tag: My top three movies of all time! | Destination Infinity

Leave a comment